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Group Term Life Policy Amendment #10 
 
Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company 
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098 
 
 
 
To be attached to and made a part of Group Policy No. 33780 issued by Minnesota Life Insurance Company to State of 
Colorado.  This amendment is effective as of July 1, 2024.  Continued payment of premiums shall constitute acceptance 
of the conditions stated in this amendment.   
 
The following change is made to the group policy:  
 
The supplemental life maximum is changed to $600,000. As a result of this change, the Supplemental Employee Life 
Insurance line item on the Group Policy Specifications Page is amended to read as follows:  
 
 
 
Supplemental Employee Life Insurance 
 
 Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Employee Life Insurance 
   

 All employees An amount elected by the employee, in an increment of $10,000, subject to a 
minimum of $10,000 and a maximum of $600,000. 

 
 
 
As a result of this change, the attached Group Policy Specifications Page effective February 1, 2025 as revised on 
April 11, 2025 replaces the prior Group Policy Specifications Page.  
 
Agreed to by Minnesota Life Insurance Company on April 11, 2025. 
 
 
    
        By ___________________________________ 

            KB 
    Vice President and Actuary 
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   GROUP POLICY SPECIFICATIONS PAGE 
GENERAL INFORMATION 

POLICYHOLDER: State of Colorado POLICY NO.:  33780 

ASSOCIATED COMPANIES: All subsidiaries and affiliates reported to Minnesota Life by the policyholder for 
inclusion in the policy. 

POLICY EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2014. This Specification Page represents the plan in effect as of 
February 1, 2025 as revised April 11, 2025. 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company has issued Group Policy Number 33780 to the 
State of Colorado effective as of July 1, 2014 as a replacement for an earlier policy 
containing the same number.  

In no case shall Minnesota Life Insurance Company be liable under both policies. 

POLICY ANNIVERSARY DATE: July 1 of each year beginning July 1, 2015. 

PREMIUM DUE DATE(S): The first day of each month.  Minnesota Life and the policyholder agree that 
premiums can be paid no later than the 45th day following the premium due date. 

GROUP: This group is composed of all eligible employees as defined by Colorado State Statute. 
Permanent part-time employees are included in this definition.  Eligible employee is 
defined as:  Employee means any officer or employee under the state personnel system 
of the state of Colorado whose salary is paid by state funds or any employee of the 
department of education, the Colorado commission on higher education, or the 
Colorado school for the deaf and the blind whose salary is paid by state funds, or any 
member of the military employed pursuant to section 28-3-904 C.R.S.  Employee 
includes any officer or employee of the legislative or judicial branch, any elected or 
appointed state official or employee who receives compensation other than expense 
reimbursement from the state funds, any elected state official who does not receive 
compensation other than expense reimbursement from state funds, and includes any 
member of the board of assessment appeals.  Employee does not include persons 
employed on a temporary basis; except that it shall include a member of the military 
employed pursuant to section 28-3-904 C.R.S. for more than 30 consecutive days. 

Employee does not include an employee insured under the University of Colorado 
group life insurance plan or a full-time member of the armed forces of any country. 

ENROLLMENT PERIOD: Not applicable for noncontributory insurance. 

For contributory insurance: 

For employees who are newly eligible, the enrollment period is equal to 31 days from 
the date the person meets the definition of group. 

For employees who first become eligible for dependent insurance after the newly 
eligible enrollment period, the enrollment period for dependent life is 31 days from the 
first day of eligibility. 

WAITING PERIOD: The period commencing with the date a person meets the definition of “GROUP” 
above and ending with the first day of the month next following that date. 
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PLAN OF INSURANCE 
 

EMPLOYEE BENEFIT SCHEDULE 
 
EMPLOYEE TERM LIFE INSURANCE: 
 

 

Basic Life Insurance 
 

 

 Eligible Class Amount of Basic Life Insurance 
   
 All employees One times annual regular pay, rounded to the next higher $1,000, if not already 

a multiple thereof, subject to a minimum benefit of $50,000 and maximum 
benefit of $250,000. 

 
Supplemental Employee Life Insurance 
 
 Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Employee Life Insurance 
   

 All employees An amount elected by the employee, in an increment of $10,000, subject to a 
minimum of $10,000 and a maximum of $600,000. 

 
BASIC LIFE INSURANCE ADDITIONAL BENEFIT: 
  

Basic Life Insurance Repatriation Benefit 
 
 Eligible Class Amount of Insurance 
   

 All employees If a death benefit becomes payable for an insured under this policy we will pay 
an additional benefit to reimburse the person who incurs the transportation 
expenses to transport the insured’s body to a mortuary near his or her primary 
residence, but not to exceed the lesser of $5,000 or 10% of the basic life 
insurance, if the insured dies more than 200 miles from his or her primary place 
of residence. 

 
EMPLOYEE ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE: 
 
Basic and Supplemental Insurance  
  
 Eligible Class Amount of Basic and Supplemental Employee AD&D Insurance 
   

 All employees An amount equal to the amount of Basic and Supplemental Employee Life 
Insurance for which the employee is insured under the group policy. 

 
GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR EMPLOYEE INSURANCE 

 
RETIREMENT REDUCTIONS: All insurance terminates at retirement, except as provided for under the 

portability provision.  
  

CONTRIBUTORY/NONCONTRIBUTORY: Basic insurance is noncontributory insurance; supplemental employee insurance 
is contributory insurance. 

  

GUARANTEED ISSUE AMOUNT: Guaranteed issue is the maximum amount of insurance an employee can receive 
without evidence of insurability when first eligible under the plan provided 
enrollment is made within the enrollment period.  The amounts are as follows: 

  
 For basic insurance: 
  All basic insurance is guaranteed issue. 
   

 
 
 
 
 
 



F.70944 C 

For supplemental employee insurance: 
For employees in an eligible class immediately prior to the effective date 
of the group policy:  

An amount equal to the amount of contributory insurance for which 
the employee was insured under the prior carrier’s group policy on 
the day immediately preceding the effective date of this policy.  

For employees who first become eligible after the effective date of this 
policy:  

$150,000 

EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY: Evidence of insurability is required as stated in the policy and for an amount of 
insurance greater than the guaranteed issue amount. 

EFFECTIVE DATE OF INCREASES AND 
DECREASES DUE TO CHANGE IN 
REGULAR PAY 

Increases and decreases due to a change in regular pay will become effective the 
date of the change in regular pay. For purposes of insurance under this policy, 
the date of the change in regular pay means the date the payroll system is 
updated. Evidence of insurability will not be required for an increase in 
insurance due solely to an increase in regular pay. All increases are subject to 
the actively at work requirement.  

DEPENDENTS BENEFIT SCHEDULE 

DEPENDENTS TERM LIFE INSURANCE: 
An employee must be approved for Supplemental Employee Life and matching accidental death and dismemberment coverage under 
this plan to be eligible to elect Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner and Supplemental Child Life and matching accidental death 
and dismemberment coverage.   

Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner Life Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner Life Insurance 

All employees An amount elected by the employee, in an increment of $10,000, subject to a 
minimum of $10,000 and subject to a maximum of the lesser of 50% of the 
employee’s supplemental amount of insurance or $250,000. 

Supplemental Child Life Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Child Life Insurance 

All employees $5,000 or $10,000, as elected by the employee.  Supplemental child coverage 
cannot exceed 50% of the Employee’s Supplemental amount of insurance. 

An employee’s first eligible newborn child is automatically covered for $5,000 
for 31 days from the child’s live birth.  To continue coverage on the first child, 
the employee must elect child coverage within those 31 days; otherwise the 
coverage shall terminate at the end of the 31-day period. 

DEPENDENTS ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE: 

Spouse/Civil Union Partner and Child AD&D Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Spouse/Civil Union Partner and Child AD&D Insurance 

All employees An amount equal to the amount of Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner 
and Child Life insurance for which the spouse/civil union partner and/or child 
are insured under the group policy. 
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GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR DEPENDENTS INSURANCE 

GRANDFATHERED COVERAGE: There is a group of grandfathered employees who were able to elect coverage 
on his or her spouse and/or children without electing Supplemental Employee 
Life/AD&D coverage.  The coverage for this group that is currently in place 
was elected prior to January 1, 2003.  The list of this closed grandfathered group 
is on file and of record with the policyholder and Minnesota Life. 

There is a group of grandfathered employees in which the spouse coverage 
maximum of “the lessor of 50% of the employee’s supplemental amount of 
insurance or $150,000” does not apply.  The coverage for this group that is 
currently in place was elected prior to January 1, 2003 and their coverage 
amounts are outside of the current plan parameters.  The list of this closed 
grandfathered group is on file and of record with the policyholder and 
Minnesota Life. 

If an employee has Supplement Employee Life/AD&D and Supplemental 
Spouse/Civil Union Partner/AD&D coverage, and the spouse/civil union partner 
becomes a State employee, then the spouse/civil union partner may receive an 
amount of Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage, on a guarantee issue 
basis, equal to the amount he/she had as a spouse/civil union partner.  The 
request for new Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage must be made 
within 31 days of the date that the spouse/civil union partner coverage ends.  

CONTINUED DEPENDENTS INSURANCE 
UPON THE DEATH OF THE EMPLOYEE: 

Notwithstanding anything in the policy to the contrary, any dependents term life 
and accidental death and dismemberment insurance that is in force at the time of 
an employee’s death shall remain in force for five months from the date of the 
employee’s death, with no further premium payment required. 

CONTRIBUTORY/NONCONTRIBUTORY: Dependents insurance is contributory insurance. 

GUARANTEED ISSUE AMOUNT: Guaranteed issue is the maximum amount of insurance an eligible dependent 
can receive without evidence of insurability when first eligible under the plan 
provided enrollment is made within the enrollment period.  The amounts are as 
follows: 

For employees with eligible dependents immediately prior to the effective date 
of this policy, the guaranteed issue amount is equal to the amount of dependents 
insurance for which they were insured under the prior group policy.  

For employees who first become eligible for dependents insurance after the 
effective date of this policy, the guaranteed issue amount is as follows: 

For Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner 
Insurance:  $30,000 
For Supplemental Child Insurance:  $10,000* 

* As an exception, evidence of insurability is never required of a child
regardless of when application is made (new hire, family status change, or
annual enrollment.)

EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY: Evidence of insurability is required as stated in the policy and for an amount of 
insurance greater than the guaranteed issue amount. 

EFFECT OF EMPLOYEE’S RETIREMENT: All dependents insurance terminates upon the employee’s retirement except as 
provided under the portability provision. 
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ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

WAIVER OF PREMIUM APPLICATION: Applies to contributory and noncontributory employee insurance. 

ONE-TIME OPEN ENROLLMENT: The policyholder will hold a one-time open enrollment in the spring of 2024.  
During this enrollment, the following elections will not require evidence of 
insurability: 

• An employee my elect for the first time or increase his or her
supplemental life insurance by five $10,0000 increments up to
$50,000, not to exceed the guaranteed issue limit of $150,000.

Coverage will be effective on July 1, 2024 subject to the actively at work 
requirement for employees. 

ELECTION CHANGES:  Election changes can be made at any time, except child life changes are limited 
to annual enrollment or within 31 days of a Family Status Change. 

An employee may make the following changes to his or her elections at annual 
open enrollment or within 31 days of a Family Status Change without providing 
any evidence of insurability: 

1. Any reduction or termination of coverage.
2. Any election for child life insurance.
3. For changes due to a Family Status Change:  Any increase in

Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D insurance that does not exceed
the guaranteed issue of $150,000, including enrolling in Supplemental
Employee Life/AD&D for the first time for up to $150,000.

4. For changes due to a Family Status Change:  Any increase in
Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner insurance that does not
exceed the guaranteed issue of $30,000, including enrolling in
Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/AD&D for the first time for
up to $30,000.

5. For changes at Annual Enrollment: Employees currently participating
in Employee Supplemental Life may increase their coverage by up to
five increments of $10,000, subject to the guaranteed issue limit of
$150,000. Election changes will be effective July 1 following the
Annual Enrollment.

6. During the 2022 Annual Enrollment employees not currently
participating in Employee Supplemental Life may elect coverage by up
to five increments of $10,000 without providing evidence of
insurability.

Any amount requested above these amounts or any change requested outside of 
these events shall require evidence of insurability and will not be effective 
unless and until the evidence is approved by Minnesota Life. 

Family Status Change means: 
• Birth or adoption or otherwise acquiring a newly eligible child
• Death of a spouse/civil union partner
• Marriage
• Establishment of a civil union partnership
• Changes in employment status and result in a loss of employer

sponsored life insurance coverage
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SPECIAL MARRIED EMPLOYEES RULES: • If an employee is insured for Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union
Partner/AD&D coverage and that spouse/civil union partner coverage
terminates, the employee can apply for Supplemental Employee
Life/AD&D on a guaranteed issue basis equal to the amount he or she
had as a spouse/civil union partner.  The request for new Supplemental
Employee Life/AD&D coverage must be made within 31 days of the
date that the Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner coverage ends.

• If an employee has Supplement Employee Life/AD&D and
Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/AD&D coverage, and the
spouse/civil union partner becomes a State employee, then the spouse/
civil union partner may receive an amount of Supplemental Employee
Life/AD&D coverage, on a guaranteed issue basis, equal to the amount
he or she had as a spouse/civil union partner, but not less than
$100,000 and not to exceed $250,000.  The request for new
Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage must be made within 31
days of the date that the Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner
coverage ends.

• If two State employees are married, or have established a civil union
partnership and both have Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D
coverage, and one employee terminates employment with the State and
loses their Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage, then the
other remaining employee may add Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union
Partner coverage, on a guarantee issue basis, up to an amount not to
exceed the lesser of:

 the amount that was in place as Supplemental Employee
Life/AD&D coverage for the terminated employee;

 50% of the remaining employee’s amount of coverage;
and

 $250,000.

The request for new Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/AD&D coverage 
must be made within 31 days of the date that the employee coverage ends. 

RIDER(S) TO THE GROUP POLICY 
Accidental Death and Dismemberment 
Dependents Term Life 
Portability 
Waiver of Premium 
Accelerated Benefits 
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Group Term Life Policy Amendment #9 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company 
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098 

To be attached to and made a part of Group Policy No. 33780 issued by Minnesota Life Insurance Company to  
State of Colorado.  This amendment is effective as of February 1, 2025.  Continued payment of premiums shall constitute 
acceptance of the conditions stated in this amendment.   

1) The section “What is your agreement with us?” is amended as follows:

What is your agreement with us? 

This policy and your application which is attached contain the entire contract between you and us.  Any 
statements you make will be considered representations and not warranties.  Also, any statement that 
you make will not be used to void this policy, nor will it be used in our defense if we refuse to pay a claim, 
unless a copy of the instrument containing the statement is or has been furnished to you or your 
beneficiary. 

No change or waiver of any provisions of this policy, or any certificate issued under it, will be valid unless 
made in writing by us and signed by our president, a vice-president, our secretary, or an assistant 
secretary.  No agent or other person has the authority to change or waive any provisions of this policy, or 
of any certificate issued under it.  

2) As a change to the policy, language is added to specify requirements for premium remittance during a leave of
absence and reinstatement of coverage after a leave of absence. As a result, the section “Can an insured
employee’s coverage be continued during sickness, injury, leave of absence or temporary layoff?” is amended to
read as follows:

Can an insured employee's coverage be continued during sickness, injury, leave of absence or 
temporary layoff? 

Yes. Insurance may be continued on an insured employee who is not actively at work due to sickness, 
injury, leave of absence or temporary layoff, subject to the employer’s practices and procedures, including 
the employer’s limits on the length of continuation allowed for the type of absence.   

If the employee remits premiums during the leave of absence, coverage continues uninterrupted. If the 
employee does not remit premiums, coverage terminates during the leave. Upon an employee’s return to 
active service, they may reinstate all coverages that were in force prior to the commencement of their 
paid or unpaid leave. Upon return to active status, the employee’s coverage is reinstated on the first day 
of the month following the date of return to active status. Premium remittance is not required to reinstate 
insurance. Coverage is not retroactive to the date the employee’s coverage terminated; a claim is not 
payable during the time the coverage is not in force.  

Continuation is subject to the following maximum time frames: 

(1) for an employee on non-medical leave of absence or temporary layoff, insurance cannot be
continued beyond 12 months from the last day the insured employee was actively at work.

(2) for an employee on a military leave of absence, insurance may be continued during the length of
the leave.  Coverage that is voluntarily terminated during a military leave will be reinstated when
the employee returns to active employment status without the need to provide evidence of
insurability.

(3) for an employee on a medical leave of absence, insurance cannot be continued beyond the later
of 12 months from the last day the insured employee was actively at work or the date the
employee attains age 65.

Continuation of insurance must be in accordance with the practices and procedures that precludes 
individual selection. 
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Coverage during a leave of absence and upon return from a leave of absence shall meet all state and federal 
requirements. The above limits will be expanded if necessary in order to meet such requirements. 
 

3) The section “When does an insured’s insurance become incontestable?” is amended as follows:  

When does an insured's insurance become incontestable? 

Except for non-payment of premiums, after the insured's insurance has been in force during his or her 
lifetime for two years from the effective date of his or her coverage, we cannot contest the insured's 
coverage.  However, if there has been an increase in the amount of insurance for which the insured was 
required to apply or for which we required evidence of insurability, then, to the extent of the increase, any 
loss which occurs within two years of the effective date of the increase will be contestable.  

Any statements the insured makes in his or her application will be considered representations and not 
warranties.  Also, any statement an insured makes will not be used to void his or her insurance, nor 
defend against a claim, unless a copy of the instrument containing the statement is  or has been 
furnished to the insured or the insured’s beneficiary.  

 
As a result of the change, the attached Group Policy Specifications Page effective February 1, 2025, replaces the prior 
Group Policy Specifications Page. 
 
Agreed to by Minnesota Life Insurance Company on January 27, 2025.   
 
  
 
    
        By ___________________________________ 

            SS 
    Vice President and Actuary 
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   GROUP POLICY SPECIFICATIONS PAGE 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

POLICYHOLDER: State of Colorado POLICY NO.:  33780

ASSOCIATED COMPANIES: All subsidiaries and affiliates reported to Minnesota Life by the policyholder for 

inclusion in the policy. 

POLICY EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2014. This Specification Page represents the plan in effect as of 

February 1, 2025. 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company has issued Group Policy Number 33780 to the 

State of Colorado effective as of July 1, 2014 as a replacement for an earlier policy 

containing the same number.  

In no case shall Minnesota Life Insurance Company be liable under both policies. 

POLICY ANNIVERSARY DATE: July 1 of each year beginning July 1, 2015. 

PREMIUM DUE DATE(S): The first day of each month.  Minnesota Life and the policyholder agree that 

premiums can be paid no later than the 45th day following the premium due date. 

GROUP: This group is composed of all eligible employees as defined by Colorado State Statute.  

Permanent part-time employees are included in this definition.  Eligible employee is 

defined as:  Employee means any officer or employee under the state personnel system 

of the state of Colorado whose salary is paid by state funds or any employee of the 

department of education, the Colorado commission on higher education, or the 

Colorado school for the deaf and the blind whose salary is paid by state funds, or any 

member of the military employed pursuant to section 28-3-904 C.R.S.  Employee 

includes any officer or employee of the legislative or judicial branch, any elected or 

appointed state official or employee who receives compensation other than expense 

reimbursement from the state funds, any elected state official who does not receive 

compensation other than expense reimbursement from state funds, and includes any 

member of the board of assessment appeals.  Employee does not include persons 

employed on a temporary basis; except that it shall include a member of the military 

employed pursuant to section 28-3-904 C.R.S. for more than 30 consecutive days. 

Employee does not include an employee insured under the University of Colorado 

group life insurance plan or a full-time member of the armed forces of any country. 

ENROLLMENT PERIOD: Not applicable for noncontributory insurance. 

For contributory insurance: 

For employees who are newly eligible, the enrollment period is equal to 31 days from 

the date the person meets the definition of group. 

For employees who first become eligible for dependent insurance after the newly 

eligible enrollment period, the enrollment period for dependent life is 31 days from the 

first day of eligibility. 

WAITING PERIOD: The period commencing with the date a person meets the definition of “GROUP” 

above and ending with the first day of the month next following that date. 
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PLAN OF INSURANCE 

EMPLOYEE BENEFIT SCHEDULE 

EMPLOYEE TERM LIFE INSURANCE: 

Basic Life Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Basic Life Insurance 

All employees One times annual regular pay, rounded to the next higher $1,000, if not already 

a multiple thereof, subject to a minimum benefit of $50,000 and maximum 

benefit of $250,000. 

Supplemental Employee Life Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Employee Life Insurance 

All employees An amount elected by the employee, in an increment of $10,000, subject to a 

minimum of $10,000 and a maximum of the lesser of $600,000 or eight times 

annual earnings. 

BASIC LIFE INSURANCE ADDITIONAL BENEFIT: 

Basic Life Insurance Repatriation Benefit 

Eligible Class Amount of Insurance 

All employees If a death benefit becomes payable for an insured under this policy we will pay 

an additional benefit to reimburse the person who incurs the transportation 

expenses to transport the insured’s body to a mortuary near his or her primary 

residence, but not to exceed the lesser of $5,000 or 10% of the basic life 

insurance, if the insured dies more than 200 miles from his or her primary place 

of residence. 

EMPLOYEE ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE: 

Basic and Supplemental Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Basic and Supplemental Employee AD&D Insurance 

All employees An amount equal to the amount of Basic and Supplemental Employee Life 

Insurance for which the employee is insured under the group policy. 

GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR EMPLOYEE INSURANCE 

RETIREMENT REDUCTIONS: All insurance terminates at retirement, except as provided for under the 

portability provision.  

CONTRIBUTORY/NONCONTRIBUTORY: Basic insurance is noncontributory insurance; supplemental employee insurance 

is contributory insurance. 

GUARANTEED ISSUE AMOUNT: Guaranteed issue is the maximum amount of insurance an employee can receive 

without evidence of insurability when first eligible under the plan provided 

enrollment is made within the enrollment period.  The amounts are as follows: 

For basic insurance: 

All basic insurance is guaranteed issue. 
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For supplemental employee insurance: 

For employees in an eligible class immediately prior to the effective date 

of the group policy:  

An amount equal to the amount of contributory insurance for which 

the employee was insured under the prior carrier’s group policy on 

the day immediately preceding the effective date of this policy.  

For employees who first become eligible after the effective date of this 

policy:  

$150,000 

EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY: Evidence of insurability is required as stated in the policy and for an amount of 

insurance greater than the guaranteed issue amount. 

EFFECTIVE DATE OF INCREASES AND 
DECREASES DUE TO CHANGE IN 
REGULAR PAY 

Increases and decreases due to a change in regular pay will become effective the 

date of the change in regular pay. For purposes of insurance under this policy, 

the date of the change in regular pay means the date the payroll system is 

updated. Evidence of insurability will not be required for an increase in 

insurance due solely to an increase in regular pay. All increases are subject to 

the actively at work requirement.  

DEPENDENTS BENEFIT SCHEDULE 

DEPENDENTS TERM LIFE INSURANCE: 
An employee must be approved for Supplemental Employee Life and matching accidental death and dismemberment coverage under 

this plan to be eligible to elect Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner and Supplemental Child Life and matching accidental death 

and dismemberment coverage.   

Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner Life Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner Life Insurance 

All employees An amount elected by the employee, in an increment of $10,000, subject to a 

minimum of $10,000 and subject to a maximum of the lesser of 50% of the 

employee’s supplemental amount of insurance or $250,000. 

Supplemental Child Life Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Child Life Insurance 

All employees $5,000 or $10,000, as elected by the employee.  Supplemental child coverage 

cannot exceed 50% of the Employee’s Supplemental amount of insurance. 

An employee’s first eligible newborn child is automatically covered for $5,000 

for 31 days from the child’s live birth.  To continue coverage on the first child, 

the employee must elect child coverage within those 31 days; otherwise the 

coverage shall terminate at the end of the 31-day period. 

DEPENDENTS ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE: 

Spouse/Civil Union Partner and Child AD&D Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Spouse/Civil Union Partner and Child AD&D Insurance 

All employees An amount equal to the amount of Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner 

and Child Life insurance for which the spouse/civil union partner and/or child 

are insured under the group policy. 
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GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR DEPENDENTS INSURANCE 
 

GRANDFATHERED COVERAGE: 
 

There is a group of grandfathered employees who were able to elect coverage 

on his or her spouse and/or children without electing Supplemental Employee 

Life/AD&D coverage.  The coverage for this group that is currently in place 

was elected prior to January 1, 2003.  The list of this closed grandfathered group 

is on file and of record with the policyholder and Minnesota Life. 

 

There is a group of grandfathered employees in which the spouse coverage 

maximum of “the lessor of 50% of the employee’s supplemental amount of 

insurance or $150,000” does not apply.  The coverage for this group that is 

currently in place was elected prior to January 1, 2003 and their coverage 

amounts are outside of the current plan parameters.  The list of this closed 

grandfathered group is on file and of record with the policyholder and 

Minnesota Life. 

 

If an employee has Supplement Employee Life/AD&D and Supplemental 

Spouse/Civil Union Partner/AD&D coverage, and the spouse/civil union partner 

becomes a State employee, then the spouse/civil union partner may receive an 

amount of Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage, on a guarantee issue 

basis, equal to the amount he/she had as a spouse/civil union partner.  The 

request for new Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage must be made 

within 31 days of the date that the spouse/civil union partner coverage ends.  

  

CONTINUED DEPENDENTS INSURANCE 
UPON THE DEATH OF THE EMPLOYEE: 

Notwithstanding anything in the policy to the contrary, any dependents term life 

and accidental death and dismemberment insurance that is in force at the time of 

an employee’s death shall remain in force for five months from the date of the 

employee’s death, with no further premium payment required. 

 
CONTRIBUTORY/NONCONTRIBUTORY: Dependents insurance is contributory insurance. 
  

GUARANTEED ISSUE AMOUNT: Guaranteed issue is the maximum amount of insurance an eligible dependent 

can receive without evidence of insurability when first eligible under the plan 

provided enrollment is made within the enrollment period.  The amounts are as 

follows: 

  

 For employees with eligible dependents immediately prior to the effective date 

of this policy, the guaranteed issue amount is equal to the amount of dependents 

insurance for which they were insured under the prior group policy.  

  

 For employees who first become eligible for dependents insurance after the 

effective date of this policy, the guaranteed issue amount is as follows: 

  For Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner  

Insurance:  $30,000 

  For Supplemental Child Insurance:  $10,000* 

  

 *  As an exception, evidence of insurability is never required of a child 

regardless of when application is made (new hire, family status change, or 

annual enrollment.) 

 

EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY: Evidence of insurability is required as stated in the policy and for an amount of 

insurance greater than the guaranteed issue amount. 

  

EFFECT OF EMPLOYEE’S RETIREMENT: All dependents insurance terminates upon the employee’s retirement except as 

provided under the portability provision. 
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ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

WAIVER OF PREMIUM APPLICATION: Applies to contributory and noncontributory employee insurance. 

ONE-TIME OPEN ENROLLMENT: The policyholder will hold a one-time open enrollment in the spring of 2024. 

During this enrollment, the following elections will not require evidence of 

insurability: 

• An employee my elect for the first time or increase his or her

supplemental life insurance by five $10,0000 increments up to

$50,000, not to exceed the guaranteed issue limit of $150,000.

Coverage will be effective on July 1, 2024 subject to the actively at work 

requirement for employees. 

ELECTION CHANGES: Election changes can be made at any time, except child life changes are limited 

to annual enrollment or within 31 days of a Family Status Change. 

An employee may make the following changes to his or her elections at annual 

open enrollment or within 31 days of a Family Status Change without providing 

any evidence of insurability: 

1. Any reduction or termination of coverage.

2. Any election for child life insurance.

3. For changes due to a Family Status Change:  Any increase in

Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D insurance that does not exceed

the guaranteed issue of $150,000, including enrolling in Supplemental

Employee Life/AD&D for the first time for up to $150,000.

