Time Off & Leave

The State of Colorado currently offers employees a comprehensive leave program that includes, but is not limited to annual, sick, holiday, family medical, short-term disability and military leave. Employees earn annual and sick leave at varying accrual rates, based on years of service. Full-time employees begin earning annual leave at an accrual rate of 8 hours per month and sick leave at 6.66 hours per month. Leave for a part-time employee is earned on a pro-rated basis.

Holiday Schedules

Fiscal Year 2022-23
Date Holiday
Monday, July 4, 2022 Independence Day
Monday, September 5, 2022 Labor Day
Monday, October 3, 2022 Frances Xavier Cabrini Day
Friday, November 11, 2022 Veterans Day
Thursday, November 24, 2022 Thanksgiving Day
Friday, November 25, 2022 Governor's Holiday (day after Thanksgiving) 
Monday, December 26, 2022 Christmas Day
Monday, January 2, 2023 New Year's Day
Monday, January 16, 2023 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Monday, February 20, 2023 President's Day
Monday, May 29, 2023 Memorial Day
Monday, June 19, 2023 Juneteenth 

Printable PDF Holiday Schedules

Annual Leave Accrual Rates

The following accrual rates apply to Classified employees in the State Personnel System. Leave accruals are prorated for part-time employees. 

#FFFFFF
Annual Leave Accrual Rates
Through June 30, 2022
Years of Service* Hours Per Month Max Accrual
Years 1-5
(1-60 months)
8 192
Years 6-10
(61-120 months)
10 240
Years 11-15
(121-180 months)
12 288
Year 16 or greater
(181 or more months)
14 336

 

Annual Leave Accrual Rates
As of July 1, 2022
Years of Service* Hours Per Month Max Accrual
Years 1-3
(1-36 months)
8 192
Years 4-5
(37-60 months)
9 216
Years 6-10
(61-120 months)
11 264
Years 11-15
(121-180 months)
13 312
Year 16 or greater
(181 months or greater)
16 384
#FFFFFF

*Years of service is computed from the 1st calendar day of the month following the hire date; except if the employee began work on the 1st working day of a month, include that month in the count. Employees with prior permanent state service, in or out of the state personnel system, earn leave based on the total whole months of service, excluding temporary assignments.

#FFFFFF

Public Health Emergency & Public Health Emergency Leave

Public Health Emergency Leave (PHEL) remains in effect and has expanded from COVID to include the Flu and respiratory syncytial virus (RSV). All Colorado employers, regardless of size or industry, must give employees both (1) accrued paid sick leave (one hour per 30 hours worked, up to 48 hours a year), and (2) public health emergency leave (two weeks — 80 hours, or less for part-time employees) under the Colorado Healthy Families and Workplaces Act (HFWA). Colorado’s 80-hour PHEL is ongoing and continues as long as a federal or state Public Health Emergency (PHE) is declared (C.R.S. § 8-13.3-402(9)) — and while state public health orders have been scaled back, federal and Colorado PHEs are declared at this time.

As of Nov. 11, 2022, the conditions covered by Colorado’s latest PHE declaration include health needs related to not only COVID, but also flu, RSV, and similar respiratory illnesses. At this time, the additional illnesses are covered for thirty days following the change made on Nov. 11, 2022. Those with flu or RSV symptoms were already likely covered as having COVID symptoms — so a key impact of this expansion may be that coverage remains even if testing confirms someone has flu or RSV rather than COVID. The expansion beyond COVID doesn’t give employees an extra 80 hours for those conditions, it just means they can use their 80 hours for a broader range of conditions.

This 80-hour PHEL will continue until four weeks after all applicable PHE declarations end or are suspended. Based on the current emergency declarations, PHEL will continue at least into February 2023, but will continue longer if either the federal or the state PHE declaration is renewed further into 2023. For more information on paid sick leave, please see the CDLE Division of Labor Standards and Statistics webpage.

 If you have any questions, please contact your agency human resources office. 

#FFFFFF

New State Holiday: Juneteenth

With the signing of SB22-139 on May 2, 2022, Gov. Polis created the 11th legal State holiday, Juneteenth, on June 19.

The holiday is recognized like most day-specific holidays, either on the day of, or on the preceding Friday or the following Monday if the date falls on a weekend. 

This holiday commemorates June 19, 1865, when Union soldiers arrived in Galveston, Texas to announce the end of the Civil War and declare that more than 250,000 enslaved Black people were now free. 

Despite the Emancipation Proclamation being issued on Jan. 1, 1863, many enslavers continued to hold enslaved people captive.

#FFFFFF

For more information, please contact your department's human resources or payroll office.