4. For changes due to a Family Status Change:  Any increase in

Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner insurance that does not

exceed the guaranteed issue of $30,000, including enrolling in

Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/AD&D for the first time for

up to $30,000.

5. For changes at Annual Enrollment: Employees currently participating

in Employee Supplemental Life may increase their coverage by up to

five increments of $10,000, subject to the guaranteed issue limit of

$150,000. Election changes will be effective July 1 following the

Annual Enrollment.

6. During the 2022 Annual Enrollment employees not currently

participating in Employee Supplemental Life may elect coverage by up

to five increments of $10,000 without providing evidence of

insurability.

Any amount requested above these amounts or any change requested outside of 

these events shall require evidence of insurability and will not be effective 

unless and until the evidence is approved by Minnesota Life. 

Family Status Change means: 

• Birth or adoption or otherwise acquiring a newly eligible child

• Death of a spouse/civil union partner

• Marriage

• Establishment of a civil union partnership

• Changes in employment status and result in a loss of employer

sponsored life insurance coverage
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SPECIAL MARRIED EMPLOYEES RULES: • If an employee is insured for Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union 

Partner/AD&D coverage and that spouse/civil union partner coverage 

terminates, the employee can apply for Supplemental Employee 

Life/AD&D on a guaranteed issue basis equal to the amount he or she 

had as a spouse/civil union partner.  The request for new Supplemental 

Employee Life/AD&D coverage must be made within 31 days of the 

date that the Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner coverage ends. 

• If an employee has Supplement Employee Life/AD&D and 

Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/AD&D coverage, and the 

spouse/civil union partner becomes a State employee, then the spouse/ 

civil union partner may receive an amount of Supplemental Employee 

Life/AD&D coverage, on a guaranteed issue basis, equal to the amount 

he or she had as a spouse/civil union partner, but not less than 

$100,000 and not to exceed $250,000.  The request for new 

Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage must be made within 31 

days of the date that the Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner 

coverage ends. 

 

• If two State employees are married, or have established a civil union 

partnership and both have Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D 

coverage, and one employee terminates employment with the State and 

loses their Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage, then the 

other remaining employee may add Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union 

Partner coverage, on a guarantee issue basis, up to an amount not to 

exceed the lesser of: 

▪ the amount that was in place as Supplemental Employee 

Life/AD&D coverage for the terminated employee;  

▪ 50% of the remaining employee’s amount of coverage; 

and 

▪   $250,000.  

 
 The request for new Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/AD&D coverage 

must be made within 31 days of the date that the employee coverage ends. 
  
  

RIDER(S) TO THE GROUP POLICY  

Accidental Death and Dismemberment  

Dependents Term Life  

Portability  

Waiver of Premium  

Accelerated Benefits  
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Group Term Life Policy Amendment #8 
Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company 
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098 

To be attached to and made a part of Group Policy No. 33780 issued by Minnesota Life Insurance Company to  
State of Colorado.  This amendment is effective as of July 1, 2024.  Continued payment of premiums shall constitute 
acceptance of the conditions stated in this amendment.   

1) A first-eligible newborn benefit is added resulting in the following change to the Supplemental Child Life Insurance
section on the Group Policy Specifications Page:

Supplemental Child Life Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Child Life Insurance 

All employees $5,000 or $10,000, as elected by the employee.  Supplemental child 
coverage cannot exceed 50% of the Employee’s Supplemental 
amount of insurance. 

An employee’s first eligible newborn child is automatically covered 
for $5,000 for 31 days from the child’s live birth.  To continue 
coverage on the first child, the employee must elect child coverage 
within those 31 days; otherwise the coverage shall terminate at the 
end of the 31-day period. 

2) The maximum amount of employee supplemental life insurance is increased from $500,000 to the lesser of
$600,000 or eight times annual earnings.

3) A one-time open enrollment opportunity is added as follows:

ONE-TIME OPEN ENROLLMENT: The policyholder will hold a one-time open enrollment in the spring of 2024.  
During this enrollment, the following elections will not require evidence of 
insurability: 

• An employee my elect for the first time or increase his or her
supplemental life insurance by five $10,0000 increments up to a
total of $50,000, not to exceed the guaranteed issue limit of
$150,000.

Coverage will be effective on July 1, 2024 subject to the actively at work 
requirement for employees. 

As a result of the change, the attached Group Policy Specifications Page effective July 1, 2024, replaces the prior Group 
Policy Specifications Page. 

Agreed to by Minnesota Life Insurance Company on March 21, 2024.  

By ___________________________________ 
KB 

    Vice President and Actuary 
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   GROUP POLICY SPECIFICATIONS PAGE 
GENERAL INFORMATION 

POLICYHOLDER: State of Colorado POLICY NO.:  33780 

ASSOCIATED COMPANIES: All subsidiaries and affiliates reported to Minnesota Life by the policyholder for 
inclusion in the policy. 

POLICY EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2014. This Specification Page represents the plan in effect as of 
July 1, 2024. 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company has issued Group Policy Number 33780 to the 
State of Colorado effective as of July 1, 2014 as a replacement for an earlier policy 
containing the same number.  

In no case shall Minnesota Life Insurance Company be liable under both policies. 

POLICY ANNIVERSARY DATE: July 1 of each year beginning July 1, 2015. 

PREMIUM DUE DATE(S): The first day of each month.  Minnesota Life and the policyholder agree that 
premiums can be paid no later than the 45th day following the premium due date. 

GROUP: This group is composed of all eligible employees as defined by Colorado State Statute. 
Permanent part-time employees are included in this definition.  Eligible employee is 
defined as:  Employee means any officer or employee under the state personnel system 
of the state of Colorado whose salary is paid by state funds or any employee of the 
department of education, the Colorado commission on higher education, or the 
Colorado school for the deaf and the blind whose salary is paid by state funds, or any 
member of the military employed pursuant to section 28-3-904 C.R.S.  Employee 
includes any officer or employee of the legislative or judicial branch, any elected or 
appointed state official or employee who receives compensation other than expense 
reimbursement from the state funds, any elected state official who does not receive 
compensation other than expense reimbursement from state funds, and includes any 
member of the board of assessment appeals.  Employee does not include persons 
employed on a temporary basis; except that it shall include a member of the military 
employed pursuant to section 28-3-904 C.R.S. for more than 30 consecutive days. 

Employee does not include an employee insured under the University of Colorado 
group life insurance plan or a full-time member of the armed forces of any country. 

ENROLLMENT PERIOD: Not applicable for noncontributory insurance. 

For contributory insurance: 

For employees who are newly eligible, the enrollment period is equal to 31 days from 
the date the person meets the definition of group. 

For employees who first become eligible for dependent insurance after the newly 
eligible enrollment period, the enrollment period for dependent life is 31 days from the 
first day of eligibility. 

WAITING PERIOD: The period commencing with the date a person meets the definition of “GROUP” 
above and ending with the first day of the month next following that date. 
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PLAN OF INSURANCE 
EMPLOYEE BENEFIT SCHEDULE 

EMPLOYEE TERM LIFE INSURANCE: 

Basic Life Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Basic Life Insurance 

All employees One times annual regular pay, rounded to the next higher $1,000, if not already 
a multiple thereof, subject to a minimum benefit of $50,000 and maximum 
benefit of $250,000. 

Supplemental Employee Life Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Employee Life Insurance 

All employees An amount elected by the employee, in an increment of $10,000, subject to a 
minimum of $10,000 and a maximum of the lesser of $600,000 or eight times 
annual earnings. 

BASIC LIFE INSURANCE ADDITIONAL BENEFIT: 

Basic Life Insurance Repatriation Benefit 

Eligible Class Amount of Insurance 

All employees If a death benefit becomes payable for an insured under this policy we will pay 
an additional benefit to reimburse the person who incurs the transportation 
expenses to transport the insured’s body to a mortuary near his or her primary 
residence, but not to exceed the lesser of $5,000 or 10% of the basic life 
insurance, if the insured dies more than 200 miles from his or her primary place 
of residence. 

EMPLOYEE ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE: 

Basic and Supplemental Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Basic and Supplemental Employee AD&D Insurance 

All employees An amount equal to the amount of Basic and Supplemental Employee Life 
Insurance for which the employee is insured under the group policy. 

GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR EMPLOYEE INSURANCE 

RETIREMENT REDUCTIONS: All insurance terminates at retirement, except as provided for under the 
portability provision.  

CONTRIBUTORY/NONCONTRIBUTORY: Basic insurance is noncontributory insurance; supplemental employee insurance 
is contributory insurance. 

GUARANTEED ISSUE AMOUNT: Guaranteed issue is the maximum amount of insurance an employee can receive 
without evidence of insurability when first eligible under the plan provided 
enrollment is made within the enrollment period.  The amounts are as follows: 

For basic insurance: 
All basic insurance is guaranteed issue. 
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 For supplemental employee insurance: 
  For employees in an eligible class immediately prior to the effective date 

of the group policy:  
   An amount equal to the amount of contributory insurance for which 

the employee was insured under the prior carrier’s group policy on 
the day immediately preceding the effective date of this policy.  

  For employees who first become eligible after the effective date of this 
policy:  

  $150,000 
  

EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY: Evidence of insurability is required as stated in the policy and for an amount of 
insurance greater than the guaranteed issue amount. 
 

EFFECTIVE DATE OF INCREASES AND 
DECREASES DUE TO CHANGE IN 
REGULAR PAY 

Increases and decreases due to a change in regular pay will become effective the 
date of the change in regular pay. For purposes of insurance under this policy, 
the date of the change in regular pay means the date the payroll system is 
updated. Evidence of insurability will not be required for an increase in 
insurance due solely to an increase in regular pay. All increases are subject to 
the actively at work requirement.  
 

DEPENDENTS BENEFIT SCHEDULE 
 
DEPENDENTS TERM LIFE INSURANCE: 
An employee must be approved for Supplemental Employee Life and matching accidental death and dismemberment coverage under 
this plan to be eligible to elect Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner and Supplemental Child Life and matching accidental death 
and dismemberment coverage.   
 
Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner Life Insurance 
 
 Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner Life Insurance 
   

 All employees An amount elected by the employee, in an increment of $10,000, subject to a  
minimum of $10,000 and subject to a maximum of the lesser of 50% of the 
employee’s supplemental amount of insurance or $250,000. 

  

Supplemental Child Life Insurance 
 
 Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Child Life Insurance 
   

 All employees $5,000 or $10,000, as elected by the employee.  Supplemental child coverage 
cannot exceed 50% of the Employee’s Supplemental amount of insurance. 

   
  An employee’s first eligible newborn child is automatically covered for $5,000 

for 31 days from the child’s live birth.  To continue coverage on the first child, 
the employee must elect child coverage within those 31 days; otherwise the 
coverage shall terminate at the end of the 31-day period. 

   
DEPENDENTS ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE: 
 
Spouse/Civil Union Partner and Child AD&D Insurance 
  

 Eligible Class Amount of Spouse/Civil Union Partner and Child AD&D Insurance 
   
 All employees An amount equal to the amount of Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner 

and Child Life insurance for which the spouse/civil union partner and/or child 
are insured under the group policy. 

 
  



F.70944 D 

GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR DEPENDENTS INSURANCE 
 

GRANDFATHERED COVERAGE: 
 

There is a group of grandfathered employees who were able to elect coverage 
on his or her spouse and/or children without electing Supplemental Employee 
Life/AD&D coverage.  The coverage for this group that is currently in place 
was elected prior to January 1, 2003.  The list of this closed grandfathered group 
is on file and of record with the policyholder and Minnesota Life. 
 
There is a group of grandfathered employees in which the spouse coverage 
maximum of “the lessor of 50% of the employee’s supplemental amount of 
insurance or $150,000” does not apply.  The coverage for this group that is 
currently in place was elected prior to January 1, 2003 and their coverage 
amounts are outside of the current plan parameters.  The list of this closed 
grandfathered group is on file and of record with the policyholder and 
Minnesota Life. 
 
If an employee has Supplement Employee Life/AD&D and Supplemental 
Spouse/Civil Union Partner/AD&D coverage, and the spouse/civil union partner 
becomes a State employee, then the spouse/civil union partner may receive an 
amount of Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage, on a guarantee issue 
basis, equal to the amount he/she had as a spouse/civil union partner.  The 
request for new Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage must be made 
within 31 days of the date that the spouse/civil union partner coverage ends.  

  

CONTINUED DEPENDENTS INSURANCE 
UPON THE DEATH OF THE EMPLOYEE: 

Notwithstanding anything in the policy to the contrary, any dependents term life 
and accidental death and dismemberment insurance that is in force at the time of 
an employee’s death shall remain in force for five months from the date of the 
employee’s death, with no further premium payment required. 

 
CONTRIBUTORY/NONCONTRIBUTORY: Dependents insurance is contributory insurance. 
  
GUARANTEED ISSUE AMOUNT: Guaranteed issue is the maximum amount of insurance an eligible dependent 

can receive without evidence of insurability when first eligible under the plan 
provided enrollment is made within the enrollment period.  The amounts are as 
follows: 

  
 For employees with eligible dependents immediately prior to the effective date 

of this policy, the guaranteed issue amount is equal to the amount of dependents 
insurance for which they were insured under the prior group policy.  

  
 For employees who first become eligible for dependents insurance after the 

effective date of this policy, the guaranteed issue amount is as follows: 
  For Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner  

Insurance:  $30,000 
  For Supplemental Child Insurance:  $10,000* 
  
 *  As an exception, evidence of insurability is never required of a child 

regardless of when application is made (new hire, family status change, or 
annual enrollment.) 

 
EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY: Evidence of insurability is required as stated in the policy and for an amount of 

insurance greater than the guaranteed issue amount. 
  

EFFECT OF EMPLOYEE’S RETIREMENT: All dependents insurance terminates upon the employee’s retirement except as 
provided under the portability provision. 
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ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 
  
WAIVER OF PREMIUM APPLICATION: Applies to contributory and noncontributory employee insurance.  
  
ONE-TIME OPEN ENROLLMENT: 
 

The policyholder will hold a one-time open enrollment in the spring of 2024.  
During this enrollment, the following elections will not require evidence of 
insurability: 
 

• An employee my elect for the first time or increase his or her 
supplemental life insurance by five $10,0000 increments up to 
$50,000, not to exceed the guaranteed issue limit of $150,000.  

 
Coverage will be effective on July 1, 2024 subject to the actively at work 
requirement for employees. 

 
ELECTION CHANGES:   Election changes can be made at any time, except child life changes are limited 

to annual enrollment or within 31 days of a Family Status Change. 
 
An employee may make the following changes to his or her elections at annual 
open enrollment or within 31 days of a Family Status Change without providing 
any evidence of insurability: 
 

1. Any reduction or termination of coverage. 
2. Any election for child life insurance. 
3. For changes due to a Family Status Change:  Any increase in 

Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D insurance that does not exceed 
the guaranteed issue of $150,000, including enrolling in Supplemental 
Employee Life/AD&D for the first time for up to $150,000.   

4. For changes due to a Family Status Change:  Any increase in 
Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner insurance that does not 
exceed the guaranteed issue of $30,000, including enrolling in 
Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/AD&D for the first time for 
up to $30,000.   

5. For changes at Annual Enrollment: Employees currently participating 
in Employee Supplemental Life may increase their coverage by up to 
five increments of $10,000, subject to the guaranteed issue limit of 
$150,000. Election changes will be effective July 1 following the 
Annual Enrollment.  

6. During the 2022 Annual Enrollment employees not currently 
participating in Employee Supplemental Life may elect coverage by up 
to five increments of $10,000 without providing evidence of 
insurability.  

 
Any amount requested above these amounts or any change requested outside of 
these events shall require evidence of insurability and will not be effective 
unless and until the evidence is approved by Minnesota Life. 
  
Family Status Change means: 

• Birth or adoption or otherwise acquiring a newly eligible child 
• Death of a spouse/civil union partner 
• Marriage 
• Establishment of a civil union partnership 
• Changes in employment status and result in a loss of employer 

sponsored life insurance coverage 
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SPECIAL MARRIED EMPLOYEES RULES: • If an employee is insured for Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union 
Partner/AD&D coverage and that spouse/civil union partner coverage 
terminates, the employee can apply for Supplemental Employee 
Life/AD&D on a guaranteed issue basis equal to the amount he or she 
had as a spouse/civil union partner.  The request for new Supplemental 
Employee Life/AD&D coverage must be made within 31 days of the 
date that the Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner coverage ends. 

• If an employee has Supplement Employee Life/AD&D and 
Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/AD&D coverage, and the 
spouse/civil union partner becomes a State employee, then the spouse/ 
civil union partner may receive an amount of Supplemental Employee 
Life/AD&D coverage, on a guaranteed issue basis, equal to the amount 
he or she had as a spouse/civil union partner, but not less than 
$100,000 and not to exceed $250,000.  The request for new 
Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage must be made within 31 
days of the date that the Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner 
coverage ends. 

 
• If two State employees are married, or have established a civil union 

partnership and both have Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D 
coverage, and one employee terminates employment with the State and 
loses their Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage, then the 
other remaining employee may add Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union 
Partner coverage, on a guarantee issue basis, up to an amount not to 
exceed the lesser of: 

 the amount that was in place as Supplemental Employee 
Life/AD&D coverage for the terminated employee;  

 50% of the remaining employee’s amount of coverage; 
and 

   $250,000.  
 

 The request for new Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/AD&D coverage 
must be made within 31 days of the date that the employee coverage ends. 

  
  
RIDER(S) TO THE GROUP POLICY  
Accidental Death and Dismemberment  
Dependents Term Life  
Portability  
Waiver of Premium  
Accelerated Benefits  
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Group Term Life Policy Amendment #7 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company 
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098 

To be attached to and made a part of Group Policy No. 33780 issued by Minnesota Life Insurance Company to State of 
Colorado. This amendment is effective as of January 1, 2023.  Continued payment of premiums shall constitute 
acceptance of the conditions stated in this amendment.  The following changes are made to the policy: 

Changes in employment status is added under Family Status Change within the Election Changes section of the 
specifications page.  The specifications page is changed to read as follows: 

ELECTION CHANGES:  Election changes can be made at any time, except child life changes are 

limited to annual enrollment or within 31 days of a Family Status 

Change. 

An employee may make the following changes to his or her elections at 

annual open enrollment or within 31 days of a Family Status Change 

without providing any evidence of insurability: 

1. Any reduction or termination of coverage.

2. Any election for child life insurance.

3. For changes due to a Family Status Change:  Any increase in

Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D insurance that does not

exceed the guaranteed issue of $150,000, including enrolling in

Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D for the first time for up to

$150,000.

4. For changes due to a Family Status Change:  Any increase in

Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner insurance that does

not exceed the guaranteed issue of $30,000, including enrolling

in Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/AD&D for the first

time for up to $30,000.

5. For changes at Annual Enrollment: Employees currently

participating in Employee Supplemental Life may increase their

coverage by up to five increments of $10,000, subject to the

guaranteed issue limit of $150,000. Election changes will be

effective July 1 following the Annual Enrollment.

6. During the 2022 Annual Enrollment employees not currently

participating in Employee Supplemental Life may elect

coverage by up to five increments of $10,000 without providing

evidence of insurability.

Any amount requested above these amounts or any change requested 

outside of these events shall require evidence of insurability and will not 

be effective unless and until the evidence is approved by Minnesota Life. 

Family Status Change means: 

• Birth or adoption or otherwise acquiring a newly eligible child

• Death of a spouse/civil union partner

• Marriage

• Establishment of a civil union partnership

• Changes in employment status and result in a loss of employer

sponsored life insurance coverage
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As a result of this change, the Group Policy Specifications Page is replaced with the attached Group Policy Specifications 
Page effective January 1, 2023. 
 
   

 
Agreed to by Minnesota Life Insurance Company on April 24, 2023.   
 
  
 
    
        By ___________________________________ 

            CDJ 
    Vice President and Actuary 
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                  GROUP POLICY SPECIFICATIONS PAGE  

GENERAL INFORMATION 
  

POLICYHOLDER: 
 

State of Colorado 

 

POLICY NO.:  33780-G 

ASSOCIATED COMPANIES: 
 

All subsidiaries and affiliates reported to Minnesota Life by the policyholder for 

inclusion in the policy. 

 

POLICY EFFECTIVE DATE: 
 

July 1, 2014. This Specification Page represents the plan in effect as of  

January 1, 2023. 

 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company has issued Group Policy Number 33780-G to the 

State of Colorado effective as of July 1, 2014 as a replacement for an earlier policy 

containing the same number.  

 

In no case shall Minnesota Life Insurance Company be liable under both policies. 

 

POLICY ANNIVERSARY DATE: 
 

July 1 of each year beginning July 1, 2015. 

 

PREMIUM DUE DATE(S): 
 

The first day of each month.  Minnesota Life and the policyholder agree that 

premiums can be paid no later than the 45th day following the premium due date. 

 

GROUP: 
 
 
 

This group is composed of all eligible employees as defined by Colorado State Statute.  

Permanent part-time employees are included in this definition.  Eligible employee is 

defined as:  Employee means any officer or employee under the state personnel system 

of the state of Colorado whose salary is paid by state funds or any employee of the 

department of education, the Colorado commission on higher education, or the 

Colorado school for the deaf and the blind whose salary is paid by state funds, or any 

member of the military employed pursuant to section 28-3-904 C.R.S.  Employee 

includes any officer or employee of the legislative or judicial branch, any elected or 

appointed state official or employee who receives compensation other than expense 

reimbursement from the state funds, any elected state official who does not receive 

compensation other than expense reimbursement from state funds, and includes any 

member of the board of assessment appeals.  Employee does not include persons 

employed on a temporary basis; except that it shall include a member of the military 

employed pursuant to section 28-3-904 C.R.S. for more than 30 consecutive days. 

 

Employee does not include an employee insured under the University of Colorado 

group life insurance plan or a full-time member of the armed forces of any country. 

 

ENROLLMENT PERIOD: 
 
 

Not applicable for noncontributory insurance.  

 

For contributory insurance: 

 

For employees who are newly eligible, the enrollment period is equal to 31 days from 

the date the person meets the definition of group. 

 

For employees who first become eligible for dependent insurance after the newly 

eligible enrollment period, the enrollment period for dependent life is 31 days from the 

first day of eligibility. 

 

WAITING PERIOD: The period commencing with the date a person meets the definition of “GROUP” 

above and ending with the first day of the month next following that date. 
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PLAN OF INSURANCE 
 

EMPLOYEE BENEFIT SCHEDULE 
 

EMPLOYEE TERM LIFE INSURANCE: 
 

 

Basic Life Insurance 
 

 

 Eligible Class Amount of Basic Life Insurance 
   
 All employees One times annual regular pay, rounded to the next higher $1,000, if not already 

a multiple thereof, subject to a minimum benefit of $50,000 and maximum 

benefit of $250,000. 

 
Supplemental Employee Life Insurance 
 

 Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Employee Life Insurance 
   

 All employees An amount elected by the employee, in an increment of $10,000, subject to a 

minimum of $10,000 and a maximum of $500,000. 

 
BASIC LIFE INSURANCE ADDITIONAL BENEFIT: 
  

Basic Life Insurance Repatriation Benefit 
 

 Eligible Class Amount of Insurance 
   

 All employees If a death benefit becomes payable for an insured under this policy we will pay 

an additional benefit to reimburse the person who incurs the transportation 

expenses to transport the insured’s body to a mortuary near his or her primary 

residence, but not to exceed the lesser of $5,000 or 10% of the basic life 

insurance, if the insured dies more than 200 miles from his or her primary place 

of residence. 

 
EMPLOYEE ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE: 
 
Basic and Supplemental Insurance  

  

 Eligible Class Amount of Basic and Supplemental Employee AD&D Insurance 
   

 All employees An amount equal to the amount of Basic and Supplemental Employee Life 

Insurance for which the employee is insured under the group policy. 

 

GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR EMPLOYEE INSURANCE 
 

RETIREMENT REDUCTIONS: All insurance terminates at retirement, except as provided for under the 

portability provision.  

  

CONTRIBUTORY/NONCONTRIBUTORY: Basic insurance is noncontributory insurance; supplemental employee insurance 

is contributory insurance. 

  

GUARANTEED ISSUE AMOUNT: Guaranteed issue is the maximum amount of insurance an employee can receive 

without evidence of insurability when first eligible under the plan provided 

enrollment is made within the enrollment period.  The amounts are as follows: 

  

 For basic insurance: 

  All basic insurance is guaranteed issue. 
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 For supplemental employee insurance: 

  For employees in an eligible class immediately prior to the effective date 

of the group policy:  

   An amount equal to the amount of contributory insurance for which 

the employee was insured under the prior carrier’s group policy on 

the day immediately preceding the effective date of this policy.  

  For employees who first become eligible after the effective date of this 

policy:  

  $150,000 

  

EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY: Evidence of insurability is required as stated in the policy and for an amount of 

insurance greater than the guaranteed issue amount. 

 

EFFECTIVE DATE OF INCREASES AND 
DECREASES DUE TO CHANGE IN 
REGULAR PAY 

Increases and decreases due to a change in regular pay will become effective the 

date of the change in regular pay. For purposes of insurance under this policy, 

the date of the change in regular pay means the date the payroll system is 

updated. Evidence of insurability will not be required for an increase in 

insurance due solely to an increase in regular pay. All increases are subject to 

the actively at work requirement.  

 

DEPENDENTS BENEFIT SCHEDULE 
 

DEPENDENTS TERM LIFE INSURANCE: 
An employee must be approved for Supplemental Employee Life and matching accidental death and dismemberment coverage under 

this plan to be eligible to elect Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner and Supplemental Child Life and matching accidental death 

and dismemberment coverage.   
 

Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner Life Insurance 
 

 Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner Life Insurance 
   

 All employees An amount elected by the employee, in an increment of $10,000, subject to a  

minimum of $10,000 and subject to a maximum of the lesser of 50% of the 

employee’s supplemental amount of insurance or $250,000. 

  

Supplemental Child Life Insurance 
 

 Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Child Life Insurance 
   

 All employees $5,000 or $10,000, as elected by the employee.  Supplemental child coverage 

cannot exceed 50% of the Employee’s Supplemental amount of insurance. 

   

DEPENDENTS ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE: 
 
Spouse/Civil Union Partner and Child AD&D Insurance 
  

 Eligible Class Amount of Spouse/Civil Union Partner and Child AD&D Insurance 
   
 All employees An amount equal to the amount of Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner 

and Child Life insurance for which the spouse/civil union partner and/or child 

are insured under the group policy. 
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GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR DEPENDENTS INSURANCE 
 

GRANDFATHERED COVERAGE: 
 

There is a group of grandfathered employees who were able to elect coverage 

on his or her spouse and/or children without electing Supplemental Employee 

Life/AD&D coverage.  The coverage for this group that is currently in place 

was elected prior to January 1, 2003.  The list of this closed grandfathered group 

is on file and of record with the policyholder and Minnesota Life. 

 

There is a group of grandfathered employees in which the spouse coverage 

maximum of “the lessor of 50% of the employee’s supplemental amount of 

insurance or $150,000” does not apply.  The coverage for this group that is 

currently in place was elected prior to January 1, 2003 and their coverage 

amounts are outside of the current plan parameters.  The list of this closed 

grandfathered group is on file and of record with the policyholder and 

Minnesota Life. 

 

If an employee has Supplement Employee Life/AD&D and Supplemental 

Spouse/Civil Union Partner/AD&D coverage, and the spouse/civil union partner 

becomes a State employee, then the spouse/civil union partner may receive an 

amount of Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage, on a guarantee issue 

basis, equal to the amount he/she had as a spouse/civil union partner.  The 

request for new Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage must be made 

within 31 days of the date that the spouse/civil union partner coverage ends.  

  

CONTINUED DEPENDENTS INSURANCE 
UPON THE DEATH OF THE EMPLOYEE: 

Notwithstanding anything in the policy to the contrary, any dependents term life 

and accidental death and dismemberment insurance that is in force at the time of 

an employee’s death shall remain in force for five months from the date of the 

employee’s death, with no further premium payment required. 

 
CONTRIBUTORY/NONCONTRIBUTORY: Dependents insurance is contributory insurance. 
  

GUARANTEED ISSUE AMOUNT: Guaranteed issue is the maximum amount of insurance an eligible dependent 

can receive without evidence of insurability when first eligible under the plan 

provided enrollment is made within the enrollment period.  The amounts are as 

follows: 

  

 For employees with eligible dependents immediately prior to the effective date 

of this policy, the guaranteed issue amount is equal to the amount of dependents 

insurance for which they were insured under the prior group policy.  

  

 For employees who first become eligible for dependents insurance after the 

effective date of this policy, the guaranteed issue amount is as follows: 

  For Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner  

Insurance:  $30,000 

  For Supplemental Child Insurance:  $10,000* 

  

 *  As an exception, evidence of insurability is never required of a child 

regardless of when application is made (new hire, family status change, or 

annual enrollment.) 

 

EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY: Evidence of insurability is required as stated in the policy and for an amount of 

insurance greater than the guaranteed issue amount. 

  

EFFECT OF EMPLOYEE’S RETIREMENT: All dependents insurance terminates upon the employee’s retirement except as 

provided under the portability provision. 
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ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 
  

WAIVER OF PREMIUM APPLICATION: Applies to contributory and noncontributory employee insurance.  

 

ELECTION CHANGES:   Election changes can be made at any time, except child life changes are limited 

to annual enrollment or within 31 days of a Family Status Change. 

 

An employee may make the following changes to his or her elections at annual 

open enrollment or within 31 days of a Family Status Change without providing 

any evidence of insurability: 

 

1. Any reduction or termination of coverage. 

2. Any election for child life insurance. 

3. For changes due to a Family Status Change:  Any increase in 

Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D insurance that does not exceed 

the guaranteed issue of $150,000, including enrolling in Supplemental 

Employee Life/AD&D for the first time for up to $150,000.   

4. For changes due to a Family Status Change:  Any increase in 

Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner insurance that does not 

exceed the guaranteed issue of $30,000, including enrolling in 

Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/AD&D for the first time for 

up to $30,000.   

5. For changes at Annual Enrollment: Employees currently participating 

in Employee Supplemental Life may increase their coverage by up to 

five increments of $10,000, subject to the guaranteed issue limit of 

$150,000. Election changes will be effective July 1 following the 

Annual Enrollment.  

6. During the 2022 Annual Enrollment employees not currently 

participating in Employee Supplemental Life may elect coverage by up 

to five increments of $10,000 without providing evidence of 

insurability.  

 

Any amount requested above these amounts or any change requested outside of 

these events shall require evidence of insurability and will not be effective 

unless and until the evidence is approved by Minnesota Life. 

  

Family Status Change means: 

• Birth or adoption or otherwise acquiring a newly eligible child 

• Death of a spouse/civil union partner 

• Marriage 

• Establishment of a civil union partnership 

• Changes in employment status and result in a loss of employer 

sponsored life insurance coverage 

 

SPECIAL MARRIED EMPLOYEES RULES: • If an employee is insured for Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union 

Partner/AD&D coverage and that spouse/civil union partner coverage 

terminates, the employee can apply for Supplemental Employee 

Life/AD&D on a guaranteed issue basis equal to the amount he or she 

had as a spouse/civil union partner.  The request for new Supplemental 

Employee Life/AD&D coverage must be made within 31 days of the 

date that the Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner coverage ends. 

• If an employee has Supplement Employee Life/AD&D and 

Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/AD&D coverage, and the 

spouse/civil union partner becomes a State employee, then the spouse/ 

civil union partner may receive an amount of Supplemental Employee 

Life/AD&D coverage, on a guaranteed issue basis, equal to the amount 

he or she had as a spouse/civil union partner, but not less than 

$100,000 and not to exceed $250,000.  The request for new 

Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage must be made within 31 

days of the date that the Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner 

coverage ends. 



 

F.70944 F 

 

• If two State employees are married, or have established a civil union 

partnership and both have Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D 

coverage, and one employee terminates employment with the State and 

loses their Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage, then the 

other remaining employee may add Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union 

Partner coverage, on a guarantee issue basis, up to an amount not to 

exceed the lesser of: 

▪ the amount that was in place as Supplemental Employee 

Life/AD&D coverage for the terminated employee;  

▪ 50% of the remaining employee’s amount of coverage; 

and 

▪   $250,000.  

 
 The request for new Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/AD&D coverage 

must be made within 31 days of the date that the employee coverage ends. 
  
  

RIDER(S) TO THE GROUP POLICY  

Accidental Death and Dismemberment  

Dependents Term Life  

Portability  

Waiver of Premium  

Accelerated Benefits  
 



33780/6   Policy Amendment                                                  Minnesota Life 1 
 

Group Term Life Policy Amendment #6 
 
Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company 
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098 
 
 
To be attached to and made a part of Group Policy No. 33780 issued by Minnesota Life Insurance Company to State of 
Colorado. This amendment is effective as of March 24, 2022.  Continued payment of premiums shall constitute 
acceptance of the conditions stated in this amendment.  The following changes are made to the policy: 
 

1) The guaranteed issue amount for Employee Supplemental Life is increased from $100,000 to $150,000. 
 

2) Language is added to allow employees currently participating in Employee Supplemental Life to increase 
Employee Supplemental Life insurance, by up to five increments of $10,000, at Annual Enrollment. This 
language is found on the Policy Specifications page under “Election Changes” and will read as follows:  

 

 
 

3) A one-time open enrollment opportunity is added to the policy. This language is found on the Policy 
Specifications page under “Election Changes” and will read as follows: 

 

 
 

 
 
 
 
As a result of this change, the Group Policy Specifications Page is replaced with the attached Group Policy Specifications 
Page effective March 24, 2022. 
   

 
Agreed to by Minnesota Life Insurance Company this 27th day of June, 2022.   
 
  
 
    
        By ___________________________________ 

            DV 
    Vice President and Actuary 
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                  GROUP POLICY SPECIFICATIONS PAGE  
GENERAL INFORMATION 
  

POLICYHOLDER: 
 

State of Colorado 
 

POLICY NO.:  33780-G 

ASSOCIATED COMPANIES: 
 

All subsidiaries and affiliates reported to Minnesota Life by the policyholder for 
inclusion in the policy. 
 

POLICY EFFECTIVE DATE: 
 

July 1, 2014. This Specification Page represents the plan in effect as of March 24, 
2022. 
 
Minnesota Life Insurance Company has issued Group Policy Number 33780-G to the 
State of Colorado effective as of July 1, 2014 as a replacement for an earlier policy 
containing the same number.  
 
In no case shall Minnesota Life Insurance Company be liable under both policies. 
 

POLICY ANNIVERSARY DATE: 
 

July 1 of each year beginning July 1, 2015. 
 

PREMIUM DUE DATE(S): 
 

The first day of each month.  Minnesota Life and the policyholder agree that 
premiums can be paid no later than the 45th day following the premium due date. 
 

GROUP: 
 
 
 

This group is composed of all eligible employees as defined by Colorado State Statute.  
Permanent part-time employees are included in this definition.  Eligible employee is 
defined as:  Employee means any officer or employee under the state personnel system 
of the state of Colorado whose salary is paid by state funds or any employee of the 
department of education, the Colorado commission on higher education, or the 
Colorado school for the deaf and the blind whose salary is paid by state funds, or any 
member of the military employed pursuant to section 28-3-904 C.R.S.  Employee 
includes any officer or employee of the legislative or judicial branch, any elected or 
appointed state official or employee who receives compensation other than expense 
reimbursement from the state funds, any elected state official who does not receive 
compensation other than expense reimbursement from state funds, and includes any 
member of the board of assessment appeals.  Employee does not include persons 
employed on a temporary basis; except that it shall include a member of the military 
employed pursuant to section 28-3-904 C.R.S. for more than 30 consecutive days. 
 
Employee does not include an employee insured under the University of Colorado 
group life insurance plan or a full-time member of the armed forces of any country. 
 

ENROLLMENT PERIOD: 
 
 

Not applicable for noncontributory insurance.  
 
For contributory insurance: 
 
For employees who are newly eligible, the enrollment period is equal to 31 days from 
the date the person meets the definition of group. 
 
For employees who first become eligible for dependent insurance after the newly 
eligible enrollment period, the enrollment period for dependent life is 31 days from the 
first day of eligibility. 
 

WAITING PERIOD: The period commencing with the date a person meets the definition of “GROUP” 
above and ending with the first day of the month next following that date. 
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PLAN OF INSURANCE 

 
EMPLOYEE BENEFIT SCHEDULE 

 
EMPLOYEE TERM LIFE INSURANCE: 
 

 

Basic Life Insurance 
 

 

 Eligible Class Amount of Basic Life Insurance 
   
 All employees One times annual regular pay, rounded to the next higher $1,000, if not already 

a multiple thereof, subject to a minimum benefit of $50,000 and maximum 
benefit of $250,000. 

 
Supplemental Employee Life Insurance 
 
 Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Employee Life Insurance 
   

 All employees An amount elected by the employee, in an increment of $10,000, subject to a 
minimum of $10,000 and a maximum of $500,000. 

 
BASIC LIFE INSURANCE ADDITIONAL BENEFIT: 
  

Basic Life Insurance Repatriation Benefit 
 
 Eligible Class Amount of Insurance 
   

 All employees If a death benefit becomes payable for an insured under this policy we will pay 
an additional benefit to reimburse the person who incurs the transportation 
expenses to transport the insured’s body to a mortuary near his or her primary 
residence, but not to exceed the lesser of $5,000 or 10% of the basic life 
insurance, if the insured dies more than 200 miles from his or her primary place 
of residence. 

 
EMPLOYEE ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE: 
 
Basic and Supplemental Insurance  
  
 Eligible Class Amount of Basic and Supplemental Employee AD&D Insurance 
   

 All employees An amount equal to the amount of Basic and Supplemental Employee Life 
Insurance for which the employee is insured under the group policy. 

 
GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR EMPLOYEE INSURANCE 

 
RETIREMENT REDUCTIONS: All insurance terminates at retirement, except as provided for under the 

portability provision.  
  

CONTRIBUTORY/NONCONTRIBUTORY: Basic insurance is noncontributory insurance; supplemental employee insurance 
is contributory insurance. 

  

GUARANTEED ISSUE AMOUNT: Guaranteed issue is the maximum amount of insurance an employee can receive 
without evidence of insurability when first eligible under the plan provided 
enrollment is made within the enrollment period.  The amounts are as follows: 

  
 For basic insurance: 
  All basic insurance is guaranteed issue. 
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 For supplemental employee insurance: 
  For employees in an eligible class immediately prior to the effective date 

of the group policy:  
   An amount equal to the amount of contributory insurance for which 

the employee was insured under the prior carrier’s group policy on 
the day immediately preceding the effective date of this policy.  

  For employees who first become eligible after the effective date of this 
policy:  

  $150,000 
  

EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY: Evidence of insurability is required as stated in the policy and for an amount of 
insurance greater than the guaranteed issue amount. 
 

EFFECTIVE DATE OF INCREASES AND 
DECREASES DUE TO CHANGE IN 
REGULAR PAY 

Increases and decreases due to a change in regular pay will become effective the 
date of the change in regular pay. For purposes of insurance under this policy, 
the date of the change in regular pay means the date the payroll system is 
updated. Evidence of insurability will not be required for an increase in 
insurance due solely to an increase in regular pay. All increases are subject to 
the actively at work requirement.  
 

DEPENDENTS BENEFIT SCHEDULE 
 
DEPENDENTS TERM LIFE INSURANCE: 
An employee must be approved for Supplemental Employee Life and matching accidental death and dismemberment coverage under 
this plan to be eligible to elect Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner and Supplemental Child Life and matching accidental death 
and dismemberment coverage.   
 
Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner Life Insurance 
 
 Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner Life Insurance 
   

 All employees An amount elected by the employee, in an increment of $10,000, subject to a  
minimum of $10,000 and subject to a maximum of the lesser of 50% of the 
employee’s supplemental amount of insurance or $250,000. 

  

Supplemental Child Life Insurance 
 
 Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Child Life Insurance 
   

 All employees $5,000 or $10,000, as elected by the employee.  Supplemental child coverage 
cannot exceed 50% of the Employee’s Supplemental amount of insurance. 

   
DEPENDENTS ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE: 
 
Spouse/Civil Union Partner and Child AD&D Insurance 
  

 Eligible Class Amount of Spouse/Civil Union Partner and Child AD&D Insurance 
   
 All employees An amount equal to the amount of Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner 

and Child Life insurance for which the spouse/civil union partner and/or child 
are insured under the group policy. 
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GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR DEPENDENTS INSURANCE 

 
GRANDFATHERED COVERAGE: 
 

There is a group of grandfathered employees who were able to elect coverage 
on his or her spouse and/or children without electing Supplemental Employee 
Life/AD&D coverage.  The coverage for this group that is currently in place 
was elected prior to January 1, 2003.  The list of this closed grandfathered group 
is on file and of record with the policyholder and Minnesota Life. 
 
There is a group of grandfathered employees in which the spouse coverage 
maximum of “the lessor of 50% of the employee’s supplemental amount of 
insurance or $150,000” does not apply.  The coverage for this group that is 
currently in place was elected prior to January 1, 2003 and their coverage 
amounts are outside of the current plan parameters.  The list of this closed 
grandfathered group is on file and of record with the policyholder and 
Minnesota Life. 
 
If an employee has Supplement Employee Life/AD&D and Supplemental 
Spouse/Civil Union Partner/AD&D coverage, and the spouse/civil union partner 
becomes a State employee, then the spouse/civil union partner may receive an 
amount of Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage, on a guarantee issue 
basis, equal to the amount he/she had as a spouse/civil union partner.  The 
request for new Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage must be made 
within 31 days of the date that the spouse/civil union partner coverage ends.  

  

CONTINUED DEPENDENTS INSURANCE 
UPON THE DEATH OF THE EMPLOYEE: 

Notwithstanding anything in the policy to the contrary, any dependents term life 
and accidental death and dismemberment insurance that is in force at the time of 
an employee’s death shall remain in force for five months from the date of the 
employee’s death, with no further premium payment required. 

 
CONTRIBUTORY/NONCONTRIBUTORY: Dependents insurance is contributory insurance. 
  
GUARANTEED ISSUE AMOUNT: Guaranteed issue is the maximum amount of insurance an eligible dependent 

can receive without evidence of insurability when first eligible under the plan 
provided enrollment is made within the enrollment period.  The amounts are as 
follows: 

  
 For employees with eligible dependents immediately prior to the effective date 

of this policy, the guaranteed issue amount is equal to the amount of dependents 
insurance for which they were insured under the prior group policy.  

  
 For employees who first become eligible for dependents insurance after the 

effective date of this policy, the guaranteed issue amount is as follows: 
  For Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner  

Insurance:  $30,000 
  For Supplemental Child Insurance:  $10,000* 
  
 *  As an exception, evidence of insurability is never required of a child 

regardless of when application is made (new hire, family status change, or 
annual enrollment.) 

 
EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY: Evidence of insurability is required as stated in the policy and for an amount of 

insurance greater than the guaranteed issue amount. 
  

EFFECT OF EMPLOYEE’S RETIREMENT: All dependents insurance terminates upon the employee’s retirement except as 
provided under the portability provision. 
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ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

WAIVER OF PREMIUM APPLICATION: Applies to contributory and noncontributory employee insurance. 

ELECTION CHANGES:   Election changes can be made at any time, except child life changes are limited 
to annual enrollment or within 31 days of a Family Status Change. 

An employee may make the following changes to his or her elections at annual 
open enrollment or within 31 days of a Family Status Change without providing 
any evidence of insurability: 

1. Any reduction or termination of coverage.
2. Any election for child life insurance.
3. For changes due to a Family Status Change:  Any increase in

Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D insurance that does not exceed
the guaranteed issue of $150,000, including enrolling in Supplemental
Employee Life/AD&D for the first time for up to $150,000.

4. For changes due to a Family Status Change:  Any increase in
Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner insurance that does not
exceed the guaranteed issue of $30,000, including enrolling in
Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/AD&D for the first time for
up to $30,000.

5. For changes at Annual Enrollment: Employees currently participating
in Employee Supplemental Life may increase their coverage by up to
five increments of $10,000, subject to the guaranteed issue limit of
$150,000. Election changes will be effective July 1 following the
Annual Enrollment.

6. During the 2022 Annual Enrollment employees not currently
participating in Employee Supplemental Life may elect coverage by up
to five increments of $10,000 without providing evidence of
insurability.

Any amount requested above these amounts or any change requested outside of 
these events shall require evidence of insurability and will not be effective 
unless and until the evidence is approved by Minnesota Life. 

Family Status Change means: 
• Birth or adoption or otherwise acquiring a newly eligible child
• Death of a spouse/civil union partner
• Marriage
• Establishment of a civil union partnership

SPECIAL MARRIED EMPLOYEES RULES: • If an employee is insured for Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union
Partner/AD&D coverage and that spouse/civil union partner coverage
terminates, the employee can apply for Supplemental Employee
Life/AD&D on a guaranteed issue basis equal to the amount he or she
had as a spouse/civil union partner.  The request for new Supplemental
Employee Life/AD&D coverage must be made within 31 days of the
date that the Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner coverage ends.

• If an employee has Supplement Employee Life/AD&D and
Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/AD&D coverage, and the
spouse/civil union partner becomes a State employee, then the spouse/
civil union partner may receive an amount of Supplemental Employee
Life/AD&D coverage, on a guaranteed issue basis, equal to the amount
he or she had as a spouse/civil union partner, but not less than
$100,000 and not to exceed $250,000.  The request for new
Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage must be made within 31
days of the date that the Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner
coverage ends.

• If two State employees are married, or have established a civil union
partnership and both have Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D
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coverage, and one employee terminates employment with the State and 
loses their Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage, then the 
other remaining employee may add Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union 
Partner coverage, on a guarantee issue basis, up to an amount not to 
exceed the lesser of: 

 the amount that was in place as Supplemental Employee 
Life/AD&D coverage for the terminated employee;  

 50% of the remaining employee’s amount of coverage; 
and 

   $250,000.  
 

 The request for new Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/AD&D coverage 
must be made within 31 days of the date that the employee coverage ends. 

  
  
RIDER(S) TO THE GROUP POLICY  
Accidental Death and Dismemberment  
Dependents Term Life  
Portability  
Waiver of Premium  
Accelerated Benefits  
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Group Term Life Policy Amendment #5 
 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company 
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098 
 

 
To be attached to and made a part of Group Policy No. 33780-G issued by Minnesota Life Insurance Company to State of 
Colorado.  This amendment is effective as of January 1, 2021.  Continued payment of premiums shall constitute 
acceptance of the conditions stated in this amendment.   
 

 
 
 

Coverage for domestic partners is removed from the policy with no grandfathering of existing domestic 
partner coverage.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
As a result of this change, the Group Policy Specifications Page is replaced with the attached Group Policy Specifications 
Page effective January 1, 2021. 
   

 
Agreed to by Minnesota Life Insurance Company this 4th day of March 2021.   
 
  
 
    
        By ___________________________________ 

            PAM 
    Vice President and Actuary 
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                  GROUP POLICY SPECIFICATIONS PAGE  
GENERAL INFORMATION 
  

POLICYHOLDER: 
 

State of Colorado 
 

POLICY NO.:  33780-G 

ASSOCIATED COMPANIES: 
 

All subsidiaries and affiliates reported to Minnesota Life by the policyholder for 
inclusion in the policy. 
 

POLICY EFFECTIVE DATE: 
 

July 1, 2014. This Specification Page represents the plan in effect as of January 1, 
2021.  
 
Minnesota Life Insurance Company has issued Group Policy Number 33780-G to the 
State of Colorado effective as of July 1, 2014 as a replacement for an earlier policy 
containing the same number.  
 
In no case shall Minnesota Life Insurance Company be liable under both policies. 
 

POLICY ANNIVERSARY DATE: 
 

July 1 of each year beginning July 1, 2015. 
 

PREMIUM DUE DATE(S): 
 

The first day of each month.  Minnesota Life and the policyholder agree that 
premiums can be paid no later than the 45th day following the premium due date. 
 

GROUP: 
 
 
 

This group is composed of all eligible employees as defined by Colorado State Statute.  
Permanent part-time employees are included in this definition.  Eligible employee is 
defined as:  Employee means any officer or employee under the state personnel system 
of the state of Colorado whose salary is paid by state funds or any employee of the 
department of education, the Colorado commission on higher education, or the 
Colorado school for the deaf and the blind whose salary is paid by state funds, or any 
member of the military employed pursuant to section 28-3-904 C.R.S.  Employee 
includes any officer or employee of the legislative or judicial branch, any elected or 
appointed state official or employee who receives compensation other than expense 
reimbursement from the state funds, any elected state official who does not receive 
compensation other than expense reimbursement from state funds, and includes any 
member of the board of assessment appeals.  Employee does not include persons 
employed on a temporary basis; except that it shall include a member of the military 
employed pursuant to section 28-3-904 C.R.S. for more than 30 consecutive days. 
 
Employee does not include an employee insured under the University of Colorado 
group life insurance plan or a full-time member of the armed forces of any country. 
 

ENROLLMENT PERIOD: 
 
 

Not applicable for noncontributory insurance.  
 
For contributory insurance: 
 
For employees who are newly eligible, the enrollment period is equal to 31 days from 
the date the person meets the definition of group. 
 
For employees who first become eligible for dependent insurance after the newly 
eligible enrollment period, the enrollment period for dependent life is 31 days from the 
first day of eligibility. 
 

WAITING PERIOD: The period commencing with the date a person meets the definition of “GROUP” 
above and ending with the first day of the month next following that date. 
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PLAN OF INSURANCE 

 
EMPLOYEE BENEFIT SCHEDULE 

 
EMPLOYEE TERM LIFE INSURANCE: 
 

 

Basic Life Insurance 
 

 

 Eligible Class Amount of Basic Life Insurance 
   
 All employees One times annual regular pay, rounded to the next higher $1,000, if not already 

a multiple thereof, subject to a minimum benefit of $50,000 and maximum 
benefit of $250,000. 

 
Supplemental Employee Life Insurance 
 
 Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Employee Life Insurance 
   

 All employees An amount elected by the employee, in an increment of $10,000, subject to a 
minimum of $10,000 and a maximum of $500,000. 

 
BASIC LIFE INSURANCE ADDITIONAL BENEFIT: 
  

Basic Life Insurance Repatriation Benefit 
 
 Eligible Class Amount of Insurance 
   

 All employees If a death benefit becomes payable for an insured under this policy we will pay 
an additional benefit to reimburse the person who incurs the transportation 
expenses to transport the insured’s body to a mortuary near his or her primary 
residence, but not to exceed the lesser of $5,000 or 10% of the basic life 
insurance, if the insured dies more than 200 miles from his or her primary place 
of residence. 

 
EMPLOYEE ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE: 
 
Basic and Supplemental Insurance  
  
 Eligible Class Amount of Basic and Supplemental Employee AD&D Insurance 
   

 All employees An amount equal to the amount of Basic and Supplemental Employee Life 
Insurance for which the employee is insured under the group policy. 

 
GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR EMPLOYEE INSURANCE 

 
RETIREMENT REDUCTIONS: All insurance terminates at retirement, except as provided for under the 

portability provision.  
  

CONTRIBUTORY/NONCONTRIBUTORY: Basic insurance is noncontributory insurance; supplemental employee insurance 
is contributory insurance. 

  

GUARANTEED ISSUE AMOUNT: Guaranteed issue is the maximum amount of insurance an employee can receive 
without evidence of insurability when first eligible under the plan provided 
enrollment is made within the enrollment period.  The amounts are as follows: 

  
 For basic insurance: 
  All basic insurance is guaranteed issue. 
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 For supplemental employee insurance: 
  For employees in an eligible class immediately prior to the effective date 

of the group policy:  
   An amount equal to the amount of contributory insurance for which 

the employee was insured under the prior carrier’s group policy on 
the day immediately preceding the effective date of this policy.  

  For employees who first become eligible after the effective date of this 
policy:  

  $100,000. 
  

EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY: Evidence of insurability is required as stated in the policy and for an amount of 
insurance greater than the guaranteed issue amount. 
 

EFFECTIVE DATE OF INCREASES AND 
DECREASES DUE TO CHANGE IN 
REGULAR PAY 

Increases and decreases due to a change in regular pay will become effective the 
date of the change in regular pay. For purposes of insurance under this policy, 
the date of the change in regular pay means the date the payroll system is 
updated. Evidence of insurability will not be required for an increase in 
insurance due solely to an increase in regular pay. All increases are subject to 
the actively at work requirement.  
 

DEPENDENTS BENEFIT SCHEDULE 
 
DEPENDENTS TERM LIFE INSURANCE: 
An employee must be approved for Supplemental Employee Life and matching accidental death and dismemberment coverage under 
this plan to be eligible to elect Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner and Supplemental Child Life and matching accidental death 
and dismemberment coverage.   
 
Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner Life Insurance 
 
 Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner Life Insurance 
   

 All employees An amount elected by the employee, in an increment of $10,000, subject to a  
minimum of $10,000 and subject to a maximum of the lesser of 50% of the 
employee’s supplemental amount of insurance or $250,000. 

  

Supplemental Child Life Insurance 
 
 Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Child Life Insurance 
   

 All employees $5,000 or $10,000, as elected by the employee.  Supplemental child coverage 
cannot exceed 50% of the Employee’s Supplemental amount of insurance. 

   
DEPENDENTS ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE: 
 
Spouse/Civil Union Partner and Child AD&D Insurance 
  

 Eligible Class Amount of Spouse/Civil Union Partner and Child AD&D Insurance 
   
 All employees An amount equal to the amount of Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner 

and Child Life insurance for which the spouse/civil union partner and/or child 
are insured under the group policy. 
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GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR DEPENDENTS INSURANCE 

 
GRANDFATHERED COVERAGE: 
 

There is a group of grandfathered employees who were able to elect coverage 
on his or her spouse and/or children without electing Supplemental Employee 
Life/AD&D coverage.  The coverage for this group that is currently in place 
was elected prior to January 1, 2003.  The list of this closed grandfathered group 
is on file and of record with the policyholder and Minnesota Life. 
 
There is a group of grandfathered employees in which the spouse coverage 
maximum of “the lessor of 50% of the employee’s supplemental amount of 
insurance or $150,000” does not apply.  The coverage for this group that is 
currently in place was elected prior to January 1, 2003 and their coverage 
amounts are outside of the current plan parameters.  The list of this closed 
grandfathered group is on file and of record with the policyholder and 
Minnesota Life. 
 
If an employee has Supplement Employee Life/AD&D and Supplemental 
Spouse/Civil Union Partner/AD&D coverage, and the spouse/civil union partner 
becomes a State employee, then the spouse/civil union partner may receive an 
amount of Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage, on a guarantee issue 
basis, equal to the amount he/she had as a spouse/civil union partner.  The 
request for new Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage must be made 
within 31 days of the date that the spouse/civil union partner coverage ends.  

  

CONTINUED DEPENDENTS INSURANCE 
UPON THE DEATH OF THE EMPLOYEE: 

Notwithstanding anything in the policy to the contrary, any dependents term life 
and accidental death and dismemberment insurance that is in force at the time of 
an employee’s death shall remain in force for five months from the date of the 
employee’s death, with no further premium payment required. 

 
CONTRIBUTORY/NONCONTRIBUTORY: Dependents insurance is contributory insurance. 
  
GUARANTEED ISSUE AMOUNT: Guaranteed issue is the maximum amount of insurance an eligible dependent 

can receive without evidence of insurability when first eligible under the plan 
provided enrollment is made within the enrollment period.  The amounts are as 
follows: 

  
 For employees with eligible dependents immediately prior to the effective date 

of this policy, the guaranteed issue amount is equal to the amount of dependents 
insurance for which they were insured under the prior group policy.  

  
 For employees who first become eligible for dependents insurance after the 

effective date of this policy, the guaranteed issue amount is as follows: 
  For Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner  

Insurance:  $30,000 
  For Supplemental Child Insurance:  $10,000* 
  
 *  As an exception, evidence of insurability is never required of a child 

regardless of when application is made (new hire, family status change, or 
annual enrollment.) 

 
EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY: Evidence of insurability is required as stated in the policy and for an amount of 

insurance greater than the guaranteed issue amount. 
  

EFFECT OF EMPLOYEE’S RETIREMENT: All dependents insurance terminates upon the employee’s retirement except as 
provided under the portability provision. 
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ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 
  
WAIVER OF PREMIUM APPLICATION: Applies to contributory and noncontributory employee insurance.  
 
ELECTION CHANGES:   Election changes can be made at any time, except child life changes are limited 

to annual enrollment or within 31 days of a Family Status Change. 
 
An employee may make changes to his or her elections at annual open 
enrollment or within 31 days of a Family Status Change without providing any 
evidence of insurability: 
 

1. Any reduction or termination of coverage. 
2. Any election for child life insurance. 
3. For changes due to a Family Status Change:  Any increase in 

Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D insurance that does not exceed 
the guaranteed issue of $100,000, including enrolling in Supplemental 
Employee Life/AD&D for the first time for up to $100,000.   

4. For changes due to a Family Status Change:  Any increase in 
Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner insurance that does not 
exceed the guaranteed issue of $30,000, including enrolling in 
Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/AD&D for the first time for 
up to $30,000.   

 
Any amount requested above these amounts or any change requested outside of 
these events shall require evidence of insurability and will not be effective 
unless and until the evidence is approved by Minnesota Life. 
  
Family Status Change means: 

• Birth or adoption or otherwise acquiring a newly eligible child 
• Death of a spouse/civil union partner 
• Marriage 
• Establishment of a civil union partnership 

 
SPECIAL MARRIED EMPLOYEES RULES: • If an employee is insured for Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union 

Partner/AD&D coverage and that spouse/civil union partner coverage 
terminates, the employee can apply for Supplemental Employee 
Life/AD&D on a guaranteed issue basis equal to the amount he or she 
had as a spouse/civil union partner.  The request for new Supplemental 
Employee Life/AD&D coverage must be made within 31 days of the 
date that the Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner coverage ends. 

• If an employee has Supplement Employee Life/AD&D and 
Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/AD&D coverage, and the 
spouse/civil union partner becomes a State employee, then the spouse/ 
civil union partner may receive an amount of Supplemental Employee 
Life/AD&D coverage, on a guaranteed issue basis, equal to the amount 
he or she had as a spouse/civil union partner, but not less than 
$100,000 and not to exceed $250,000.  The request for new 
Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage must be made within 31 
days of the date that the Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner 
coverage ends. 
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• If two State employees are married, or have established a civil union 
partnership and both have Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D 
coverage, and one employee terminates employment with the State and 
loses their Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage, then the 
other remaining employee may add Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union 
Partner coverage, on a guarantee issue basis, up to an amount not to 
exceed the lesser of: 

 the amount that was in place as Supplemental Employee 
Life/AD&D coverage for the terminated employee;  

 50% of the remaining employee’s amount of coverage; 
and 

   $250,000.  
 

 The request for new Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/AD&D coverage 
must be made within 31 days of the date that the employee coverage ends. 

  
  
RIDER(S) TO THE GROUP POLICY  
Accidental Death and Dismemberment  
Dependents Term Life  
Portability  
Waiver of Premium  
Accelerated Benefits  
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Accidental Death and Dismemberment 
Policy Rider 
 
Minnesota Life Insurance Company, a Securian Financial Group affiliate 
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098 
 

General Information 

This rider is issued in consideration of the required 
premium and amends the group policy to which it is 
attached.  This rider is subject to every term, condition, 
exclusion, limitation, and provision of the group policy 
unless otherwise expressly provided for herein.   

What does this rider provide? 

This rider provides accidental death and dismemberment 
coverage subject to all terms, conditions, and exclusions 
herein. 

Who is eligible for insurance under this rider?  

An employee or dependent who is insured under the 
provisions applicable to life insurance coverage under the 
group policy is eligible for insurance under this rider.  All 
references to an insured in this rider shall include 
dependents.  All provisions of this rider applicable to an 
“insured” shall apply to an insured dependent. 

When does insurance under this rider become 
effective?  

Insurance becomes effective on the date that the 
employee or dependent becomes insured for life 
insurance under the group policy.  

Accidental Death and Dismemberment 
(AD&D) Benefit  

What does accidental death or dismemberment by 
accidental injury mean? 

Accidental death or dismemberment by accidental injury 
as used in this rider means that the insured’s death or 
dismemberment results, directly and independently of all 
other causes, from an accidental bodily injury which is 
unintended, unexpected, and unforeseen.  The bodily 
injury must be evidenced by a visible contusion or wound, 
except in the case of accidental drowning.  The bodily 
injury must be the sole cause of death or dismemberment.  

The injury must occur while the insured’s coverage under 
this rider is in force.  The insured’s death or 
dismemberment must occur within 365 days after the date 
of the injury and while his or her coverage under this rider 
is in force.  

In no event will we pay the accidental death or 
dismemberment benefit where the insured’s death or 
dismemberment is caused directly or indirectly by, results 
from, or where there is a contribution from, any of the 
following:  

(1) self-inflicted injury or self destruction, whether 
sane or insane; or 

(2) suicide or attempted suicide, whether sane or 
insane; or 

(3) the insured’s participation in or attempt to commit a 
crime, assault, felony, or any illegal activity, 
regardless of any legal proceedings, or the 
absence of any legal proceedings, thereto; or 

(4) bodily or mental infirmity, illness or disease; or 
(5) the use of alcohol, drugs, medications, poisons, 

gases, fumes or other substances taken, absorbed, 
inhaled, ingested or injected, unless taken upon 
the advice of a licensed physician in the verifiable 
prescribed manner and dosage; or 

(6) motor vehicle collision or accident where the 
insured is the operator of the motor vehicle and this 
insured’s blood alcohol level meets or exceeds the 
level at which intoxication is defined in the state 
where the collision or accident occurred, 
regardless of any legal proceedings, or the 
absence of any legal proceedings, thereto; or 

(7) infection, other than infection occurring 
simultaneously with, and as a direct result of, the 
accidental injury; or 

(8) medical or surgical treatment or diagnostic 
procedures or any resulting complications; or 

(9) war or any act of war, whether declared or 
undeclared; or 

(10) service in the military of any nation. 
 

What is the amount of the accidental death and 
dismemberment benefit? 

The amount of the benefit shall be a percentage of the 
amount of insurance shown on the specifications page 
attached to the group policy.  The percentage is 
determined by the type of loss as shown in the following 
table:  

FOR LOSS OF AMOUNT OF BENEFIT 

Life .................................. Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Both Hands or Both Feet . Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Sight of Both Eyes ........... Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Speech and Hearing  
(In both ears) ................... Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
One Hand and One Foot.. Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
One Foot and Sight 
of One Eye ...................... Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
One Hand and Sight 
of One Eye ...................... Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Quadriplegia .................... Full Amount of AD&D Insurance  
Paraplegia .................. 50% of Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Sight of One Eye ........ 50% of Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Speech or Hearing 
(In both ears) .............. 50% of Amount of AD&D Insurance 
One Hand or 
One Foot .................... 50% of Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Hemiplegia ................. 50% of Amount of AD&D Insurance  
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Thumb and Index 
Finger of One Hand..... 25% of Amount of AD&D Insurance 
 
Loss of hands or feet means complete severance at or 
above the wrist or ankle joints.  Loss of sight, speech, or 
hearing in both ears means the entire and irrecoverable 
loss of sight, speech, or hearing in both ears which cannot 
be corrected by medical or surgical treatment or by 
artificial means.  Loss of thumb or finger means complete 
severance at or above the metacarpophalangeal joints 
(the joints closest to the palm of the hand).   

Quadriplegia means total and permanent paralysis of both 
upper limbs (from the shoulder down including total 
paralysis of both hands) and both lower limbs (from the 
waist down including total paralysis of both feet).  
Paraplegia means total and permanent paralysis of both 
lower limbs (from the waist down including total paralysis 
of both feet).  Hemiplegia means total and permanent 
paralysis of both the upper limb (from the shoulder down 
including total paralysis of the hand) and lower limb (from 
the waist down including total paralysis of the foot) on one 
side of the body.   

A benefit is not payable for both loss of one hand and the 
loss of thumb and index finger of one hand for injury to the 
same hand as a result of any one accident.  Under no 
circumstance will more than one payment be made for the 
loss or paralysis of the same limb, eye, finger, thumb, 
hand, foot, sight, speech, or hearing if one payment has 
already been made for that loss. 

Benefits may be paid for more than one accidental loss 
but the total amount of AD&D insurance payable under 
this rider for any one accident, not including any amount 
paid according to the terms of the Additional Benefits 
section of this rider, will never exceed the full amount of 
AD&D insurance shown on the specifications page 
attached to the group policy. 

When will the accidental death and dismemberment 
benefit be payable? 

We will pay the AD&D benefit upon receipt at our home 
office of written proof satisfactory to us that the insured 
died or suffered dismemberment as a result of an 
accidental injury.  All payments by us are payable from our 
home office.  The benefit will be paid in a single sum or by 
any other method agreeable to us and the beneficiary. 

To whom do we pay the benefit? 

In the case of a certificate holder’s accidental death, we 
will pay the accidental death benefit to the person or 
persons entitled to receive his or her death benefit under 
the terms of the group policy.  The benefit for other losses 
sustained by the certificate holder will be paid to the 
certificate holder, if living, otherwise to the person or 
persons entitled to receive the certificate holder’s death 
benefit under the terms of the group policy. 

 
A dependent’s AD&D benefit will be paid to the certificate 
holder, if living.  If the insured employee is not living, the 

death benefit payable under this rider will be paid in equal 
shares to the first surviving class of the classes below: 

(1) the children of the dependent, if living, otherwise; 
(2) the parents of the dependent, if living, otherwise; 
(3) the brothers and sisters of the dependent, if living, 

otherwise; 
(4) the insured employee’s estate. 
 

Additional Benefits  

Unless stated otherwise, additional benefits are payable to 
the same person or persons who receive the AD&D 
benefits.  Additional benefits are paid in addition to any 
AD&D benefits described in the Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment section, unless otherwise stated.  All 
provisions of this rider including but not limited to the “What 
does accidental death or dismemberment by accidental 
injury mean?” section shall apply to these additional 
benefits. 

Career Adjustment Benefit 

What is the career adjustment benefit? 

If an insured employee dies as a result of a covered 
accident for which an accidental death insurance benefit is 
payable and he or she is survived by his or her spouse/civil 
union partner, we will pay a career adjustment benefit to 
the surviving spouse/civil union partner, provided that the 
spouse/civil union partner within 36 months after the 
insured employee’s death, registers and is in attendance at 
a professional or trades training program for the purpose of 
obtaining employment or increasing his or her earnings. 

The benefit will be equal to the lesser of: 

(1) $5,000 per year; or 
(2) the actual tuition charges, exclusive of room and 

board; or 
(3) the cumulative total of $10,000 or 25% of the 

insured employee’s amount of accidental death 
insurance, whichever is less. 

 
Proof of such costs will be required before benefits are 
paid. 

Child Care Benefit 

What is the child care benefit? 

If an insured employee dies as a result of a covered 
accident and he or she is survived by his or her spouse/civil 
union partner and one or more dependent children under 
age 13, we will pay additional benefits to reimburse the 
surviving spouse/civil union partner for child care expenses 
they incur for the insured employee’s dependent children 
while under age 13.  

The benefit will be the lesser of: 

(1) $5,000 per year; or 
(2) actual incurred child care expenses; or 
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(3) the cumulative total of $10,000 or 25% of the 
insured employee’s amount of accidental death 
insurance, whichever is less. 

 
Child care expenses are those expenses which are for a 
service or supply furnished by a licensed child care 
provider or facility for a dependent child’s care who are not 
a member of the insured employee’s family.  No payment 
will be made for expenses incurred more than 36 months 
after the date of the insured employee’s death or for 
expenses incurred for dependent children over age 13.  
Proof of incurred child care expenses by the surviving 
spouse/civil union partner shall be required before any 
benefit payment is made.  The child care benefit will be 
paid to the surviving spouse/civil union partner.  

Dependent Child Education Benefit 

What is the dependent child education benefit? 

We will pay an education benefit on behalf of the insured 
employee’s dependent children if an insured employee 
dies as a result of a covered accident and is survived by 
one or more dependent children, provided that: 

(1) at the time of the insured employee’s death, the 
dependent child is enrolled as a full-time student 
at an accredited post-secondary educational 
institution (however, no benefit will be payable for 
the current school year); or 

(2) the dependent child enrolls on a full-time basis in 
an accredited post-secondary educational 
institution within one year of the employee’s 
death. 

 
The benefit payable per child will be the lesser of: 

(1) $5,000 per year; or 
(2) the actual tuition charged, exclusive of room and 

board; or 
(3) the cumulative total of $20,000 or 25% of the 

insured employee’s amount of accidental death 
insurance, whichever is less. 

 
The benefit will be payable at the beginning of each 
school year for a maximum of four consecutive years.  
The benefit will be paid to the dependent child annually if 
he or she is of legal age.  If the dependent child is not of 
legal age the benefit will be paid annually to the person 
who provides proof they have paid or will pay the tuition 
bill for that school year.  Proof of enrollment and tuition 
costs are required for each school year. 

Seatbelt Benefit 

What is the seatbelt benefit? 

If an insured dies as a result of a covered accident which 
occurs while he or she is driving or riding in a private 
passenger car, we will pay an additional AD&D benefit 
equal to the lesser of: 

(1) $10,000; or 
(2) 100% of the insured’s amount of AD&D insurance.  
 

In order to be eligible for this benefit, the following must 
apply: 

(1) the private passenger car was equipped with 
seatbelts; and 

(2) a seatbelt was in proper use by the insured at the 
time of the accident as certified in the official 
accident report or by the investigating officer; and 

(3) at the time of the accident, the driver of the private 
passenger car was a licensed driver and was not 
intoxicated, impaired, or under the influence of 
alcohol or drugs.   

 
Seatbelt means a properly installed seatbelt (or child 
restraint if the insured is a child), lap and shoulder restraint, 
or other restraint approved by the National Highway Traffic 
Safety Administration or any successor governmental 
agency.  A private passenger car means a validly 
registered four-wheeled private passenger car or 
policyholder-owned car, jeep, pickup truck or van, including 
a sport utility vehicle (SUV), that is not licensed 
commercially or being used for racing, or acrobatic or stunt 
driving. 

Termination  

When does an insured’s coverage under this rider 
terminate? 

An insured’s coverage ends on the earliest of: 

(1) the date the certificate holder is no longer covered 
for life insurance under the group policy; or 

(2) for an insured dependent, the end of the month in 
which the dependent no longer meets the eligibility 
requirements; or  

(3) for an insured dependent, the date the dependent 
is no longer covered for life insurance under the 
group policy; or  

(4) 45 days (the grace period) after the due date of 
any premium contribution which is not paid. 

 
The certificate holder must notify us or the employer when 
he or she no longer has any dependents eligible for 
coverage under this benefit so that premiums may be 
discontinued.  All premiums paid for dependents who are 
no longer eligible for coverage under this benefit will be 
refunded without any payment of claim.  

When does this rider terminate? 

This rider will terminate on the earlier of:  

(1) the date we receive a written request from the 
policyholder to cancel this rider; or 

(2) the date the group policy is terminated. 
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Additional Information 

Do we have the right to obtain independent medical 
verification? 

Yes.  We retain the right to have an insured medically 
examined at our expense when and so often as we may 
reasonably require whenever a claim is pending and, 
where not forbidden by law, we reserve the right to have 
an autopsy performed in case of death. 

Can insurance under this rider be converted to a policy 
of individual insurance upon termination?  

No.  Coverage under this rider will not be included in any 
insurance issued under the conversion right section of the 
group policy. 

 
  
 
Secretary President 
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Dependents Term Life Insurance 
Policy Rider 
 
Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company 
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098 
 
 

General Information 

This rider is issued in consideration of the required 
premium and amends the group policy to which it is 
attached.  The rider is subject to every term, condition, 
exclusion, limitation, and provision of the group policy 
unless otherwise expressly provided for herein.  

What does this rider provide? 

This rider provides insurance on the lives of the insured 
employee’s eligible dependents. 

What members of the insured employee’s family are 
eligible for insurance under this rider? 

The following members of the insured employee’s family 
are eligible for insurance under this rider: 

The members of an insured employee’s family are 
considered his or her eligible dependents.  Eligible 
dependents are specified in statutes, primarily § 24-50-
603(5) and (6.5), C.R.S., as modified or further defined 
by other state statutes (e.g., Title 10) or federal 
regulations (e.g., Affordable Care Act [ACA], IRC on 
taxable income).   

 
A. Current spouse, including common law spouse.   

 
1. Spouse means a spouse as recognized 

under federal tax laws. 
 
2. Common law spouse means an adult, at 

least 18 years of age:   
a. with whom the employee cohabitates; 

and 
b. who represent themselves to the 

community as married to each other; 
and 

c. there is no legal impediment to the 
marriage. 

 
B. Current civil union partner who is an adult: 
 

1. eighteen years of age or older who is not 
under guardianship, unless the party under 
guardianship has the written consent of his 
or her guardian to enter into a civil union as 
created by Article 15 of Title 14, C.R.S.; and 

2. who has entered into a civil union in 
accordance with the requirements of Article 
15 of Title 14, C.R.S. or who has 
established a relationship legally entered 
into in other jurisdictions that are similar to 
civil unions created by Article 15 of Title 14,  

 
 
C.R.S. and that are not otherwise 
recognized pursuant to Colorado law; and 

3. who is of the opposite gender or same 
gender as the employee; and 

4. who is not a party to another civil union; and 
5. who is not married; and 
6. who is not a relative to the employee.  

Article 15 of Title 14, C.R.S. prohibits a 
person from entering into a civil union with 
an ancestor, descendant, brother, sister, 
uncle, aunt, niece or nephew, whether the 
relationship is by the half or the whole 
blood.   

 
C. A child from live birth (stillborn and unborn 

children are not eligible) until the end of the 
month he or she turns age 26.  The legal 
definition of child must be applied (e.g., first 
generation, parent-child relationship).  As of 
July 1, 2011, marital status, student status, 
financial support, and residency are no longer 
factors under the ACA. 
 
1. Biological or natural child. 
2. Legally adopted. 
3. Legally placed for adoption or foster care. 
4. Step child as long as the employee and 

parent are married. 
5. Child of a civil union partner. 
6. Child for whom the employee has a court 

order that specifies responsibility for health 
insurance coverage (legal custody or 
allocation of parental responsibility).  Note: 
a court has determined there is a parent-
child relationship for purposes of coverage. 

 
E. A disabled child must be: 

 
1. unmarried, 
2. medically certificated as disabled prior to 

the age of 26; and 
3. dependent upon employee or spouse/civil 

union partner for financial support; and 
4. proof of disability and dependency must be 

provided before becoming covered under 
the State’s life plan and annually, if 
requested; and 

5. newly hired employees will need to provide 
proof that the child’s disability began prior to 
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the child reaching age 26.  If a child of a 
newly hired employee or current employee 
becomes disabled after the child reaches 
age 26, the child is ineligible for coverage 
under the State's life plan. 

 
Exclusions 
Ex-spouses and their children, civil union ex-
partners and their children, parents, grandparents 
and grandchildren, siblings, aunts and uncles, 
nieces and nephews, cousins, and any other 
relatives or non-relatives in the household.  The 
only exception is when a court determines a 
qualified dependent relationship exists and issues 
an order specifying responsibility for coverage.   
 

If any spouse/civil union partner is insured as an eligible 
employee under the group policy for employee 
supplemental term life, he or she is not also eligible to be 
insured with dependent spouse/civil union partner 
supplemental term life coverage.  If any employee is 
insured as an eligible spouse/civil union partner under the 
group policy for spouse/civil union partner supplemental 
term life coverage, he or she is not also eligible to be 
insured as an employee for supplemental term life 
coverage. 

If both parents of a child qualify as eligible employees and 
they are legally married or have established a civil union 
partnership while covered under the group policy, the child 
shall be considered a dependent of only one parent for 
purposes of this supplement.  However, if both parents of 
a child qualify as eligible employees and have divorced, 
have been legally separated, have terminated their civil 
union partnership, while covered under the group policy, 
the child shall be considered a dependent of both parents 
for purposes of this supplement.  If any child qualifies as 
an eligible employee under the group policy and has 
supplemental employee life coverage, he or she is not 
eligible to be insured as a dependent child. 

Any dependent child who, subsequent to the effective date 
of the insured employee’s child life insurance, meets the 
requirements of this provision will become insured on the 
date he or she so qualifies. 
 
When will we require evidence of insurability? 

Evidence of insurability will be required if: 

(1) the specifications page attached to the group policy 
states that evidence of insurability is required; or 

(2) the insurance is contributory and the employee does 
not enroll for coverage under this rider within the 
enrollment period shown on the specifications page 
attached to the group policy; or 

(3) dependents insurance for which the employee 
previously enrolled did not go into effect or was 
terminated because the employee failed to make a 
required premium contribution; or 

(4) during a previous period of eligibility, the employee 
failed to submit evidence of insurability that was 

required for a dependent or that which was submitted 
was not satisfactory to us; or 

(5) the dependent is insured by an individual policy 
issued under the terms of the conversion right of this 
rider. 

 
When does insurance on a dependent become 
effective? 

Insurance on a dependent becomes effective on the date 
when all of the following conditions have been met: 

(1) the dependent meets all eligibility requirements; and 
(2) if required, the insured employee applies for 

dependents coverage on forms which are approved 
by us; and 

(3) we are satisfied with the dependent’s evidence of 
insurability, if we require evidence; and 

(4) we receive the required premium. 
 

Death Benefit 

What is the amount of life insurance on each insured 
dependent? 

The amount of life insurance on each insured dependent 
is shown on the specifications page attached to the group 
policy. 

To whom will we pay the death benefit? 

The death benefit payable under this rider will be paid to 
the insured employee if living.  If the insured employee is 
not living, the death benefit payable under this rider will be 
paid in equal shares to the first surviving class of the 
classes below: 

(1) the children of the dependent, if living, otherwise; 
(2) the parents of the dependent, if living, otherwise; 
(3) the brothers and sisters of the dependent, if living, 

otherwise; 
(4) the insured employee’s estate. 

 

Termination 

When does an insured dependent’s coverage under 
this rider terminate? 

An insured dependent’s coverage ends on the earliest of 
the following: 

(1) the end of the month in which the dependent no 
longer meets the eligibility requirements; or 

(2) 45 days (the grace period) after the due date of any 
premium contribution which is not paid; or 

(3) the last day for which premium contributions have 
been made following an employee’s written request 
that insurance on his or her eligible dependents be 
terminated; or 

(4) the date the employee is no longer covered under the 
group policy. 
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The employee must notify us or the employer when a 
dependent is no longer eligible for coverage under this 
rider so that premiums may be discontinued.  All 
premiums paid for dependents who are no longer eligible 
for coverage under this rider will be refunded without any 
payment of claim. 

When does this rider terminate? 

This rider will terminate on the earlier of: 

(1) the date we receive a written request to cancel this 
rider; or 

(2) the date the group policy is terminated. 
 

Additional Information 

What is the conversion right under this rider? 

If an insured dependent’s coverage under this rider 
terminates because he or she is no longer eligible, or 
because of the death of the insured employee, or because 
of termination or amendment of this rider, the insurance 
may be converted to a policy of individual insurance with 
Minnesota Life. 

Conversion may be requested by the insured employee, 
an insured dependent of legal capacity, or the insured 
dependent’s guardian, if applicable.  All other conditions 
and provisions of the conversion right section of the group 
policy to which this rider is attached will apply. 

Does any Waiver of Premium rider to the group policy 
apply to insured dependents? 

Yes.  If, due to the insured employee’s disability, his or her 
insurance is continued in force without further payment of 
premiums due to any Waiver of Premium rider to the 
group policy, any dependents insurance provided by this 
rider shall also continue in force without further payment of 
premiums until the dependent’s eligibility terminates or 
until the insured employee’s insurance is no longer 
continued in force due to any such rider to the group 
policy. 

This provision is not applicable if the dependent’s 
insurance has been converted under the conversion right 
section of this rider, unless the converted policy is 
surrendered without claim except for refund of premiums. 

 

 

Secretary President 
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Term Life Insurance Portability 
Policy Rider 
 
Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company 
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098 
 
 

General Information 

This rider is issued in consideration of the required 
premium and amends the group policy to which it is 
attached.  This rider is subject to every term, condition, 
exclusion, limitation and provision of the group policy 
unless otherwise expressly provided for herein. 

What does this rider provide? 

This rider provides for continuation of group life insurance 
for insureds who no longer meet the eligibility 
requirements of the group policy except as provided for 
herein. 

To continue coverage under the provisions of this rider, an 
eligible insured must make a written request and make the 
first premium contribution within 31 days after insurance 
provided by the group policy would otherwise terminate.  
Evidence of insurability will not be required.  Coverage 
provided by this rider will then be deemed effective 
retroactive to the beginning of the 31-day period.  This 
date is considered to be the insured’s portability date and 
the insured is then considered to have portability status. 

Who is eligible to continue insurance under this rider? 

A certificate holder is eligible to continue insurance under 
this rider if he or she, except as provided by this rider, no 
longer meets the eligibility requirements of the group 
policy due to any of the following: 

(1) the employee terminates employment, including 
retirement; or 

(2) the employee is no longer in a class eligible for 
insurance or is on a leave or layoff; or 

(3) a class or group of employees insured under the 
policy is no longer considered eligible and there is 
no successor plan for that class or group.  
Successor plan means an insurance policy or 
policies provided by us or another insurer that 
replaces insurance provided under this policy. 

 
The certificate holder will not be eligible to request 
coverage under this rider if he or she: 

(1) has attained the age of 70; or 
(2) has converted his or her insurance to an individual 

life policy under the terms of the group policy’s 
conversion right section; or 

(3) was not actively at work due to sickness or injury 
on the day immediately preceding his or her 
portability date; or 

(4) loses eligibility due to termination of the group 
policy. 

 
What insurance can be continued under this rider? 

Both non-contributory and contributory insurance may be 
continued under this rider.  If the certificate holder elects 
to continue his or her own coverage according to the 
provisions of this rider, he or she may also elect to 
continue contributory insurance for any other individual 
insured under his or her certificate.  The certificate holder 
may also continue coverage under all supplements to 
such certificate which apply to both non-contributory and 
contributory insurance and by which he or she was 
insured immediately preceding his or her portability date, 
except for the Term Life Waiver of premium Certificate 
Supplement, which shall terminate on the portability date. 

What is the minimum amount of insurance that can be 
continued under this rider? 

The minimum amount of insurance that can be continued 
on the life of a certificate holder under this rider is 
$10,000.  The minimum does not apply to any other 
insureds covered under this rider. 

What is the maximum amount of insurance that can 
be continued under this rider? 

The maximum amount of insurance that can be continued 
under this rider for an insured under age 65 is the amount 
of insurance that was in force on the insured’s portability 
date.  For an insured who is age 65 or older on his or her 
portability date, the amount will not be more than 65% of 
the amount of insurance in force on the insured’s 
portability date. 

Will the amount of insurance continued under this 
rider change? 

Yes.  When an insured attains age 65, the amount of 
insurance on his or her life continued under this rider will 
reduce to 65% of the amount of insurance in force on the 
day prior to his or her attainment of age 65.  Insurance 
terminates when the employee attains at age 70. 

Can a certificate holder request a change in his or her 
amount of insurance continued under this rider? 

Yes.  The certificate holder may elect to reduce the 
amount of insurance provided under his or her certificate.  
The remaining amount of insurance on the life of a 
certificate holder must be at least $10,000. 

The amount of insurance continued under this rider will 
never increase. 
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How will premium contributions be paid? 

Premium contributions will be paid directly to us on a 
monthly, quarterly, semi-annual, or annual basis and will 
be subject to an administrative charge per billing period.  
We may adjust the amount of the charge, but not more 
often than once per year. 

Can the premium rate change? 

Yes.  The premium rate may increase on the portability 
date.  The premium rate may also increase in the future 
but will not change more often than once per year. 

Can insurance continued under this rider be 
converted to a policy of individual insurance? 

Yes.  At any time after insurance has been continued 
under the provisions of this rider, it may be converted to a 
policy of individual insurance with Minnesota Life.  All 
other conditions and provisions of the conversion right 
section of the group policy to which this rider is attached 
will apply. 

What happens if a certificate holder again becomes 
eligible under the group policy? 

If a certificate holder who is continuing coverage under the 
provisions of this rider again meets the eligibility 
requirements of the group policy, not including the terms 
of this rider, he or she shall no longer be considered to 
have portability status.  Insurance for that certificate holder 
may be provided only under the terms of the group policy, 
not including this rider, unless and until he or she no 
longer meets the eligibility requirements of the group 
policy and again returns to portability status as provided 
for herein. 

What happens to insurance provided under this rider 
when the group policy terminates? 

Anything in the group policy notwithstanding, termination 
of the group policy by the policyholder or us will not 
terminate life insurance then in force for any person under 
the terms of this rider.  The group policy will be deemed to 
remain in force solely for the purpose of continuing such 
insurance, but without further obligation of the 
policyholder. 

Any insurance continued under the terms of this rider will 
remain in force until terminated by the provisions of the 
section entitled “When will insurance continued under this 
rider terminate?”. 

No individual may elect coverage under this rider on or 
after the date of termination of the group policy. 

When will insurance continued under this rider 
terminate? 

Insurance continued under this rider will terminate on the 
earliest of the following: 

(1) the certificate holder’s 70th birthday; or 
(2) the date the certificate holder again meets the 

eligibility requirements of the group policy, not 
including the terms of this rider; or 

(3) in the case of a dependent child or a spouse/civil 
union partner who is insured by a rider to the 
certificate holder’s coverage, the date the 
certificate holder’s coverage is no longer being 
continued under this rider, or the date the 
certificate holder’s spouse/civil union partner or 
child ceases to be eligible as defined under the 
terms of the group policy; or 

(4) 45 days after the due date of any premium 
contribution which is not made. 

 

 
  
 
Secretary President 
 
 



 
  Does not apply to a person with portability status. 
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Term Life Waiver of Premium 
Policy Rider 
 
Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company 
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098 
 
 

General Information 

This rider is issued in consideration of the required 
premium and amends the group policy to which it is 
attached. The specifications page attached to the group 
policy indicates whether this rider applies to contributory 
insurance or noncontributory insurance.  This rider is 
subject to every term, condition, exclusion, limitation, and 
provision of the group policy unless otherwise expressly 
provided for herein. Coverage under this rider will not be 
included in any insurance issued under the conversion 
right section of the group policy. 

What does this rider provide? 

This rider provides for waiver of premium for certificate 
holders who become totally and permanently disabled, as 
defined herein, while under age 60.  Upon approval of 
proof of such disability, a certificate holder’s insurance, 
including all riders applicable to such certificate holder, 
which are in force on the date of the onset of the 
certificate holder’s disability will be continued in force 
without payment of premiums during the uninterrupted 
continuance of the total and permanent disability.   

What is total disability? 

Total disability is a disability which occurs while a 
certificate holder’s insurance is in force and which results 
from an accidental injury or an illness that continuously 
prevents the certificate holder from engaging in any 
occupation for which he or she is reasonably suited by 
education, training, or experience.  The certificate holder 
must be under the care of a licensed physician.  The 
licensed physician cannot be the certificate holder or a 
member of the certificate holder’s immediate family.  For 
purposes of this rider, the certificate holder’s immediate 
family consists of his or her spouse/civil union partner, 
children, parents, grandparents, grandchildren, brothers 
and sisters and their spouses. 

What is permanent disability? 

Permanent disability is a total disability which has existed 
continuously for at least 180 days. 

Do premiums have to be paid for a certificate holder 
after he or she becomes disabled? 

Yes.  Premiums have to be paid after a certificate holder 
becomes disabled, but only until we approve his or her 
total and permanent disability claim.  Continued payment 
prevents the possible loss of the certificate holder’s 
coverage and eligibility if the claim is not approved.  If a 
certificate holder’s claim for benefits under this rider is 
approved, up to 12 months of life and accidental death 
and dismemberment premiums paid after the disability 
began will be refunded. 

What if a certificate holder converts his or her group 
life insurance to a policy of individual insurance prior 
to the approval of his or her disability claim? 

If a certificate holder’s coverage has been converted in 
accordance with the conversion right section of the group 
policy, benefits under this rider will apply only if the 
converted policy is surrendered without claim, except for 
refund of premiums. 

What will be considered due proof of total and 
permanent disability? 

A certificate holder must furnish evidence satisfactory to 
us that his or her disability: 

(1) commenced while his or her insurance under the 
group policy was in force; and 

(2) meets the definition of total disability; and 
(3) commenced before his or her 60th birthday; and 
(4) was continuous for 180 days or more. 
 

We will, from time to time, also require additional proof 
satisfactory to us that the certificate holder continues to be 
totally and permanently disabled.  We may also require 
that the certificate holder submit to one or more medical 
examinations at our expense. 

If a certificate holder dies within one year of the date of 
onset of his or her disability, the certificate holder’s 
beneficiary may claim benefits under this rider even if the 
certificate holder’s premium payments were discontinued 
and he or she had not submitted due proof satisfactory to 
us of his or her total disability or was continuously 
disabled for less than 180 days.  The certificate holder’s 
beneficiary must submit due proof satisfactory to us that 
the certificate holder’s total disability, which began before 
the certificate holder’s premium payments were 
discontinued and before his or her 60th birthday, 
continued without interruption until his or her death. 

When must we be notified of a certificate holder’s 
disability or death? 

We must receive written notice at our home office of a 
certificate holder’s total disability within one year of the 
date of onset of such disability.  However, failure to give 
notice within the time provided will not invalidate the claim 
if it is shown that notice was given as soon as reasonably 
possible. 

We must receive written notice at our home office within 
one year of death that a certificate holder died during a 
period of continuance provided by this rider.  Proof must 
be furnished that he or she continued to be totally disabled 
during the entire period of continuance until death.  If such 
notice and proof are not provided within the required time 
frame, there shall be no liability for any payment under this 
rider. 
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What is the amount of insurance to be continued 
without payment of premium under this rider? 

The amount of insurance continued without payment of 
premium shall be the amount of insurance that was in 
force on the date of onset of total disability. 

How long will insurance be continued without 
payment of premium? 

If a certificate holder becomes totally and permanently 
disabled, insurance will be continued, without payment of 
premium, until the earliest of: 

(1) the certificate holder’s 65th birthday; or 
(2) the date the certificate holder recovers so that he 

or she is no longer totally and permanently 
disabled; or 

(3) the date the certificate holder fails to furnish proof 
of continued disability when requested or refuses 
to submit to a required medical examination. 

 
What happens to a certificate holder’s insurance when 
the waiver of premium benefit ends? 

When the benefits under this rider end according to the 
provisions of the section entitled “How long will insurance 
be continued without payment of premium?,” the following 
will apply: 

(1) If the certificate holder is then eligible for coverage 
under the group policy, his or her insurance may 
be continued under the group policy provided that 
premiums are paid.  The first such premium 
payment must be made within 31 days of the date 
the waiver of premium benefit ends. 

(2) If the certificate holder is no longer eligible for 
coverage under the group policy, he or she may 
convert coverage to an individual policy, as 
provided for under the conversion right section of 
the group policy. 

 
Insurance will end for a certificate holder unless, within 31 
days of the date benefits under this rider end, premium 
payment is resumed or the insured applies to convert his 
or her coverage. 

When does this rider terminate? 

This rider will terminate on the earlier of: 

(1) the date we receive a written request to terminate 
this rider; or 

(2) the date the group policy is terminated. 
 

Insurance being continued without further payment of 
premiums in accordance with the provisions of this rider 
will not end due solely to the termination of this rider or of 
the group policy. 

 
  
 
Secretary President 
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Accelerated Benefits 
Policy Rider 
 
Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company 
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098 
 

 
Benefits received under this Accelerated Benefits Policy 
Rider may be taxable.  Certificate holders should seek 
assistance from a personal tax advisor prior to requesting 
an accelerated payment of death benefits. 

General Information 

This rider amends the group policy to which it is attached 
and is subject to every term, condition, exclusion, 
limitation, and provision of the group policy unless 
otherwise expressly provided for herein. 

What does this rider provide? 

This rider provides for the accelerated payment of either 
the full or a partial amount of an insured’s death benefit 
provided under the group policy.  If the insured has a 
terminal condition as defined in this rider, an accelerated 
payment of the death benefit may be requested.  

Definitions 

accelerated benefit 

The amount of the death benefit we will pay if the insured 
is eligible under this rider. 

death benefit 

The amount of the insured’s life insurance as shown on 
the specifications page attached to the certificate holder’s 
certificate. 

immediate family 

The certificate holder’s spouse/civil union partner, 
children, parents, grandparents, grandchildren, brothers 
and sisters, and their spouses. 

insured 

For purposes of this rider, an insured employee, an 
insured spouse/civil union partner, or an insured 
dependent child. 

physician 

An individual who is licensed to practice medicine or treat 
illness in the state in which treatment is received.  This 
does not include the certificate holder, or a member of the 
certificate holder’s immediate family. 

 

Terminal Condition 

What is a terminal condition? 

A terminal condition is a condition caused by sickness or 
accident which directly results in a life expectancy of 
twelve months or less. 

What evidence do we require of the insured’s terminal 
condition? 

We must be given evidence that satisfies us that the 
insured’s life expectancy, because of sickness or accident, 
is twelve months or less.  That evidence must include 
certification by a physician. 

Do we have the right to obtain independent medical 
verification? 

Yes.  We retain the right to have the insured medically 
examined at our own expense to verify the insured’s 
medical condition.  We may do this as often as reasonably 
required while accelerated benefits are being considered 
or paid. 

Accelerated Benefit 

What is the accelerated benefit? 

The accelerated benefit is the amount of the death benefit 
payable under this rider.  It is the death benefit that is 
being accelerated, up to 100% of the insured’s amount of 
insurance, subject to the minimums and maximums stated 
below.   

What are the conditions for the payment of an 
accelerated benefit? 

We will consider the payment of an accelerated benefit, 
subject to all of the following conditions: 

(1) coverage must be in force and all premiums due 
must be fully paid; and 

(2) application must be made in writing and in a form 
which is satisfactory to us.  We will tell a certificate 
holder what form is required; and 

(3) the certificate holder must be the sole owner of 
the certificate; and 

(4) the insured’s insurance must not have an 
irrevocable beneficiary. 
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Who may request an accelerated payment of the death 
benefit? 

A certificate holder may request an accelerated payment 
of the insurance on his or her life or on the life of a 
spouse/civil union partner or dependent child insured 
under his or her certificate. 

Is the request for an accelerated benefit voluntary? 

Yes.  An accelerated benefit will be made available on a 
voluntary basis only.  An accelerated benefit under this 
rider is not intended to cause an involuntary reduction of 
the death benefit ultimately payable to the named 
beneficiary.  Therefore, payment of the death benefit 
cannot be accelerated under this rider if the insured: 

(1) is required by law to use this option to meet the 
claims of creditors, whether in bankruptcy or 
otherwise; or 

(2) is required by a government agency to use this 
option in order to apply for, obtain, or keep a 
government benefit or entitlement. 

 
Is there a minimum or maximum death benefit eligible 
for an accelerated benefit? 

Yes.  The minimum death benefit to be eligible for an 
accelerated benefit under this rider is $10,000.  The 
maximum death benefit to be eligible for an accelerated 
benefit is $1,000,000. 

Does a certificate holder have to take the entire 
accelerated benefit? 

No.  The certificate holder may choose to receive a partial 
accelerated benefit.  If he or she does so, the insured’s 
remaining coverage will stay in force. 

If a certificate holder elects to receive only a partial 
accelerated benefit amount available under this rider, the  
remaining death benefit under the certificate must be at 
least $25,000. 

The certificate holder may reapply for the payment of the 
remaining amount of insurance at any time.  However, we 
may ask for further satisfactory evidence that the insured 
meets all requirements for the accelerated benefit.   

What is the effect on an insured’s coverage of the 
receipt of an accelerated benefit? 

If a certificate holder elects to accelerate the full amount of 
an insured’s death benefit, the insured’s coverage and all 
other benefits under the certificate and any certificate 
supplements which apply to that insured will end.  If the 
insured is a certificate holder, any other individual insured 
under his or her certificate will be allowed to convert any 
such insurance to a policy of individual life insurance 
according to the conversion right section of the group 
policy to which this rider is attached. 

If a partial accelerated benefit is chosen, coverage will 
remain in force and premiums will be reduced accordingly.  
The remaining amount of insurance under the certificate 
will be the full amount of insurance minus the amount of 
insurance that was accelerated. 

How will we pay the accelerated benefit? 

We will pay the accelerated benefit in one lump sum or in 
any other mutually agreeable manner. 

To whom will we pay accelerated benefits? 

All accelerated benefits will be paid to the certificate 
holder who requested the accelerated payment unless the 
certificate holder validly assigns them otherwise.  If such 
certificate holder dies before all payments have been 
made, we will pay the remainder to the insured’s 
beneficiary named under the certificate.  Payment will be 
made in one lump sum which will be the present value of 
the payments that remain, using the interest rate we use 
to determine the payments. 

Termination 

When does an insured’s coverage under this rider 
terminate? 

An insured’s coverage ends on the date the insured is no 
longer covered for life insurance under the group policy. 

When does this rider terminate? 

This rider will terminate on the earlier of: 

(1) the date we receive a written request to cancel 
this rider; or 

(2) the date the group policy is terminated. 
 
 

  
 
Secretary President 
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Group Term Life Policy Amendment #4 
 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company 
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098 
 

 
To be attached to and made a part of Group Policy No. 33780-G issued by Minnesota Life Insurance Company to State of 
Colorado.  This amendment is effective as of July 1, 2019.  Continued payment of premiums shall constitute acceptance 
of the conditions stated in this amendment.   
 
As a change to the policy, an employee who is on a military leave of absence is eligible to have his or her insurance 
continued during the military leave.  As a result of this change the section entitled “Can and insured employee’s coverage 
be continued during sickness, injury, leave of absence or temporary layoff?” is amended to read as follows: 
 
 

Can an insured employee's coverage be continued during sickness, injury, leave of absence or temporary 
layoff? 

Yes. Insurance may be continued on an insured employee who is not actively at work due to sickness, injury, leave 
of absence or temporary layoff, subject to the employer’s practices and procedures, including the employer’s limits 
on the length of continuation allowed for the type of absence.  Continuation is subject to the following maximum 
time frames: 

(1) for an employee on non-medical leave of absence or temporary layoff, insurance cannot be continued 
beyond 12 months from the last day the insured employee was actively at work. 

(2) for an employee on a military leave of absence, insurance may be continued during the length of the leave.  
Coverage that is voluntarily terminated during a military leave will be reinstated when the employee returns 
to active employment status without the need to provide evidence of insurability. 

(3) for an employee on a medical leave of absence, insurance cannot be continued beyond the later of 12 
months from the last day the insured employee was actively at work or the date the employee attains age 
65. 

 
Continuation of insurance must be in accordance with the practices and procedures that precludes individual 
selection. 

Coverage during a leave of absence and upon return from a leave of absence shall meet all state and federal 
requirements. The above limits will be expanded if necessary in order to meet such requirements. 

 
 
As a result of this change, the Group Policy Specifications Page is replaced with the attached Group Policy Specifications 
Page effective July 1, 2019. 
   

 
Agreed to by Minnesota Life Insurance Company this 9th day of January 2020.   
 
  
 
    
        By ___________________________________ 

            SEM 
    Vice President and Actuary 
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                  GROUP POLICY SPECIFICATIONS PAGE  

GENERAL INFORMATION 
  

POLICYHOLDER: 
 

State of Colorado 

 

POLICY NO.:  33780-G 

ASSOCIATED COMPANIES: 
 

All subsidiaries and affiliates reported to Minnesota Life by the policyholder for 

inclusion in the policy. 

 

POLICY EFFECTIVE DATE: 
 

July 1, 2014. This Specification Page represents the plan in effect as of July 1, 2019.  

 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company has issued Group Policy Number 33780-G to the 

State of Colorado effective as of July 1, 2014 as a replacement for an earlier policy 

containing the same number.  

 

In no case shall Minnesota Life Insurance Company be liable under both policies. 

 

POLICY ANNIVERSARY DATE: 
 

July 1 of each year beginning July 1, 2015. 

 

PREMIUM DUE DATE(S): 
 

The first day of each month.  Minnesota Life and the policyholder agree that 

premiums can be paid no later than the 45th day following the premium due date. 

 

GROUP: 
 
 
 

This group is composed of all eligible employees as defined by Colorado State Statute.  

Permanent part-time employees are included in this definition.  Eligible employee is 

defined as:  Employee means any officer or employee under the state personnel system 

of the state of Colorado whose salary is paid by state funds or any employee of the 

department of education, the Colorado commission on higher education, or the 

Colorado school for the deaf and the blind whose salary is paid by state funds, or any 

member of the military employed pursuant to section 28-3-904 C.R.S.  Employee 

includes any officer or employee of the legislative or judicial branch, any elected or 

appointed state official or employee who receives compensation other than expense 

reimbursement from the state funds, any elected state official who does not receive 

compensation other than expense reimbursement from state funds, and includes any 

member of the board of assessment appeals.  Employee does not include persons 

employed on a temporary basis; except that it shall include a member of the military 

employed pursuant to section 28-3-904 C.R.S. for more than 30 consecutive days. 

 

Employee does not include an employee insured under the University of Colorado 

group life insurance plan or a full-time member of the armed forces of any country. 

 

ENROLLMENT PERIOD: 
 
 

Not applicable for noncontributory insurance.  

 

For contributory insurance: 

 

For employees who are newly eligible, the enrollment period is equal to 31 days from 

the date the person meets the definition of group. 

 

For employees who first become eligible for dependent insurance after the newly 

eligible enrollment period, the enrollment period for dependent life is 31 days from the 

first day of eligibility. 

 

WAITING PERIOD: The period commencing with the date a person meets the definition of “GROUP” 

above and ending with the first day of the month next following that date. 
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PLAN OF INSURANCE 
 

EMPLOYEE BENEFIT SCHEDULE 
 

EMPLOYEE TERM LIFE INSURANCE: 
 

 

Basic Life Insurance 
 

 

 Eligible Class Amount of Basic Life Insurance 
   
 All employees One times annual regular pay, rounded to the next higher $1,000, if not already 

a multiple thereof, subject to a minimum benefit of $50,000 and maximum 

benefit of $250,000. 

 
Supplemental Employee Life Insurance 
 

 Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Employee Life Insurance 
   

 All employees An amount elected by the employee, in an increment of $10,000, subject to a 

minimum of $10,000 and a maximum of $500,000. 

 
BASIC LIFE INSURANCE ADDITIONAL BENEFIT: 
  

Basic Life Insurance Repatriation Benefit 
 

 Eligible Class Amount of Insurance 
   

 All employees If a death benefit becomes payable for an insured under this policy we will pay 

an additional benefit to reimburse the person who incurs the transportation 

expenses to transport the insured’s body to a mortuary near his or her primary 

residence, but not to exceed the lesser of $5,000 or 10% of the basic life 

insurance, if the insured dies more than 200 miles from his or her primary place 

of residence. 

 
EMPLOYEE ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE: 
 
Basic and Supplemental Insurance  

  

 Eligible Class Amount of Basic and Supplemental Employee AD&D Insurance 
   

 All employees An amount equal to the amount of Basic and Supplemental Employee Life 

Insurance for which the employee is insured under the group policy. 

 

GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR EMPLOYEE INSURANCE 
 

RETIREMENT REDUCTIONS: All insurance terminates at retirement, except as provided for under the 

portability provision.  

  

CONTRIBUTORY/NONCONTRIBUTORY: Basic insurance is noncontributory insurance; supplemental employee insurance 

is contributory insurance. 

  

GUARANTEED ISSUE AMOUNT: Guaranteed issue is the maximum amount of insurance an employee can receive 

without evidence of insurability when first eligible under the plan provided 

enrollment is made within the enrollment period.  The amounts are as follows: 

  

 For basic insurance: 

  All basic insurance is guaranteed issue. 
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 For supplemental employee insurance: 

  For employees in an eligible class immediately prior to the effective date 

of the group policy:  

   An amount equal to the amount of contributory insurance for which 

the employee was insured under the prior carrier’s group policy on 

the day immediately preceding the effective date of this policy.  

  For employees who first become eligible after the effective date of this 

policy:  

  $100,000. 

  

EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY: Evidence of insurability is required as stated in the policy and for an amount of 

insurance greater than the guaranteed issue amount. 

 

EFFECTIVE DATE OF INCREASES AND 
DECREASES DUE TO CHANGE IN 
REGULAR PAY 

Increases and decreases due to a change in regular pay will become effective the 

date of the change in regular pay. For purposes of insurance under this policy, 

the date of the change in regular pay means the date the payroll system is 

updated. Evidence of insurability will not be required for an increase in 

insurance due solely to an increase in regular pay. All increases are subject to 

the actively at work requirement.  

 

DEPENDENTS BENEFIT SCHEDULE 
 

DEPENDENTS TERM LIFE INSURANCE: 
An employee must be approved for Supplemental Employee Life and matching accidental death and dismemberment coverage under 

this plan to be eligible to elect Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner and Supplemental Child Life and 

matching accidental death and dismemberment coverage.   
 

Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner Life Insurance 
 

 Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic 
Partner Life Insurance 

   

 All employees An amount elected by the employee, in an increment of $10,000, subject to a  

minimum of $10,000 and subject to a maximum of the lesser of 50% of the 

employee’s supplemental amount of insurance or $250,000. 

  

Supplemental Child Life Insurance 
 

 Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Child Life Insurance 
   

 All employees $5,000 or $10,000, as elected by the employee.  Supplemental child coverage 

cannot exceed 50% of the Employee’s Supplemental amount of insurance. 

   

DEPENDENTS ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE: 
 
Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner and Child AD&D Insurance 
  

 Eligible Class Amount of Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner and Child 
AD&D Insurance 

   
 All employees An amount equal to the amount of Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union 

Partner/Domestic Partner and Child Life insurance for which the spouse/civil 

union partner/domestic partner and/or child are insured under the group policy. 
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GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR DEPENDENTS INSURANCE 
 

GRANDFATHERED COVERAGE: 
 

There is a group of grandfathered employees who were able to elect coverage 

on his or her spouse and/or children without electing Supplemental Employee 

Life/AD&D coverage.  The coverage for this group that is currently in place 

was elected prior to January 1, 2003.  The list of this closed grandfathered group 

is on file and of record with the policyholder and Minnesota Life. 

 

There is a group of grandfathered employees in which the spouse coverage 

maximum of “the lessor of 50% of the employee’s supplemental amount of 

insurance or $150,000” does not apply.  The coverage for this group that is 

currently in place was elected prior to January 1, 2003 and their coverage 

amounts are outside of the current plan parameters.  The list of this closed 

grandfathered group is on file and of record with the policyholder and 

Minnesota Life. 

 

If an employee has Supplement Employee Life/AD&D and Supplemental 

Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner Life/AD&D coverage, and the 

spouse/ civil union partner/domestic partner becomes a State employee, then the 

spouse/ civil union partner/domestic partner may receive an amount of 

Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage, on a guarantee issue basis, 

equal to the amount he/she had as a spouse/ civil union partner/domestic 

partner.  The request for new Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage 

must be made within 31 days of the date that the spouse/ civil union 

partner/domestic partner coverage ends.  

  

CONTINUED DEPENDENTS INSURANCE 
UPON THE DEATH OF THE EMPLOYEE: 

Notwithstanding anything in the policy to the contrary, any dependents term life 

and accidental death and dismemberment insurance that is in force at the time of 

an employee’s death shall remain in force for five months from the date of the 

employee’s death, with no further premium payment required. 

 
CONTRIBUTORY/NONCONTRIBUTORY: Dependents insurance is contributory insurance. 
  

GUARANTEED ISSUE AMOUNT: Guaranteed issue is the maximum amount of insurance an eligible dependent 

can receive without evidence of insurability when first eligible under the plan 

provided enrollment is made within the enrollment period.  The amounts are as 

follows: 

  

 For employees with eligible dependents immediately prior to the effective date 

of this policy, the guaranteed issue amount is equal to the amount of dependents 

insurance for which they were insured under the prior group policy.  

  

 For employees who first become eligible for dependents insurance after the 

effective date of this policy, the guaranteed issue amount is as follows: 

  For Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner  

Insurance:  $30,000 

  For Supplemental Child Insurance:  $10,000* 

  

 *  As an exception, evidence of insurability is never required of a child 

regardless of when application is made (new hire, family status change, or 

annual enrollment.) 

 

EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY: Evidence of insurability is required as stated in the policy and for an amount of 

insurance greater than the guaranteed issue amount. 

  

EFFECT OF EMPLOYEE’S RETIREMENT: All dependents insurance terminates upon the employee’s retirement except as 

provided under the portability provision. 
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ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 
  

WAIVER OF PREMIUM APPLICATION: Applies to contributory and noncontributory employee insurance.  
 

 

ELECTION CHANGES:   Election changes can be made at any time, except child life changes are limited 

to annual enrollment or within 31 days of a Family Status Change. 

 

An employee may make changes to his or her elections at annual open 

enrollment or within 31 days of a Family Status Change without providing any 

evidence of insurability: 

 

1. Any reduction or termination of coverage. 

2. Any election for child life insurance. 

3. For changes due to a Family Status Change:  Any increase in 

Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D insurance that does not exceed 

the guaranteed issue of $100,000, including enrolling in Supplemental 

Employee Life/AD&D for the first time for up to $100,000.   

4. For changes due to a Family Status Change:  Any increase in 

Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner Life 

insurance that does not exceed the guaranteed issue of $30,000, 

including enrolling in Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union 

Partner/Domestic Partner Life/AD&D for the first time for up to 

$30,000.   

 

Any amount requested above these amounts or any change requested outside of 

these events shall require evidence of insurability and will not be effective 

unless and until the evidence is approved by Minnesota Life. 

  

Family Status Change means: 

• Birth or adoption or otherwise acquiring a newly eligible child 

• Death of a spouse/civil union partner/domestic partner 

• Marriage 

• Declaration of domestic partnership 

• Establishment of a civil union partnership 

 

SPECIAL MARRIED/DOMESTIC 
PARTNERSHIP EMPLOYEES RULES: 

• If an employee is insured for Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union 

Partner/Domestic Partner Life/AD&D coverage and that spouse/ civil 

union partner/domestic partner coverage terminates, the employee can 

apply for Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D on a guaranteed issue 

basis equal to the amount he or she had as a spouse/civil union 

partner/domestic partner.  The request for new Supplemental Employee 

Life/AD&D coverage must be made within 31 days of the date that the 

Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner coverage 

ends. 

• If an employee has Supplement Employee Life/AD&D and 

Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner 

Life/AD&D coverage, and the spouse/civil union partner/domestic 

partner becomes a State employee, then the spouse/ civil union 

partner/domestic partner may receive an amount of Supplemental 

Employee Life/AD&D coverage, on a guaranteed issue basis, equal to 

the amount he or she had as a spouse/ civil union partner/domestic 

partner, but not less than $100,000 and not to exceed $250,000.  The 

request for new Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage must be 

made within 31 days of the date that the Supplemental Spouse/Civil 

Union Partner/Domestic Partner coverage ends. 

 

 

 



 

F.70944 F 

• If two State employees are married, or have established a civil union 

partnership or have declared a domestic partnership and both have 

Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage, and one employee 

terminates employment with the State and loses their Supplemental 

Employee Life/AD&D coverage, then the other remaining employee 

may add Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner 

coverage, on a guarantee issue basis, up to an amount not to exceed the 

lesser of: 

▪ the amount that was in place as Supplemental Employee 

Life/AD&D coverage for the terminated employee;  

▪ 50% of the remaining employee’s amount of coverage; 

and 

▪   $250,000.  

 
 The request for new Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic 

Partner Life/AD&D coverage must be made within 31 days of the date that the 

employee coverage ends. 
  
  

RIDER(S) TO THE GROUP POLICY  

Accidental Death and Dismemberment  

Dependents Term Life  

Portability  

Waiver of Premium  

Accelerated Benefits  
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Group Term Life Policy Amendment #3 
 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company 
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098 
 

 
To be attached to and made a part of Group Policy No. 33780-G issued by Minnesota Life Insurance Company to State of 
Colorado.  This amendment is effective as of July 1, 2017.  Continued payment of premiums shall constitute acceptance 
of the conditions stated in this amendment.   
 

“Continued payment of premiums by State of Colorado shall constitute acceptance of the replacement policy.” 
has been removed from the Policy Effective Date section shown on page A of the Specifications Page. The 
section has been modified as shown below: 

 
POLICY EFFECTIVE DATE: 
 

July 1, 2014. This Specification Page represents the plan in effect as of July 1, 

2017 as revised on June 16, 2017.  

 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company has issued Group Policy Number 33780-G to 

the State of Colorado effective as of July 1, 2014 as a replacement for an earlier 

policy containing the same number.  

 

In no case shall Minnesota Life Insurance Company be liable under both policies. 

 

 
 
 

As a result of this change, the Group Policy Specifications Page effective July 1, 2017 is replaced with the attached 
Group Policy Specifications Page effective July 1, 2017 as revised on June 16, 2017. 

   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Agreed to by Minnesota Life Insurance Company this 16th day of June, 2017.   
 
  
 
    
        By ___________________________________ 

            LL 
    Vice President and Actuary 
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                  GROUP POLICY SPECIFICATIONS PAGE  

GENERAL INFORMATION 
  

POLICYHOLDER: 
 

State of Colorado 

 

POLICY NO.:  33780-G 

ASSOCIATED COMPANIES: 
 

All subsidiaries and affiliates reported to Minnesota Life by the policyholder for 

inclusion in the policy. 

 

POLICY EFFECTIVE DATE: 
 

July 1, 2014. This Specification Page represents the plan in effect as of July 1, 2017 as 

revised on June 16, 2017.  

 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company has issued Group Policy Number 33780-G to the 

State of Colorado effective as of July 1, 2014 as a replacement for an earlier policy 

containing the same number.  

 

In no case shall Minnesota Life Insurance Company be liable under both policies. 

 

POLICY ANNIVERSARY DATE: 
 

July 1 of each year beginning July 1, 2015. 

 

PREMIUM DUE DATE(S): 
 

The first day of each month.  Minnesota Life and the policyholder agree that 

premiums can be paid no later than the 45th day following the premium due date. 

 

GROUP: 
 
 
 

This group is composed of all eligible employees as defined by Colorado State Statute.  

Permanent part-time employees are included in this definition.  Eligible employee is 

defined as:  Employee means any officer or employee under the state personnel system 

of the state of Colorado whose salary is paid by state funds or any employee of the 

department of education, the Colorado commission on higher education, or the 

Colorado school for the deaf and the blind whose salary is paid by state funds, or any 

member of the military employed pursuant to section 28-3-904 C.R.S.  Employee 

includes any officer or employee of the legislative or judicial branch, any elected or 

appointed state official or employee who receives compensation other than expense 

reimbursement from the state funds, any elected state official who does not receive 

compensation other than expense reimbursement from state funds, and includes any 

member of the board of assessment appeals.  Employee does not include persons 

employed on a temporary basis; except that it shall include a member of the military 

employed pursuant to section 28-3-904 C.R.S. for more than 30 consecutive days. 

 

Employee does not include an employee insured under the University of Colorado 

group life insurance plan or a full-time member of the armed forces of any country. 

 

ENROLLMENT PERIOD: 
 
 

Not applicable for noncontributory insurance.  

 

For contributory insurance: 

 

For employees who are newly eligible, the enrollment period is equal to 31 days from 

the date the person meets the definition of group. 

 

For employees who first become eligible for dependent insurance after the newly 

eligible enrollment period, the enrollment period for dependent life is 31 days from the 

first day of eligibility. 

 

WAITING PERIOD: The period commencing with the date a person meets the definition of “GROUP” 

above and ending with the first day of the month next following that date. 
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PLAN OF INSURANCE 
 

EMPLOYEE BENEFIT SCHEDULE 
 

EMPLOYEE TERM LIFE INSURANCE: 
 

 

Basic Life Insurance 
 

 

 Eligible Class Amount of Basic Life Insurance 
   
 All employees One times annual regular pay, rounded to the next higher $1,000, if not already 

a multiple thereof, subject to a minimum benefit of $50,000 and maximum 

benefit of $250,000. 

 
Supplemental Employee Life Insurance 
 

 Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Employee Life Insurance 
   

 All employees An amount elected by the employee, in an increment of $10,000, subject to a 

minimum of $10,000 and a maximum of $500,000. 

 
BASIC LIFE INSURANCE ADDITIONAL BENEFIT: 
  

Basic Life Insurance Repatriation Benefit 
 

 Eligible Class Amount of Insurance 
   

 All employees If a death benefit becomes payable for an insured under this policy we will pay 

an additional benefit to reimburse the person who incurs the transportation 

expenses to transport the insured’s body to a mortuary near his or her primary 

residence, but not to exceed the lesser of $5,000 or 10% of the basic life 

insurance, if the insured dies more than 200 miles from his or her primary place 

of residence. 

 
EMPLOYEE ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE: 
 
Basic and Supplemental Insurance  

  

 Eligible Class Amount of Basic and Supplemental Employee AD&D Insurance 
   

 All employees An amount equal to the amount of Basic and Supplemental Employee Life 

Insurance for which the employee is insured under the group policy. 

 

GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR EMPLOYEE INSURANCE 
 

RETIREMENT REDUCTIONS: All insurance terminates at retirement, except as provided for under the 

portability provision.  

  

CONTRIBUTORY/NONCONTRIBUTORY: Basic insurance is noncontributory insurance; supplemental employee insurance 

is contributory insurance. 

  

GUARANTEED ISSUE AMOUNT: Guaranteed issue is the maximum amount of insurance an employee can receive 

without evidence of insurability when first eligible under the plan provided 

enrollment is made within the enrollment period.  The amounts are as follows: 

  

 For basic insurance: 

  All basic insurance is guaranteed issue. 
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 For supplemental employee insurance: 

  For employees in an eligible class immediately prior to the 

effective date of the group policy:  
 

   An amount equal to the amount of contributory insurance for which 

the employee was insured under the prior carrier’s group policy on 

the day immediately preceding the effective date of this policy.  

  For employees who first become eligible after the effective date of this 

policy:  

  $100,000. 

  

EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY: Evidence of insurability is required as stated in the policy and for an amount of 

insurance greater than the guaranteed issue amount. 

 

EFFECTIVE DATE OF INCREASES AND 
DECREASES DUE TO CHANGE IN 
REGULAR PAY 

Increases and decreases due to a change in regular pay will become effective the 

date of the change in regular pay. For purposes of insurance under this policy, 

the date of the change in regular pay means the date the payroll system is 

updated. Evidence of insurability will not be required for an increase in 

insurance due solely to an increase in regular pay. All increases are subject to 

the actively at work requirement.  

 

DEPENDENTS BENEFIT SCHEDULE 
 

DEPENDENTS TERM LIFE INSURANCE: 
An employee must be approved for Supplemental Employee Life and matching accidental death and dismemberment coverage under 

this plan to be eligible to elect Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner and Supplemental Child Life and 

matching accidental death and dismemberment coverage.   
 

Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner Life Insurance 
 

 Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic 
Partner Life Insurance 

   

 All employees An amount elected by the employee, in an increment of $10,000, subject to a  

minimum of $10,000 and subject to a maximum of the lesser of 50% of the 

employee’s supplemental amount of insurance or $250,000. 

  

Supplemental Child Life Insurance 
 

 Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Child Life Insurance 
   

 All employees $5,000 or $10,000, as elected by the employee.  Supplemental child coverage 

cannot exceed 50% of the Employee’s Supplemental amount of insurance. 

   

DEPENDENTS ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE: 
 
Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner and Child AD&D Insurance 
  

 Eligible Class Amount of Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner and Child 
AD&D Insurance 

   
 All employees An amount equal to the amount of Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union 

Partner/Domestic Partner and Child Life insurance for which the spouse/civil 

union partner/domestic partner and/or child are insured under the group policy. 
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GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR DEPENDENTS INSURANCE 
 

GRANDFATHERED COVERAGE: 
 

There is a group of grandfathered employees who were able to elect coverage 

on his or her spouse and/or children without electing Supplemental Employee 

Life/AD&D coverage.  The coverage for this group that is currently in place 

was elected prior to January 1, 2003.  The list of this closed grandfathered group 

is on file and of record with the policyholder and Minnesota Life. 

 

There is a group of grandfathered employees in which the spouse coverage 

maximum of “the lessor of 50% of the employee’s supplemental amount of 

insurance or $150,000” does not apply.  The coverage for this group that is 

currently in place was elected prior to January 1, 2003 and their coverage 

amounts are outside of the current plan parameters.  The list of this closed 

grandfathered group is on file and of record with the policyholder and 

Minnesota Life. 

 

If an employee has Supplement Employee Life/AD&D and Supplemental 

Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner Life/AD&D coverage, and the 

spouse/ civil union partner/domestic partner becomes a State employee, then the 

spouse/ civil union partner/domestic partner may receive an amount of 

Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage, on a guarantee issue basis, 

equal to the amount he/she had as a spouse/ civil union partner/domestic 

partner.  The request for new Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage 

must be made within 31 days of the date that the spouse/ civil union 

partner/domestic partner coverage ends.  

  

CONTINUED DEPENDENTS INSURANCE 
UPON THE DEATH OF THE EMPLOYEE: 

Notwithstanding anything in the policy to the contrary, any dependents term life 

and accidental death and dismemberment insurance that is in force at the time of 

an employee’s death shall remain in force for five months from the date of the 

employee’s death, with no further premium payment required. 

 
CONTRIBUTORY/NONCONTRIBUTORY: Dependents insurance is contributory insurance. 
  

GUARANTEED ISSUE AMOUNT: Guaranteed issue is the maximum amount of insurance an eligible dependent 

can receive without evidence of insurability when first eligible under the plan 

provided enrollment is made within the enrollment period.  The amounts are as 

follows: 

  

 For employees with eligible dependents immediately prior to the effective date 

of this policy, the guaranteed issue amount is equal to the amount of dependents 

insurance for which they were insured under the prior group policy.  

  

 For employees who first become eligible for dependents insurance after the 

effective date of this policy, the guaranteed issue amount is as follows: 

  For Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner  

Insurance:  $30,000 

  For Supplemental Child Insurance:  $10,000* 

  

 *  As an exception, evidence of insurability is never required of a child 

regardless of when application is made (new hire, family status change, or 

annual enrollment.) 

 

EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY: Evidence of insurability is required as stated in the policy and for an amount of 

insurance greater than the guaranteed issue amount. 

  

EFFECT OF EMPLOYEE’S RETIREMENT: All dependents insurance terminates upon the employee’s retirement except as 

provided under the portability provision. 
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ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 
  

WAIVER OF PREMIUM APPLICATION: Applies to contributory and noncontributory employee insurance.  
 

 

ELECTION CHANGES:   Election changes can be made at any time, except child life changes are limited 

to annual enrollment or within 31 days of a Family Status Change. 

 

An employee may make changes to his or her elections at annual open 

enrollment or within 31 days of a Family Status Change without providing any 

evidence of insurability: 

 

1. Any reduction or termination of coverage. 

2. Any election for child life insurance. 

3. For changes due to a Family Status Change:  Any increase in 

Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D insurance that does not exceed 

the guaranteed issue of $100,000, including enrolling in Supplemental 

Employee Life/AD&D for the first time for up to $100,000.   

4. For changes due to a Family Status Change:  Any increase in 

Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner Life 

insurance that does not exceed the guaranteed issue of $30,000, 

including enrolling in Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union 

Partner/Domestic Partner Life/AD&D for the first time for up to 

$30,000.   

 

Any amount requested above these amounts or any change requested outside of 

these events shall require evidence of insurability and will not be effective 

unless and until the evidence is approved by Minnesota Life. 

  

Family Status Change means: 

 Birth or adoption or otherwise acquiring a newly eligible child 

 Death of a spouse/civil union partner/domestic partner 

 Marriage 

 Declaration of domestic partnership 

 Establishment of a civil union partnership 

 

SPECIAL MARRIED/DOMESTIC 
PARTNERSHIP EMPLOYEES RULES: 

 If an employee is insured for Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union 

Partner/Domestic Partner Life/AD&D coverage and that spouse/ civil 

union partner/domestic partner coverage terminates, the employee can 

apply for Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D on a guaranteed issue 

basis equal to the amount he or she had as a spouse/civil union 

partner/domestic partner.  The request for new Supplemental Employee 

Life/AD&D coverage must be made within 31 days of the date that the 

Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner coverage 

ends. 

 If an employee has Supplement Employee Life/AD&D and 

Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner 

Life/AD&D coverage, and the spouse/civil union partner/domestic 

partner becomes a State employee, then the spouse/ civil union 

partner/domestic partner may receive an amount of Supplemental 

Employee Life/AD&D coverage, on a guaranteed issue basis, equal to 

the amount he or she had as a spouse/ civil union partner/domestic 

partner, but not less than $100,000 and not to exceed $250,000.  The 

request for new Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage must be 

made within 31 days of the date that the Supplemental Spouse/Civil 

Union Partner/Domestic Partner coverage ends. 
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 If two State employees are married, or have established a civil union 

partnership or have declared a domestic partnership and both have 

Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage, and one employee 

terminates employment with the State and loses their Supplemental 

Employee Life/AD&D coverage, then the other remaining employee 

may add Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner 

coverage, on a guarantee issue basis, up to an amount not to exceed the 

lesser of: 

 the amount that was in place as Supplemental Employee 

Life/AD&D coverage for the terminated employee;  

 50% of the remaining employee’s amount of coverage; 

and 

  $250,000.  

 
 The request for new Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union 

Partner/Domestic Partner Life/AD&D coverage must be made within 

31 days of the date that the employee coverage ends. 
  
  

RIDER(S) TO THE GROUP POLICY  

Accidental Death and Dismemberment  

Dependents Term Life  

Portability  

Waiver of Premium  

Accelerated Benefits  
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Group Term Life Policy Amendment #2

Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098

To be attached to and made a part of Group Policy No. 33780-G issued by Minnesota Life Insurance Company to State of
Colorado.  This amendment is effective as of July 1, 2017.  Continued payment of premiums shall constitute acceptance
of the conditions stated in this amendment.

The plan maximum for basic life insurance is increased to $250,000.

As a result of this change, the Group Policy Specifications Page effective July 1, 2015 is replaced with the
attached Group Policy Specifications Page effective July 1, 2017.

Agreed to by Minnesota Life Insurance Company this 10th day of April, 2017.

By ___________________________________
LL

Vice President and Actuary
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GROUP POLICY SPECIFICATIONS PAGE 

GENERAL INFORMATION 

POLICYHOLDER: State of Colorado POLICY NO.:  33780-G 

ASSOCIATED COMPANIES: All subsidiaries and affiliates reported to Minnesota Life by the policyholder for 

inclusion in the policy. 

POLICY EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2014. This Specification Page represents the plan in effect as of July 1, 2017. 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company has issued Group Policy Number 33780-G to the 

State of Colorado effective as of July 1, 2014 as a replacement for an earlier policy 

containing the same number.  Continued payment of premiums by State of Colorado 

shall constitute acceptance of the replacement policy. 

In no case shall Minnesota Life Insurance Company be liable under both policies. 

POLICY ANNIVERSARY DATE: July 1 of each year beginning July 1, 2015. 

PREMIUM DUE DATE(S): The first day of each month.  Minnesota Life and the policyholder agree that 

premiums can be paid no later than the 45th day following the premium due date. 

GROUP: This group is composed of all eligible employees as defined by Colorado State Statute.  

Permanent part-time employees are included in this definition.  Eligible employee is 

defined as:  Employee means any officer or employee under the state personnel system 

of the state of Colorado whose salary is paid by state funds or any employee of the 

department of education, the Colorado commission on higher education, or the 

Colorado school for the deaf and the blind whose salary is paid by state funds, or any 

member of the military employed pursuant to section 28-3-904 C.R.S.  Employee 

includes any officer or employee of the legislative or judicial branch, any elected or 

appointed state official or employee who receives compensation other than expense 

reimbursement from the state funds, any elected state official who does not receive 

compensation other than expense reimbursement from state funds, and includes any 

member of the board of assessment appeals.  Employee does not include persons 

employed on a temporary basis; except that it shall include a member of the military 

employed pursuant to section 28-3-904 C.R.S. for more than 30 consecutive days. 

Employee does not include an employee insured under the University of Colorado 

group life insurance plan or a full-time member of the armed forces of any country. 

ENROLLMENT PERIOD: Not applicable for noncontributory insurance. 

For contributory insurance: 

For employees who are newly eligible, the enrollment period is equal to 31 days from 

the date the person meets the definition of group. 

For employees who first become eligible for dependent insurance after the newly 

eligible enrollment period, the enrollment period for dependent life is 31 days from the 

first day of eligibility. 

WAITING PERIOD: The period commencing with the date a person meets the definition of “GROUP” 

above and ending with the first day of the month next following that date. 
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PLAN OF INSURANCE 
 

EMPLOYEE BENEFIT SCHEDULE 
 

EMPLOYEE TERM LIFE INSURANCE: 
 

 

Basic Life Insurance 
 

 

 Eligible Class Amount of Basic Life Insurance 
   
 All employees One times annual regular pay, rounded to the next higher $1,000, if not already 

a multiple thereof, subject to a minimum benefit of $50,000 and maximum 

benefit of $250,000. 

 
Supplemental Employee Life Insurance 
 

 Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Employee Life Insurance 
   

 All employees An amount elected by the employee, in an increment of $10,000, subject to a 

minimum of $10,000 and a maximum of $500,000. 

 
BASIC LIFE INSURANCE ADDITIONAL BENEFIT: 
  

Basic Life Insurance Repatriation Benefit 
 

 Eligible Class Amount of Insurance 
   

 All employees If a death benefit becomes payable for an insured under this policy we will pay 

an additional benefit to reimburse the person who incurs the transportation 

expenses to transport the insured’s body to a mortuary near his or her primary 

residence, but not to exceed the lesser of $5,000 or 10% of the basic life 

insurance, if the insured dies more than 200 miles from his or her primary place 

of residence. 

 
EMPLOYEE ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE: 
 
Basic and Supplemental Insurance  

  

 Eligible Class Amount of Basic and Supplemental Employee AD&D Insurance 
   

 All employees An amount equal to the amount of Basic and Supplemental Employee Life 

Insurance for which the employee is insured under the group policy. 

 

GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR EMPLOYEE INSURANCE 
 

RETIREMENT REDUCTIONS: All insurance terminates at retirement, except as provided for under the 

portability provision.  

  

CONTRIBUTORY/NONCONTRIBUTORY: Basic insurance is noncontributory insurance; supplemental employee insurance 

is contributory insurance. 

  

GUARANTEED ISSUE AMOUNT: Guaranteed issue is the maximum amount of insurance an employee can receive 

without evidence of insurability when first eligible under the plan provided 

enrollment is made within the enrollment period.  The amounts are as follows: 

  

 For basic insurance: 

  All basic insurance is guaranteed issue. 
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 For supplemental employee insurance: 

  For employees in an eligible class immediately prior to the 

effective date of the group policy:  
 

   An amount equal to the amount of contributory insurance for which 

the employee was insured under the prior carrier’s group policy on 

the day immediately preceding the effective date of this policy.  

  For employees who first become eligible after the effective date of this 

policy:  

  $100,000. 

  

EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY: Evidence of insurability is required as stated in the policy and for an amount of 

insurance greater than the guaranteed issue amount. 

 

EFFECTIVE DATE OF INCREASES AND 
DECREASES DUE TO CHANGE IN 
REGULAR PAY 

Increases and decreases due to a change in regular pay will become effective the 

date of the change in regular pay. For purposes of insurance under this policy, 

the date of the change in regular pay means the date the payroll system is 

updated. Evidence of insurability will not be required for an increase in 

insurance due solely to an increase in regular pay. All increases are subject to 

the actively at work requirement.  

 

DEPENDENTS BENEFIT SCHEDULE 
 

DEPENDENTS TERM LIFE INSURANCE: 
An employee must be approved for Supplemental Employee Life and matching accidental death and dismemberment coverage under 

this plan to be eligible to elect Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner and Supplemental Child Life and 

matching accidental death and dismemberment coverage.   
 

Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner Life Insurance 
 

 Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic 
Partner Life Insurance 

   

 All employees An amount elected by the employee, in an increment of $10,000, subject to a  

minimum of $10,000 and subject to a maximum of the lesser of 50% of the 

employee’s supplemental amount of insurance or $250,000. 

  

Supplemental Child Life Insurance 
 

 Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Child Life Insurance 
   

 All employees $5,000 or $10,000, as elected by the employee.  Supplemental child coverage 

cannot exceed 50% of the Employee’s Supplemental amount of insurance. 

   

DEPENDENTS ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE: 
 
Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner and Child AD&D Insurance 
  

 Eligible Class Amount of Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner and Child 
AD&D Insurance 

   
 All employees An amount equal to the amount of Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union 

Partner/Domestic Partner and Child Life insurance for which the spouse/civil 

union partner/domestic partner and/or child are insured under the group policy. 
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GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR DEPENDENTS INSURANCE 
 

GRANDFATHERED COVERAGE: 
 

There is a group of grandfathered employees who were able to elect coverage 

on his or her spouse and/or children without electing Supplemental Employee 

Life/AD&D coverage.  The coverage for this group that is currently in place 

was elected prior to January 1, 2003.  The list of this closed grandfathered group 

is on file and of record with the policyholder and Minnesota Life. 

 

There is a group of grandfathered employees in which the spouse coverage 

maximum of “the lessor of 50% of the employee’s supplemental amount of 

insurance or $150,000” does not apply.  The coverage for this group that is 

currently in place was elected prior to January 1, 2003 and their coverage 

amounts are outside of the current plan parameters.  The list of this closed 

grandfathered group is on file and of record with the policyholder and 

Minnesota Life. 

 

If an employee has Supplement Employee Life/AD&D and Supplemental 

Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner Life/AD&D coverage, and the 

spouse/ civil union partner/domestic partner becomes a State employee, then the 

spouse/ civil union partner/domestic partner may receive an amount of 

Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage, on a guarantee issue basis, 

equal to the amount he/she had as a spouse/ civil union partner/domestic 

partner.  The request for new Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage 

must be made within 31 days of the date that the spouse/ civil union 

partner/domestic partner coverage ends.  

  

CONTINUED DEPENDENTS INSURANCE 
UPON THE DEATH OF THE EMPLOYEE: 

Notwithstanding anything in the policy to the contrary, any dependents term life 

and accidental death and dismemberment insurance that is in force at the time of 

an employee’s death shall remain in force for five months from the date of the 

employee’s death, with no further premium payment required. 

 
CONTRIBUTORY/NONCONTRIBUTORY: Dependents insurance is contributory insurance. 
  

GUARANTEED ISSUE AMOUNT: Guaranteed issue is the maximum amount of insurance an eligible dependent 

can receive without evidence of insurability when first eligible under the plan 

provided enrollment is made within the enrollment period.  The amounts are as 

follows: 

  

 For employees with eligible dependents immediately prior to the effective date 

of this policy, the guaranteed issue amount is equal to the amount of dependents 

insurance for which they were insured under the prior group policy.  

  

 For employees who first become eligible for dependents insurance after the 

effective date of this policy, the guaranteed issue amount is as follows: 

  For Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner  

Insurance:  $30,000 

  For Supplemental Child Insurance:  $10,000* 

  

 *  As an exception, evidence of insurability is never required of a child 

regardless of when application is made (new hire, family status change, or 

annual enrollment.) 

 

EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY: Evidence of insurability is required as stated in the policy and for an amount of 

insurance greater than the guaranteed issue amount. 

  

EFFECT OF EMPLOYEE’S RETIREMENT: All dependents insurance terminates upon the employee’s retirement except as 

provided under the portability provision. 
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ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 
  

WAIVER OF PREMIUM APPLICATION: Applies to contributory and noncontributory employee insurance.  
 

 

ELECTION CHANGES:   Election changes can be made at any time, except child life changes are limited 

to annual enrollment or within 31 days of a Family Status Change. 

 

An employee may make changes to his or her elections at annual open 

enrollment or within 31 days of a Family Status Change without providing any 

evidence of insurability: 

 

1. Any reduction or termination of coverage. 

2. Any election for child life insurance. 

3. For changes due to a Family Status Change:  Any increase in 

Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D insurance that does not exceed 

the guaranteed issue of $100,000, including enrolling in Supplemental 

Employee Life/AD&D for the first time for up to $100,000.   

4. For changes due to a Family Status Change:  Any increase in 

Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner Life 

insurance that does not exceed the guaranteed issue of $30,000, 

including enrolling in Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union 

Partner/Domestic Partner Life/AD&D for the first time for up to 

$30,000.   

 

Any amount requested above these amounts or any change requested outside of 

these events shall require evidence of insurability and will not be effective 

unless and until the evidence is approved by Minnesota Life. 

  

Family Status Change means: 

 Birth or adoption or otherwise acquiring a newly eligible child 

 Death of a spouse/civil union partner/domestic partner 

 Marriage 

 Declaration of domestic partnership 

 Establishment of a civil union partnership 

 

SPECIAL MARRIED/DOMESTIC 
PARTNERSHIP EMPLOYEES RULES: 

 If an employee is insured for Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union 

Partner/Domestic Partner Life/AD&D coverage and that spouse/ civil 

union partner/domestic partner coverage terminates, the employee can 

apply for Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D on a guaranteed issue 

basis equal to the amount he or she had as a spouse/civil union 

partner/domestic partner.  The request for new Supplemental Employee 

Life/AD&D coverage must be made within 31 days of the date that the 

Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner coverage 

ends. 

 If an employee has Supplement Employee Life/AD&D and 

Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner 

Life/AD&D coverage, and the spouse/civil union partner/domestic 

partner becomes a State employee, then the spouse/ civil union 

partner/domestic partner may receive an amount of Supplemental 

Employee Life/AD&D coverage, on a guaranteed issue basis, equal to 

the amount he or she had as a spouse/ civil union partner/domestic 

partner, but not less than $100,000 and not to exceed $250,000.  The 

request for new Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage must be 

made within 31 days of the date that the Supplemental Spouse/Civil 

Union Partner/Domestic Partner coverage ends. 
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 If two State employees are married, or have established a civil union 

partnership or have declared a domestic partnership and both have 

Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage, and one employee 

terminates employment with the State and loses their Supplemental 

Employee Life/AD&D coverage, then the other remaining employee 

may add Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner 

coverage, on a guarantee issue basis, up to an amount not to exceed the 

lesser of: 

 the amount that was in place as Supplemental Employee 

Life/AD&D coverage for the terminated employee;  

 50% of the remaining employee’s amount of coverage; 

and 

  $250,000.  

 
 The request for new Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union 

Partner/Domestic Partner Life/AD&D coverage must be made within 

31 days of the date that the employee coverage ends. 
  
  

RIDER(S) TO THE GROUP POLICY  

Accidental Death and Dismemberment  

Dependents Term Life  

Portability  

Waiver of Premium  

Accelerated Benefits  
 



33780-G/1   Policy Amendment        Minnesota Life 1 

Group Term Life Policy Amendment #1 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company 
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098

To be attached to and made a part of Group Policy No. 33780-G issued by Minnesota Life Insurance Company to the 
State of Colorado.  This amendment is effective as of July 1, 2015.  Continued payment of premiums shall constitute 
acceptance of the conditions stated in this amendment.  

The employee Basic Life and Basic Accidental Death and Dismemberment (AD&D) has been modified to be one times 
annual regular pay. As a result, the Employee Benefit Schedule Basic Employee Term Life Insurance section of the Group 
Policy Specifications page has been modified to read as follows: 

Basic Employee Term life Insurance 

    Eligible Class             Amount of Life Insurance 
    All employees             One times annual regular pay, rounded to the next higher 

$1,000, if not already a multiple thereof, subject to a minimum 
benefit of $50,000 and a maximum benefit of $150,000. 

The title “earning” under the Definitions section of the Group Term Life policy has been changed to read “regular pay” 

As a result of these changes, the Group Policy Specification Page is replaced with the attached Group Policy 
Specification Page effective July 1, 2015 and the Group Life Insurance Policy is replaced in its entirety with the attached 
Group Term Life Insurance Policy. 

Agreed to by Minnesota Life Insurance Company this 27th day of April 2015.   

By ___________________________________ 
CAS 

 Second Vice President 
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   GROUP POLICY SPECIFICATIONS PAGE 
GENERAL INFORMATION 

POLICYHOLDER: State of Colorado POLICY NO.:  33780-G 

ASSOCIATED COMPANIES: All subsidiaries and affiliates reported to Minnesota Life by the policyholder for 
inclusion in the policy. 

POLICY EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2014. This Specification Page represents the plan in effect as of July 1, 2015. 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company has issued Group Policy Number 33780-G to the 
State of Colorado effective as of July 1, 2014 as a replacement for an earlier policy 
containing the same number.  Continued payment of premiums by State of Colorado 
shall constitute acceptance of the replacement policy. 

In no case shall Minnesota Life Insurance Company be liable under both policies. 

POLICY ANNIVERSARY DATE: July 1 of each year beginning July 1, 2015. 

PREMIUM DUE DATE(S): The first day of each month.  Minnesota Life and the policyholder agree that 
premiums can be paid no later than the 45th day following the premium due date. 

GROUP: This group is composed of all eligible employees as defined by Colorado State Statute.  
Permanent part-time employees are included in this definition.  Eligible employee is 
defined as:  Employee means any officer or employee under the state personnel system 
of the state of Colorado whose salary is paid by state funds or any employee of the 
department of education, the Colorado commission on higher education, or the 
Colorado school for the deaf and the blind whose salary is paid by state funds, or any 
member of the military employed pursuant to section 28-3-904 C.R.S.  Employee 
includes any officer or employee of the legislative or judicial branch, any elected or 
appointed state official or employee who receives compensation other than expense 
reimbursement from the state funds, any elected state official who does not receive 
compensation other than expense reimbursement from state funds, and includes any 
member of the board of assessment appeals.  Employee does not include persons 
employed on a temporary basis; except that it shall include a member of the military 
employed pursuant to section 28-3-904 C.R.S. for more than 30 consecutive days. 

Employee does not include an employee insured under the University of Colorado 
group life insurance plan or a full-time member of the armed forces of any country. 

ENROLLMENT PERIOD: Not applicable for noncontributory insurance.  

For contributory insurance: 

For employees who are newly eligible, the enrollment period is equal to 31 days from 
the date the person meets the definition of group. 

For employees who first become eligible for dependent insurance after the newly 
eligible enrollment period, the enrollment period for dependent life is 31 days from the 
first day of eligibility. 

WAITING PERIOD: The period commencing with the date a person meets the definition of “GROUP” 
above and ending with the first day of the month next following that date. 

PLAN OF INSURANCE 

EMPLOYEE BENEFIT SCHEDULE 

EMPLOYEE TERM LIFE INSURANCE: 

Basic Life Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Basic Life Insurance 

All employees One times annual regular pay, rounded to the next higher $1,000, if not already 
a multiple thereof, subject to a minimum benefit of $50,000 and maximum 
benefit of $150,000. 
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Supplemental Employee Life Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Employee Life Insurance 

All employees An amount elected by the employee, in an increment of $10,000, subject to a 
minimum of $10,000 and a maximum of $500,000. 

BASIC LIFE INSURANCE ADDITIONAL BENEFIT: 

Basic Life Insurance Repatriation Benefit 

Eligible Class Amount of Insurance 

All employees If a death benefit becomes payable for an insured under this policy we will pay 
an additional benefit to reimburse the person who incurs the transportation 
expenses to transport the insured’s body to a mortuary near his or her primary 
residence, but not to exceed the lesser of $5,000 or 10% of the basic life 
insurance, if the insured dies more than 200 miles from his or her primary place 
of residence. 

EMPLOYEE ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE: 

Basic and Supplemental Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Basic and Supplemental Employee AD&D Insurance 

All employees An amount equal to the amount of Basic and Supplemental Employee Life 
Insurance for which the employee is insured under the group policy. 

GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR EMPLOYEE INSURANCE 

RETIREMENT REDUCTIONS: All insurance terminates at retirement, except as provided for under the 
portability provision.  

CONTRIBUTORY/NONCONTRIBUTORY: Basic insurance is noncontributory insurance; supplemental employee insurance 
is contributory insurance. 

GUARANTEED ISSUE AMOUNT: Guaranteed issue is the maximum amount of insurance an employee can receive 
without evidence of insurability when first eligible under the plan provided 
enrollment is made within the enrollment period.  The amounts are as follows: 

For basic insurance: 
All basic insurance is guaranteed issue. 

For supplemental employee insurance: 
For employees in an eligible class immediately prior to the 
effective date of the group policy:  

An amount equal to the amount of contributory insurance for which 
the employee was insured under the prior carrier’s group policy on 
the day immediately preceding the effective date of this policy.  

For employees who first become eligible after the effective date of this 
policy:  

$100,000. 

EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY: Evidence of insurability is required as stated in the policy and for an amount of 
insurance greater than the guaranteed issue amount. 
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EFFECTIVE DATE OF INCREASES AND 
DECREASES DUE TO CHANGE IN 
REGULAR PAY 

Increases and decreases due to a change in regular pay will become effective the 
date of the change in regular pay. For purposes of insurance under this policy, 
the date of the change in regular pay means the date the payroll system is 
updated. Evidence of insurability will not be required for an increase in 
insurance due solely to an increase in regular pay. All increases are subject to 
the actively at work requirement.  

DEPENDENTS BENEFIT SCHEDULE 

DEPENDENTS TERM LIFE INSURANCE: 
An employee must be approved for Supplemental Employee Life and matching accidental death and dismemberment coverage under 
this plan to be eligible to elect Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner and Supplemental Child Life and 
matching accidental death and dismemberment coverage.   

Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner Life Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic 
Partner Life Insurance 

All employees An amount elected by the employee, in an increment of $10,000, subject to a 
minimum of $10,000 and subject to a maximum of the lesser of 50% of the 
employee’s supplemental amount of insurance or $250,000. 

Supplemental Child Life Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Child Life Insurance 

All employees $5,000 or $10,000, as elected by the employee.  Supplemental child coverage 
cannot exceed 50% of the Employee’s Supplemental amount of insurance. 

DEPENDENTS ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE: 

Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner and Child AD&D Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner and Child 
AD&D Insurance 

All employees An amount equal to the amount of Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union 
Partner/Domestic Partner and Child Life insurance for which the spouse/civil 
union partner/domestic partner and/or child are insured under the group policy. 

GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR DEPENDENTS INSURANCE 

GRANDFATHERED COVERAGE: There is a group of grandfathered employees who were able to elect coverage 
on his or her spouse and/or children without electing Supplemental Employee 
Life/AD&D coverage.  The coverage for this group that is currently in place 
was elected prior to January 1, 2003.  The list of this closed grandfathered group 
is on file and of record with the policyholder and Minnesota Life. 

There is a group of grandfathered employees in which the spouse coverage 
maximum of “the lessor of 50% of the employee’s supplemental amount of 
insurance or $150,000” does not apply.  The coverage for this group that is 
currently in place was elected prior to January 1, 2003 and their coverage 
amounts are outside of the current plan parameters.  The list of this closed 
grandfathered group is on file and of record with the policyholder and 
Minnesota Life. 

If an employee has Supplement Employee Life/AD&D and Supplemental 
Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner Life/AD&D coverage, and the 
spouse/ civil union partner/domestic partner becomes a State employee, then the 
spouse/ civil union partner/domestic partner may receive an amount of 
Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage, on a guarantee issue basis, 
equal to the amount he/she had as a spouse/ civil union partner/domestic 
partner.  The request for new Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage 
must be made within 31 days of the date that the spouse/ civil union 
partner/domestic partner coverage ends.  
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CONTINUED DEPENDENTS INSURANCE 
UPON THE DEATH OF THE EMPLOYEE: 

Notwithstanding anything in the policy to the contrary, any dependents term life 
and accidental death and dismemberment insurance that is in force at the time of 
an employee’s death shall remain in force for five months from the date of the 
employee’s death, with no further premium payment required. 

CONTRIBUTORY/NONCONTRIBUTORY: Dependents insurance is contributory insurance. 

GUARANTEED ISSUE AMOUNT: Guaranteed issue is the maximum amount of insurance an eligible dependent 
can receive without evidence of insurability when first eligible under the plan 
provided enrollment is made within the enrollment period.  The amounts are as 
follows: 

For employees with eligible dependents immediately prior to the effective date 
of this policy, the guaranteed issue amount is equal to the amount of dependents 
insurance for which they were insured under the prior group policy.  

For employees who first become eligible for dependents insurance after the 
effective date of this policy, the guaranteed issue amount is as follows: 

For Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner 
Insurance:  $30,000 
For Supplemental Child Insurance:  $10,000* 

* As an exception, evidence of insurability is never required of a child
regardless of when application is made (new hire, family status change, or
annual enrollment.)

EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY: Evidence of insurability is required as stated in the policy and for an amount of 
insurance greater than the guaranteed issue amount. 

EFFECT OF EMPLOYEE’S RETIREMENT: All dependents insurance terminates upon the employee’s retirement except as 
provided under the portability provision. 

 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

WAIVER OF PREMIUM APPLICATION: Applies to contributory and noncontributory employee insurance. 

ELECTION CHANGES: Election changes can be made at any time, except child life changes are limited 
to annual enrollment or within 31 days of a Family Status Change. 

An employee may make changes to his or her elections at annual open 
enrollment or within 31 days of a Family Status Change without providing any 
evidence of insurability: 

1. Any reduction or termination of coverage.

2. Any election for child life insurance.

3. For changes due to a Family Status Change:  Any increase in
Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D insurance that does not exceed
the guaranteed issue of $100,000, including enrolling in Supplemental
Employee Life/AD&D for the first time for up to $100,000.

4. For changes due to a Family Status Change:  Any increase in
Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner Life
insurance that does not exceed the guaranteed issue of $30,000,
including enrolling in Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union
Partner/Domestic Partner Life/AD&D for the first time for up to
$30,000.

Any amount requested above these amounts or any change requested outside of 
these events shall require evidence of insurability and will not be effective 
unless and until the evidence is approved by Minnesota Life. 

Family Status Change means: 
 Birth or adoption or otherwise acquiring a newly eligible child
 Death of a spouse/civil union partner/domestic partner
 Marriage
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 Declaration of domestic partnership
 Establishment of a civil union partnership

SPECIAL MARRIED/DOMESTIC 
PARTNERSHIP EMPLOYEES RULES: 

 If an employee is insured for Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union
Partner/Domestic Partner Life/AD&D coverage and that spouse/ civil
union partner/domestic partner coverage terminates, the employee can
apply for Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D on a guaranteed issue
basis equal to the amount he or she had as a spouse/civil union
partner/domestic partner.  The request for new Supplemental Employee
Life/AD&D coverage must be made within 31 days of the date that the
Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner coverage
ends.

 If an employee has Supplement Employee Life/AD&D and
Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner
Life/AD&D coverage, and the spouse/civil union partner/domestic
partner becomes a State employee, then the spouse/ civil union
partner/domestic partner may receive an amount of Supplemental
Employee Life/AD&D coverage, on a guaranteed issue basis, equal to
the amount he or she had as a spouse/ civil union partner/domestic
partner, but not less than $100,000 and not to exceed $250,000.  The
request for new Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage must be
made within 31 days of the date that the Supplemental Spouse/Civil
Union Partner/Domestic Partner coverage ends.

 If two State employees are married, or have established a civil union
partnership or have declared a domestic partnership and both have
Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage, and one employee
terminates employment with the State and loses their Supplemental
Employee Life/AD&D coverage, then the other remaining employee
may add Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner
coverage, on a guarantee issue basis, up to an amount not to exceed the
lesser of:

 the amount that was in place as Supplemental Employee
Life/AD&D coverage for the terminated employee;

 50% of the remaining employee’s amount of coverage;
and

 $250,000.

The request for new Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union 
Partner/Domestic Partner Life/AD&D coverage must be made within 
31 days of the date that the employee coverage ends. 

RIDER(S) TO THE GROUP POLICY 
Accidental Death and Dismemberment 
Dependents Term Life 
Portability 
Waiver of Premium 
Accelerated Benefits 
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Group Term Life Insurance Policy 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company 
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098

Read Your Policy Carefully 

This policy was issued to the policyholder on the effective 
date shown on the specifications page attached to this 
policy. We promise to pay the benefits provided by this 
policy, subject to its conditions, limitations, and 
exceptions. We make this promise and issue this policy in 
consideration of the application for this policy and the 
payment of the premiums. 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company is a subsidiary of 
Minnesota Mutual Companies, Inc., a mutual insurance 
holding company. The policyholder is a member of 
Minnesota Mutual Companies, Inc., which holds its annual 
meetings on the first Tuesday in March of each year at 3 
p.m. local time. The meetings are held at 400 Robert 
Street North, St. Paul, Minnesota 55101-2098. 

Secretary President 
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   GROUP POLICY SPECIFICATIONS PAGE 
GENERAL INFORMATION 

POLICYHOLDER: State of Colorado POLICY NO.:  33780-G 

ASSOCIATED COMPANIES: All subsidiaries and affiliates reported to Minnesota Life by the policyholder for 
inclusion in the policy. 

POLICY EFFECTIVE DATE: July 1, 2014. This Specification Page represents the plan in effect as of July 1, 2015. 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company has issued Group Policy Number 33780-G to the 
State of Colorado effective as of July 1, 2014 as a replacement for an earlier policy 
containing the same number.  Continued payment of premiums by State of Colorado 
shall constitute acceptance of the replacement policy. 

In no case shall Minnesota Life Insurance Company be liable under both policies. 

POLICY ANNIVERSARY DATE: July 1 of each year beginning July 1, 2015. 

PREMIUM DUE DATE(S): The first day of each month.  Minnesota Life and the policyholder agree that 
premiums can be paid no later than the 45th day following the premium due date. 

GROUP: This group is composed of all eligible employees as defined by Colorado State Statute.  
Permanent part-time employees are included in this definition.  Eligible employee is 
defined as:  Employee means any officer or employee under the state personnel system 
of the state of Colorado whose salary is paid by state funds or any employee of the 
department of education, the Colorado commission on higher education, or the 
Colorado school for the deaf and the blind whose salary is paid by state funds, or any 
member of the military employed pursuant to section 28-3-904 C.R.S.  Employee 
includes any officer or employee of the legislative or judicial branch, any elected or 
appointed state official or employee who receives compensation other than expense 
reimbursement from the state funds, any elected state official who does not receive 
compensation other than expense reimbursement from state funds, and includes any 
member of the board of assessment appeals.  Employee does not include persons 
employed on a temporary basis; except that it shall include a member of the military 
employed pursuant to section 28-3-904 C.R.S. for more than 30 consecutive days. 

Employee does not include an employee insured under the University of Colorado 
group life insurance plan or a full-time member of the armed forces of any country. 

ENROLLMENT PERIOD: Not applicable for noncontributory insurance.  

For contributory insurance: 

For employees who are newly eligible, the enrollment period is equal to 31 days from 
the date the person meets the definition of group. 

For employees who first become eligible for dependent insurance after the newly 
eligible enrollment period, the enrollment period for dependent life is 31 days from the 
first day of eligibility. 

WAITING PERIOD: The period commencing with the date a person meets the definition of “GROUP” 
above and ending with the first day of the month next following that date. 

PLAN OF INSURANCE 

EMPLOYEE BENEFIT SCHEDULE 

EMPLOYEE TERM LIFE INSURANCE: 

Basic Life Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Basic Life Insurance 

All employees One times annual base earnings, rounded to the next higher $1000 if not already 
a multiple thereof subject to a minimum of $50,000 and maximum of $150,000. 
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Supplemental Employee Life Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Employee Life Insurance 

All employees An amount elected by the employee, in an increment of $10,000, subject to a 
minimum of $10,000 and a maximum of $500,000. 

BASIC LIFE INSURANCE ADDITIONAL BENEFIT: 

Basic Life Insurance Repatriation Benefit 

Eligible Class Amount of Insurance 

All employees If a death benefit becomes payable for an insured under this policy we will pay 
an additional benefit to reimburse the person who incurs the transportation 
expenses to transport the insured’s body to a mortuary near his or her primary 
residence, but not to exceed the lesser of $5,000 or 10% of the basic life 
insurance, if the insured dies more than 200 miles from his or her primary place 
of residence. 

EMPLOYEE ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE: 

Basic and Supplemental Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Basic and Supplemental Employee AD&D Insurance 

All employees An amount equal to the amount of Basic and Supplemental Employee Life 
Insurance for which the employee is insured under the group policy. 

GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR EMPLOYEE INSURANCE 

RETIREMENT REDUCTIONS: All insurance terminates at retirement, except as provided for under the 
portability provision.  

CONTRIBUTORY/NONCONTRIBUTORY: Basic insurance is noncontributory insurance; supplemental employee insurance 
is contributory insurance. 

GUARANTEED ISSUE AMOUNT: Guaranteed issue is the maximum amount of insurance an employee can receive 
without evidence of insurability when first eligible under the plan provided 
enrollment is made within the enrollment period.  The amounts are as follows: 

For basic insurance: 
All basic insurance is guaranteed issue. 

For supplemental employee insurance: 
For employees in an eligible class immediately prior to the 
effective date of the group policy:  

An amount equal to the amount of contributory insurance for which 
the employee was insured under the prior carrier’s group policy on 
the day immediately preceding the effective date of this policy.  

For employees who first become eligible after the effective date of this 
policy:  

$100,000. 

EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY: Evidence of insurability is required as stated in the policy and for an amount of 
insurance greater than the guaranteed issue amount. 
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DEPENDENTS BENEFIT SCHEDULE 

DEPENDENTS TERM LIFE INSURANCE: 
An employee must be approved for Supplemental Employee Life and matching accidental death and dismemberment coverage under 
this plan to be eligible to elect Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner and Supplemental Child Life and 
matching accidental death and dismemberment coverage.   

Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner Life Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic 
Partner Life Insurance 

All employees An amount elected by the employee, in an increment of $10,000, subject to a 
minimum of $10,000 and subject to a maximum of the lesser of 50% of the 
employee’s supplemental amount of insurance or $250,000. 

Supplemental Child Life Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Supplemental Child Life Insurance 

All employees $5,000 or $10,000, as elected by the employee.  Supplemental child coverage 
cannot exceed 50% of the Employee’s Supplemental amount of insurance. 

DEPENDENTS ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEMBERMENT (AD&D) INSURANCE: 

Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner and Child AD&D Insurance 

Eligible Class Amount of Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner and Child 
AD&D Insurance 

All employees An amount equal to the amount of Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union 
Partner/Domestic Partner and Child Life insurance for which the spouse/civil 
union partner/domestic partner and/or child are insured under the group policy. 

GENERAL PROVISIONS FOR DEPENDENTS INSURANCE 

GRANDFATHERED COVERAGE: There is a group of grandfathered employees who were able to elect coverage 
on his or her spouse and/or children without electing Supplemental Employee 
Life/AD&D coverage.  The coverage for this group that is currently in place 
was elected prior to January 1, 2003.  The list of this closed grandfathered group 
is on file and of record with the policyholder and Minnesota Life. 

There is a group of grandfathered employees in which the spouse coverage 
maximum of “the lessor of 50% of the employee’s supplemental amount of 
insurance or $150,000” does not apply.  The coverage for this group that is 
currently in place was elected prior to January 1, 2003 and their coverage 
amounts are outside of the current plan parameters.  The list of this closed 
grandfathered group is on file and of record with the policyholder and 
Minnesota Life. 

If an employee has Supplement Employee Life/AD&D and Supplemental 
Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner Life/AD&D coverage, and the 
spouse/ civil union partner/domestic partner becomes a State employee, then the 
spouse/ civil union partner/domestic partner may receive an amount of 
Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage, on a guarantee issue basis, 
equal to the amount he/she had as a spouse/ civil union partner/domestic 
partner.  The request for new Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage 
must be made within 31 days of the date that the spouse/ civil union 
partner/domestic partner coverage ends.  

CONTINUED DEPENDENTS INSURANCE 
UPON THE DEATH OF THE EMPLOYEE: 

Notwithstanding anything in the policy to the contrary, any dependents term life 
and accidental death and dismemberment insurance that is in force at the time of 
an employee’s death shall remain in force for five months from the date of the 
employee’s death, with no further premium payment required. 

CONTRIBUTORY/NONCONTRIBUTORY: Dependents insurance is contributory insurance. 



F.70944 D

GUARANTEED ISSUE AMOUNT: Guaranteed issue is the maximum amount of insurance an eligible dependent 
can receive without evidence of insurability when first eligible under the plan 
provided enrollment is made within the enrollment period.  The amounts are as 
follows: 

For employees with eligible dependents immediately prior to the effective date 
of this policy, the guaranteed issue amount is equal to the amount of dependents 
insurance for which they were insured under the prior group policy.  

For employees who first become eligible for dependents insurance after the 
effective date of this policy, the guaranteed issue amount is as follows: 

For Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner 
Insurance:  $30,000 
For Supplemental Child Insurance:  $10,000* 

* As an exception, evidence of insurability is never required of a child
regardless of when application is made (new hire, family status change, or
annual enrollment.)

EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY: Evidence of insurability is required as stated in the policy and for an amount of 
insurance greater than the guaranteed issue amount. 

EFFECT OF EMPLOYEE’S RETIREMENT: All dependents insurance terminates upon the employee’s retirement except as 
provided under the portability provision. 

 

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION 

WAIVER OF PREMIUM APPLICATION: Applies to contributory and noncontributory employee insurance. 

ELECTION CHANGES:   Election changes can be made at any time, except child life changes are limited 
to annual enrollment or within 31 days of a Family Status Change. 

An employee may make changes to his or her elections at annual open 
enrollment or within 31 days of a Family Status Change without providing any 
evidence of insurability: 

1. Any reduction or termination of coverage.

2. Any election for child life insurance.

3. For changes due to a Family Status Change:  Any increase in
Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D insurance that does not exceed
the guaranteed issue of $100,000, including enrolling in Supplemental
Employee Life/AD&D for the first time for up to $100,000.

4. For changes due to a Family Status Change:  Any increase in
Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner Life
insurance that does not exceed the guaranteed issue of $30,000,
including enrolling in Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union
Partner/Domestic Partner Life/AD&D for the first time for up to
$30,000.

Any amount requested above these amounts or any change requested outside of 
these events shall require evidence of insurability and will not be effective 
unless and until the evidence is approved by Minnesota Life. 

Family Status Change means: 
 Birth or adoption or otherwise acquiring a newly eligible child
 Death of a spouse/civil union partner/domestic partner
 Marriage
 Declaration of domestic partnership
 Establishment of a civil union partnership
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SPECIAL MARRIED/DOMESTIC 
PARTNERSHIP EMPLOYEES RULES: 

 If an employee is insured for Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union
Partner/Domestic Partner Life/AD&D coverage and that spouse/ civil
union partner/domestic partner coverage terminates, the employee can
apply for Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D on a guaranteed issue
basis equal to the amount he or she had as a spouse/civil union
partner/domestic partner.  The request for new Supplemental Employee
Life/AD&D coverage must be made within 31 days of the date that the
Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner coverage
ends.

 If an employee has Supplement Employee Life/AD&D and
Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner
Life/AD&D coverage, and the spouse/civil union partner/domestic
partner becomes a State employee, then the spouse/ civil union
partner/domestic partner may receive an amount of Supplemental
Employee Life/AD&D coverage, on a guaranteed issue basis, equal to
the amount he or she had as a spouse/ civil union partner/domestic
partner, but not less than $100,000 and not to exceed $250,000.  The
request for new Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage must be
made within 31 days of the date that the Supplemental Spouse/Civil
Union Partner/Domestic Partner coverage ends.

 If two State employees are married, or have established a civil union
partnership or have declared a domestic partnership and both have
Supplemental Employee Life/AD&D coverage, and one employee
terminates employment with the State and loses their Supplemental
Employee Life/AD&D coverage, then the other remaining employee
may add Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner
coverage, on a guarantee issue basis, up to an amount not to exceed the
lesser of:

 the amount that was in place as Supplemental Employee
Life/AD&D coverage for the terminated employee;

 50% of the remaining employee’s amount of coverage;
and

 $250,000.

The request for new Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union 
Partner/Domestic Partner Life/AD&D coverage must be made within 
31 days of the date that the employee coverage ends. 

RIDER(S) TO THE GROUP POLICY 
Accidental Death and Dismemberment 
Dependents Term Life 
Portability 
Waiver of Premium 
Accelerated Benefits 
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Definitions 

associated company 

Any company which is a subsidiary or affiliate of the 
policyholder which is designated by the policyholder and 
agreed to by us to participate under this policy. 

certificate effective date 

The date the insured's coverage under this policy 
becomes effective. 

certificate holder 

An employee who is eligible for and becomes insured 
according to the terms of this policy. 

contributory insurance 

Insurance for which an employee is required to make 
premium contributions. 

employee 

Any officer or employee under the state personnel system 
of the state of Colorado whose salary is paid by state 
funds or any employee of the department of education, the 
Colorado commission on higher education, or the 
Colorado school for the deaf and the blind whose salary is 
paid by state funds, or any member of the military 
employed pursuant to section 28-3-904 C.R.S.  Employee 
includes any officer or employee of the legislative or 
judicial branch, any elected or appointed state official or 
employee who receives compensation other than expense 
reimbursement from the state funds, any elected state 
official who does not receive compensation other than 
expense reimbursement from state funds, and includes 
any member of the board of assessment appeals.  
Employee does not include persons employed on a 
temporary basis; except that it shall include a member of 
the military employed pursuant to section 28-3-904 C.R.S. 
for more than 30 consecutive days. 

Employee does not include an employee insured under 
the University of Colorado group life insurance plan or a 
full-time member of the armed forces of any country. 

employer 

The policyholder or any designated associated 
companies. 

evidence of insurability 

Evidence satisfactory to us of the good health of the 
prospective insured and any other underwriting 
information we require. 

insured 

A person who is eligible for and becomes insured 
according to the terms of this policy.  

non-work day 

A day on which the employee is not regularly scheduled to 
work, including scheduled time off for vacations, personal 
holidays, weekends and holidays, and approved leaves of 
absence for non-medical reasons. 

Non-work day does not include time off for medical leave 
of absence, temporary layoff, employer suspension of 
operations in total or in part, strike, and any time off due to 
sickness or injury including sick days, short-term disability, 
or long-term disability. 

noncontributory insurance 

Insurance for which an employee is not required to make 
premium contributions. 

policy anniversary 

The policy anniversary date shown on the specifications 
page attached to this policy. 

policy effective date 

The date this policy was issued as shown on the 
specifications page attached to this policy. 

policyholder 

The owner of the group policy as shown on the 
specifications page attached to the group policy. 

regular pay 

An employee’s basic rate of compensation not including 
commissions, overtime or premium pay, bonuses, or any 
other additional compensation. 

specifications page 

The outline which summarizes the policyholder’s plan of 
insurance. 

waiting period 

The period, if any, of continuous employment with the 
employer required prior to becoming eligible for coverage 
under this policy.  The waiting period is shown on the 
specifications page attached to this policy. 

we, our, us 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company.  

you, your 

The policyholder named on the specifications page 
attached to this policy. 
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General Information 

What is your agreement with us? 

This policy and your application which is attached contain 
the entire contract between you and us. Any statements 
you make will be considered representations and not 
warranties. Also, any statement that you make will not be 
used to void this policy, nor will it be used in our defense if 
we refuse to pay a claim, unless the statement is 
contained in your application. 

No change or waiver of any provisions of this policy, or 
any certificate issued under it, will be valid unless made in 
writing by us and signed by our president, a vice-
president, our secretary, or an assistant secretary. No 
agent or other person has the authority to change or waive 
any provisions of this policy, or of any certificate issued 
under it.  

Are employees of associated companies eligible for 
insurance under this policy? 

Yes. Employees of associated companies may be eligible 
for insurance under this policy. Associated companies are 
shown on the specifications page attached to this policy.  
You represent any associated company in all transactions 
pertaining to this policy. Your acts or omissions and every 
notice given by us to you shall be binding on every 
associated company. When an associated company 
ceases its participation under the policy, the policy shall 
be considered to be terminated for all employees of the 
associated company. All provisions related to the policy 
terminating will apply to such employees. 

Can this policy be amended? 

Yes. The insured's consent is not required to amend this 
policy or any certificates issued under it. Any amendment 
will be without prejudice to any claim for benefits incurred 
prior to the effective date of the amendment.  

Who is eligible for insurance? 

An employee is eligible if he or she: 

(1) is a member of the group and of an eligible class 
as shown on the specifications page attached to 
this policy; and 

(2) has satisfied the waiting period as shown on the 
specifications page attached to this policy; and 

(3) meets the actively at work requirement as shown 
in the section entitled “What is the actively at work 
requirement?”. 

Are retired employees eligible for insurance? 

Retirees are not eligible under this policy except that 
coverage may be continued for a retiree under the 
portability provisions. 

What is the actively at work requirement? 

To be eligible to become insured or to receive an increase 
in the amount of insurance, an employee must be actively 
at work performing his or her customary duties at the 
employer’s normal place of business, or at other places 
the employer’s business requires him or her to travel. 

If the employee is not actively at work on the date 
coverage would otherwise begin, or on the date an 
increase in his or her amount of insurance would 
otherwise be effective, he or she will not be eligible for the 
coverage or increase until he or she returns to active 
work. However, if the absence is on a non-work day, 
coverage will not be delayed provided the employee was 
actively at work on the work day immediately preceding 
the non-work day. 

Except as otherwise provided for in this policy, an 
employee is eligible to continue to be insured only while 
he or she remains actively at work. 

When will we require evidence of insurability? 

Evidence of insurability will be required if: 

(1) the specifications page attached to this policy 
states that evidence of insurability is required; or 

(2) the insurance is contributory and the employee 
does not enroll within the enrollment period shown 
on the specifications page attached to this policy; 
or 

(3) the insurance for which the employee previously 
enrolled did not go into effect or was terminated 
because the employee failed to make a required 
premium contribution; or 

(4) during a previous period of eligibility, the 
employee failed to submit required evidence of 
insurability or that which was submitted was not 
satisfactory to us; or 

(5) the employee is insured by an individual policy 
issued under the terms of the conversion right 
section.  

When does insurance become effective? 

Insurance becomes effective on the date that all of the 
following conditions have been met: 

(1) an employee meets all eligibility requirements; 
and 

(2) if required, the employee applies for the insurance 
on forms which are approved by us; and 

(3) we are satisfied with the employee's evidence of 
insurability, if we require evidence; and 

(4) we receive the required premium. 
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Can an insured employee's coverage be continued 
during sickness, injury, leave of absence or temporary 
layoff? 

Yes. Insurance may be continued on an insured employee 
who is not actively at work due to sickness, injury, leave of 
absence or temporary layoff, subject to the employer’s 
practices and procedures, including the employer’s limits 
on the length of continuation allowed for the type of 
absence.  Continuation is subject to the following 
maximum time frames: 

(1) for an employee on non-medical leave of absence 
or temporary layoff, insurance cannot be 
continued beyond 12 months from the last day the 
insured employee was actively at work. 

(2) for an employee on a medical leave of absence, 
insurance cannot be continued beyond the later of 
12 months from the last day the insured employee 
was actively at work or the date the employee 
attains age 65. 

If an employee goes out on a military leave, insurance will 
terminate on the last date of employment prior to the 
leave. When the employee returns from the military leave 
as an active employee, his or her insurance will be 
reinstated at the same amount of insurance that he or she 
had prior to the military leave without having to provide 
evidence of insurability. 

Continuation of insurance must be in accordance with the 
practices and procedures that precludes individual 
selection. 

Coverage during a leave of absence and upon return from 
a leave of absence shall meet all state and federal 
requirements. The above limits will be expanded if 
necessary in order to meet such requirements. 

Premiums 

When and how often are premiums due? 

Unless we have agreed to some other premium payment 
procedure, premiums for this policy are remitted to us 
monthly. Premiums are due on the premium due date as 
shown on the specifications page attached to this policy.  
We apply premiums consecutively to keep the insurance 
in force.  

You may pay premiums before they are due for any period 
up to the next policy anniversary. Premiums paid in 
advance should be calculated at the rate of the monthly 
premium currently due. 

Premium contributions for contributory insurance are to be 
paid to you. The premium contributions by insureds for 
contributory insurance should be remitted to us as due 
along with the premiums payable for noncontributory 
insurance. 

How is the premium determined? 

The premium will be the premium rate multiplied by the 
number of $1,000 units of insurance in force on the date 
premiums are due. The premium may also be computed 
by any other method on which you and we agree. 

We may change the premium rate: 

(1) on any premium due date following the expiration 
of any rate guarantee period; or 

(2) anytime, if the policy terms are amended or the 
total amount of insurance in force changes by 
25% or more. 

Can a premium be paid after the date it is due? 

Yes. This policy has a 45-day grace period.  If a premium 
is not paid on or before the date it is due, that premium 
may be paid during the 45-day period following the due 
date. The insurance under this policy will remain in effect 
during the 45-day grace period. This grace period does 
not apply to the first premium payment.  

Death Benefit 

What is the amount of the death benefit? 

The amount of the death benefit is the amount of 
insurance shown on the specifications page attached to 
this group policy. 

Can an insured request a change in the amount of his 
or her contributory insurance? 

Yes. If the policyholder’s plan of insurance, as reflected in 
the specifications page attached to this policy, allows for a 
choice of amounts of insurance for the insured’s class, an 
insured can request an increase or a decrease in the 
amount of his or her contributory insurance within the 
limitations of the policyholder’s plan of insurance, 
including any limitations on when and how often such 
requests may be made.   

If an insured requests an increase in the amount of his or 
her contributory insurance, we will require evidence of 
insurability, unless otherwise noted on the specifications 
page. 

When will changes in an insured's coverage amount 
be effective? 

Requested increases in the amount of an insured’s 
contributory insurance, if approved, are effective on the 
date we approve the increase. Requested decreases in 
the amount of an insured’s contributory insurance are 
effective on the first day of the month following receipt of 
the insured’s request for a decrease, or if different, 
according to the administrative practices of the employer. 
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Requests for a change made during a special enrollment 
period offered by the employer will not become effective 
prior to the general effective date of elections made during 
that enrollment. 

Increases and decreases in insurance amounts which 
result from a change in the insured’s eligible class or 
earnings will be effective as shown on the specifications 
page attached to this policy. 

All increases in the amount of insurance are subject to the 
actively at work requirement. 

When will the death benefit be payable? 

We will pay the death benefit upon receipt at our home 
office of written proof satisfactory to us that an individual 
died while insured under this policy. All payments by us 
are payable from our home office. The death benefit will 
be paid in a single sum or by any other method agreeable 
to us and the beneficiary.   

To whom will we pay the death benefit? 

We will pay the death benefit to the beneficiary or 
beneficiaries. A beneficiary is named by an insured to 
receive the death benefit to be paid at the insured's death.  
The insured may name one or more beneficiaries. The 
insured cannot name you or an associated company as a 
beneficiary. 

The insured may also choose to name a beneficiary that 
the insured cannot change without the beneficiary’s 
consent. This is called an irrevocable beneficiary. 

If there is more than one beneficiary, each will receive an 
equal share, unless the insured has requested another 
method in writing. To receive the death benefit, a 
beneficiary must be living at the time of the insured's 
death. In the event a beneficiary is not living at the time of 
the insured’s death, that beneficiary’s portion of the death 
benefit shall be equally distributed to the remaining 
surviving beneficiaries. In the event of the simultaneous 
deaths of the insured and a beneficiary, the death benefit 
will be paid as if the insured survived the beneficiary.  

If there is no eligible beneficiary, or if the insured does not 
name one, we will pay the death benefit to: 

(1) the insured's lawful spouse/civil union partner 
(does not include a domestic partner) if living, 
otherwise; 

(2) the insured's natural or legally adopted child 
(children) in equal shares, if living, otherwise; 

(3) the insured's parents in equal shares, if living, 
otherwise; 

(4) the insured’s brothers and sisters in equal share, 
if living, otherwise; 

(5) the personal representative of the insured’s 
estate. 

Can an insured add or change beneficiaries? 

Yes. An insured can add or change beneficiaries if all of 
the following are true: 

(1) the insured's coverage is in force; and 
(2) we have written consent of all irrevocable 

beneficiaries; and 
(3) the insured has not assigned the ownership of his 

or her insurance. 

A request to add or change a beneficiary must be made in 
writing or in any other method made available. A change 
will take effect as of the date it is signed, but will not affect 
any payment we make or action we take before receiving 
an insured's notice. 

Termination 

When does an insured’s coverage terminate? 

The insured's coverage ends on the earliest of the 
following: 

(1) the date this policy ends; or 
(2) the end of the month in which the employee no 

longer meets the eligibility requirements; or 
(3) the date the policy is amended so the employee is 

no longer eligible; or 
(4) 45 days (the grace period) after the due date of 

any premium contribution which is not paid; or 
(5) the last day for which premium contributions have 

been paid following an employee's written request 
to cease participation under this policy. 

If an insured’s coverage under this policy terminates due 
to non-payment of premiums, his or her coverage may be 
reinstated if all premiums due are paid and received by us 
within 31 days of the date of termination and during the 
insured’s lifetime. 

Can insurance on the life of an insured be reinstated 
after termination? 

Yes. When an insured’s coverage terminates because he 
or she is no longer eligible, and the insured becomes 
eligible again within three months after the date his or her 
coverage terminated, the insured’s coverage under this 
policy may be reinstated. 

Provided the insured is not then covered by an individual 
policy issued under the terms of the conversion right 
section, his or her coverage under this group policy shall 
be reinstated automatically, without evidence of 
insurability or satisfaction of any waiting period. The 
amount of insurance will be that which applies to the 
classification to which he or she then belongs, on the date 
he or she again becomes eligible. If the policyholder’s plan 
of insurance provides for contributory insurance under this 
policy, an insured’s amount of contributory insurance will 
be limited to that for which he or she was insured 
immediately prior to the loss of coverage. 
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When does this group policy terminate? 

You may terminate this group policy by giving us 90 days 
prior written notice. We reserve the right to terminate this 
policy on the earliest of the following to occur: 

(1) 45 days (the grace period) after the due date of 
any premiums which are not paid; or 

(2) on any subsequent policy anniversary after the 
date the number of employees insured is less 
than any minimum established by us or as 
required by applicable state law; or 

(3) 180 days after we provide you with notice of our 
intent to terminate this policy. 

Can this policy be reinstated? 

No. We will not reinstate this policy after it terminates.  
You must submit a new application for a new policy after 
this policy has terminated. 

Conversion Right 

What is the conversion right? 

An insured can convert this insurance to a new individual 
life insurance policy if all or part of the insured's life 
insurance under this policy terminates. 

The insured may convert up to the full amount of 
terminated insurance if termination occurs because he or 
she moves from one existing eligible class to another, or 
he or she is no longer in an eligible class. 

What is the limited conversion right? 

Limited conversion is available if, after the insured has 
been insured for at least five years, insurance is 
terminated because: 

(1) the policy is terminated; or 
(2) the policy is changed to reduce or terminate the 

insurance for that individual. 

The insured may convert up to the full amount of 
terminated insurance, but not more than the maximum.  
The maximum is the lesser of: 

(a)  $10,000; and 
(b) the amount of life insurance which terminated 

minus any amount of group life insurance for 
which the insured becomes eligible under any 
group policy issued or reinstated by us or any 
other carrier within 31 days of the date the 
insurance terminated under this policy. 

Neither the conversion right nor the limited conversion 
right is available if the insured’s coverage under this policy 
terminates due to failure to make, when due, required 
premium contributions. 

Under both the conversion right and the limited conversion 
right, the insured may convert his or her insurance to any 
type of individual policy of life insurance then customarily 

issued by us for purposes of conversion, except term 
insurance. The individual policy will not include any 
supplemental benefits, including, but not limited to, any 
disability benefits, accidental death and dismemberment 
benefits, or accelerated benefits. 

How does an insured convert his or her insurance? 

An insured converts his or her insurance by applying for 
an individual policy and paying the first premium within 31 
days after the group insurance terminates. No evidence of 
insurability will be required. 

How is the premium for the individual policy 
determined? 

We base the premium for the individual policy on the plan 
of insurance, the insured's age, and the class of risk to 
which the insured belongs on the date of the conversion. 

When is the individual policy effective? 

The individual policy takes effect 31 days after the group 
insurance provided under this policy terminates. 

What happens if the insured dies during the 31-day 
period allowed for conversion? 

If the insured dies during the 31-day period allowed for 
conversion, we will pay a death benefit regardless of 
whether or not an application for coverage under an 
individual policy has been submitted. The death benefit 
will be the amount of insurance the insured would have 
been eligible to convert under the terms of the conversion 
right section. 

We will return any premium the insured paid for an 
individual policy to the insured's beneficiary named under 
this group policy. In no event will we be liable under both 
this group policy and the individual policy. 

Additional Information 

What if an insured’s age has been misstated? 

If an insured’s age has been misstated, the death benefit 
payable will be that amount to which the insured is entitled 
based on his or her correct age. 

A premium adjustment will be made to the premium you 
pay for the insured's noncontributory insurance and to the 
premium an insured pays for contributory insurance, if 
any, so that the actual premium required at the insured's 
correct age is paid. 

Is there a suicide exclusion? 

The life insurance suicide exclusion applies to 
Supplemental Employee Life insurance, Supplemental 
Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic Partner Life 
insurance and Supplemental Child Life insurance under 
this policy. The life insurance suicide exclusion does not 
apply to Basic Life insurance under this policy. 



09-31102 Minnesota Life 7 

EdF81093  Rev 4-2015 

When applicable, this life insurance suicide exclusion 
limits our liability to an amount equal to the life insurance 
premiums paid for an insured, if that insured, whether 
sane or insane, dies by suicide within one year of the 
effective date of his or her life insurance. 

If there has been an increase in the insured’s amount of 
life insurance for which he or she was required to apply or 
for which we required evidence of insurability, and if the 
insured dies by suicide within one year of the effective 
date of the life insurance increase, our liability with respect 
to that life insurance increase will be limited to the life 
insurance premiums paid and attributable to such life 
insurance increases. 

Exclusions for AD&D insurance, including a AD&D 
insurance suicide exclusion, applies to Basic AD&D 
insurance, Supplemental Employee AD&D insurance, 
Supplemental Spouse/Civil Union Partner/Domestic 
Partner AD&D insurance and Supplemental Child AD&D 
insurance and are listed on the applicable rider. 

When does an insured's insurance become 
incontestable? 

Except for non-payment of premiums, after the insured's 
insurance has been in force during his or her lifetime for 
two years from the effective date of his or her coverage, 
we cannot contest the insured's coverage. However, if 
there has been an increase in the amount of insurance for 
which the insured was required to apply or for which we 
required evidence of insurability, then, to the extent of the 
increase, any loss which occurs within two years of the 
effective date of the increase will be contestable. 

Any statements the insured makes in his or her application 
will be considered representations and not warranties.  
Also, any statement an insured makes will not be used to 
void his or her insurance, nor defend against a claim, 
unless the statement is contained in the application and 
any evidence of insurability application attached to the 
insured’s certificate. 

Can an insured's insurance be assigned? 

Yes. However, we will not be bound by an assignment of 
the certificate or of any interest in it unless it is made as a 
written instrument, the insured files the original instrument 
or a certified copy with us at our home office, and we send 
the insured an acknowledged copy. 

We are not responsible for the validity of any assignment.  
An insured is responsible for ensuring that the assignment 
is legal in his or her state and that it accomplishes his or 
her intended goals.  If a claim is based on an assignment, 
we may require proof of interest of the claimant.  A valid 
assignment will take precedence over any claim of a 
beneficiary. 

Are you required to maintain records? 

Yes.  You are required to maintain adequate records of 
any information necessary for us to administer this policy.  

If a clerical error is made in keeping records on the 
insurance under this policy, it will not affect otherwise valid 
insurance. A clerical error does not continue insurance 
which is otherwise stopped. If an error causes a change in 
premium payment, we will make a fair adjustment.  

Will a certificate of insurance be provided for each 
certificate holder? 

Yes. We will provide you with a certificate of insurance for 
delivery to each certificate holder. The certificate will 
include information regarding the principal provisions of 
his or her coverage. 

Will this policy receive experience credits? 

Each year we will determine if this policy will receive an 
experience credit. 

Are you our agent? 

No. For all purposes of this policy, neither you, an 
associated company, nor any administrator you appoint is 
our agent. We will not be liable for any of your acts or 
omissions or those of an associated company or 
administrator. 

Will the provisions of this policy conform with state 
law? 

Yes. If any provision in this policy, or in the certificates 
issued under this policy, is in conflict with the laws of the 
state governing the policy or the certificates, the provision 
will be deemed to be amended to conform to such laws. 
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Accidental Death and Dismemberment 
Policy Rider 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company, a Securian Financial Group affiliate 
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098 

General Information 

This rider is issued in consideration of the required 
premium and amends the group policy to which it is 
attached.  This rider is subject to every term, condition, 
exclusion, limitation, and provision of the group policy 
unless otherwise expressly provided for herein.   

What does this rider provide? 

This rider provides accidental death and dismemberment 
coverage subject to all terms, conditions, and exclusions 
herein. 

Who is eligible for insurance under this rider? 

An employee or dependent who is insured under the 
provisions applicable to life insurance coverage under the 
group policy is eligible for insurance under this rider.  All 
references to an insured in this rider shall include 
dependents.  All provisions of this rider applicable to an 
“insured” shall apply to an insured dependent. 

When does insurance under this rider become 
effective?  

Insurance becomes effective on the date that the 
employee or dependent becomes insured for life 
insurance under the group policy.  

Accidental Death and Dismemberment 
(AD&D) Benefit 

What does accidental death or dismemberment by 
accidental injury mean? 

Accidental death or dismemberment by accidental injury 
as used in this rider means that the insured’s death or 
dismemberment results, directly and independently of all 
other causes, from an accidental bodily injury which is 
unintended, unexpected, and unforeseen.  The bodily 
injury must be evidenced by a visible contusion or wound, 
except in the case of accidental drowning.  The bodily 
injury must be the sole cause of death or dismemberment. 

The injury must occur while the insured’s coverage under 
this rider is in force.  The insured’s death or 
dismemberment must occur within 365 days after the date 
of the injury and while his or her coverage under this rider 
is in force.  

In no event will we pay the accidental death or 
dismemberment benefit where the insured’s death or 
dismemberment is caused directly or indirectly by, results 
from, or where there is a contribution from, any of the 
following:  

(1) self-inflicted injury or self destruction, whether 
sane or insane; or 

(2) suicide or attempted suicide, whether sane or 
insane; or 

(3) the insured’s participation in or attempt to commit a 
crime, assault, felony, or any illegal activity, 
regardless of any legal proceedings, or the 
absence of any legal proceedings, thereto; or 

(4) bodily or mental infirmity, illness or disease; or 
(5) the use of alcohol, drugs, medications, poisons, 

gases, fumes or other substances taken, absorbed, 
inhaled, ingested or injected, unless taken upon 
the advice of a licensed physician in the verifiable 
prescribed manner and dosage; or 

(6) motor vehicle collision or accident where the 
insured is the operator of the motor vehicle and this 
insured’s blood alcohol level meets or exceeds the 
level at which intoxication is defined in the state 
where the collision or accident occurred, 
regardless of any legal proceedings, or the 
absence of any legal proceedings, thereto; or 

(7) infection, other than infection occurring 
simultaneously with, and as a direct result of, the 
accidental injury; or 

(8) medical or surgical treatment or diagnostic 
procedures or any resulting complications; or 

(9) war or any act of war, whether declared or 
undeclared; or 

(10) service in the military of any nation. 

What is the amount of the accidental death and 
dismemberment benefit? 

The amount of the benefit shall be a percentage of the 
amount of insurance shown on the specifications page 
attached to the group policy.  The percentage is 
determined by the type of loss as shown in the following 
table:  

FOR LOSS OF AMOUNT OF BENEFIT 

Life .................................... Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Both Hands or Both Feet .. Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Sight of Both Eyes ............ Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Speech and Hearing 
(In both ears) .................... Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
One Hand and One Foot .. Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
One Foot and Sight 
of One Eye ........................ Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
One Hand and Sight 
of One Eye ........................ Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Quadriplegia ..................... Full Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Paraplegia .................. 50% of Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Sight of One Eye ........ 50% of Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Speech or Hearing 
(In both ears) .............. 50% of Amount of AD&D Insurance 
One Hand or 
One Foot ..................... 50% of Amount of AD&D Insurance 
Hemiplegia .................. 50% of Amount of AD&D Insurance 
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Thumb and Index 
Finger of One Hand ..... 25% of Amount of AD&D Insurance 

Loss of hands or feet means complete severance at or 
above the wrist or ankle joints.  Loss of sight, speech, or 
hearing in both ears means the entire and irrecoverable 
loss of sight, speech, or hearing in both ears which cannot 
be corrected by medical or surgical treatment or by 
artificial means.  Loss of thumb or finger means complete 
severance at or above the metacarpophalangeal joints 
(the joints closest to the palm of the hand).   

Quadriplegia means total and permanent paralysis of both 
upper limbs (from the shoulder down including total 
paralysis of both hands) and both lower limbs (from the 
waist down including total paralysis of both feet).  
Paraplegia means total and permanent paralysis of both 
lower limbs (from the waist down including total paralysis 
of both feet).  Hemiplegia means total and permanent 
paralysis of both the upper limb (from the shoulder down 
including total paralysis of the hand) and lower limb (from 
the waist down including total paralysis of the foot) on one 
side of the body.   

A benefit is not payable for both loss of one hand and the 
loss of thumb and index finger of one hand for injury to the 
same hand as a result of any one accident.  Under no 
circumstance will more than one payment be made for the 
loss or paralysis of the same limb, eye, finger, thumb, 
hand, foot, sight, speech, or hearing if one payment has 
already been made for that loss. 

Benefits may be paid for more than one accidental loss 
but the total amount of AD&D insurance payable under 
this rider for any one accident, not including any amount 
paid according to the terms of the Additional Benefits 
section of this rider, will never exceed the full amount of 
AD&D insurance shown on the specifications page 
attached to the group policy.

When will the accidental death and dismemberment 
benefit be payable? 

We will pay the AD&D benefit upon receipt at our home 
office of written proof satisfactory to us that the insured 
died or suffered dismemberment as a result of an 
accidental injury.  All payments by us are payable from our 
home office.  The benefit will be paid in a single sum or by 
any other method agreeable to us and the beneficiary. 

To whom do we pay the benefit? 

In the case of a certificate holder’s accidental death, we 
will pay the accidental death benefit to the person or 
persons entitled to receive his or her death benefit under 
the terms of the group policy.  The benefit for other losses 
sustained by the certificate holder will be paid to the 
certificate holder, if living, otherwise to the person or 
persons entitled to receive the certificate holder’s death 
benefit under the terms of the group policy. 

A dependent’s AD&D benefit will be paid to the certificate 
holder, if living.  If the insured employee is not living, the 

death benefit payable under this rider will be paid in equal 
shares to the first surviving class of the classes below: 

(1) the children of the dependent, if living, otherwise; 
(2) the parents of the dependent, if living, otherwise; 
(3) the brothers and sisters of the dependent, if living, 

otherwise; 
(4) the insured employee’s estate. 

Additional Benefits

Unless stated otherwise, additional benefits are payable to 
the same person or persons who receive the AD&D 
benefits.  Additional benefits are paid in addition to any 
AD&D benefits described in the Accidental Death and 
Dismemberment section, unless otherwise stated.  All 
provisions of this rider including but not limited to the “What 
does accidental death or dismemberment by accidental 
injury mean?” section shall apply to these additional 
benefits. 

Career Adjustment Benefit 

What is the career adjustment benefit? 

If an insured employee dies as a result of a covered 
accident for which an accidental death insurance benefit is 
payable and he or she is survived by his or her spouse/civil 
union partner/domestic partner, we will pay a career 
adjustment benefit to the surviving spouse/civil union 
partner/domestic partner, provided that the spouse/civil 
union partner/domestic partner within 36 months after the 
insured employee’s death, registers and is in attendance at 
a professional or trades training program for the purpose of 
obtaining employment or increasing his or her earnings. 

The benefit will be equal to the lesser of: 

(1) $5,000 per year; or 
(2) the actual tuition charges, exclusive of room and 

board; or 
(3) the cumulative total of $10,000 or 25% of the 

insured employee’s amount of accidental death 
insurance, whichever is less. 

Proof of such costs will be required before benefits are 
paid. 

Child Care Benefit 

What is the child care benefit? 

If an insured employee dies as a result of a covered 
accident and he or she is survived by his or her spouse/civil 
union partner/domestic partner and one or more dependent 
children under age 13, we will pay additional benefits to 
reimburse the surviving spouse/civil union partner/domestic 
partner for child care expenses they incur for the insured 
employee’s dependent children while under age 13.  

The benefit will be the lesser of: 

(1) $5,000 per year; or 
(2) actual incurred child care expenses; or 
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(3) the cumulative total of $10,000 or 25% of the 
insured employee’s amount of accidental death 
insurance, whichever is less. 

Child care expenses are those expenses which are for a 
service or supply furnished by a licensed child care 
provider or facility for a dependent child’s care who are not 
a member of the insured employee’s family.  No payment 
will be made for expenses incurred more than 36 months 
after the date of the insured employee’s death or for 
expenses incurred for dependent children over age 13.  
Proof of incurred child care expenses by the surviving 
spouse/civil union partner/domestic partner shall be 
required before any benefit payment is made.  The child 
care benefit will be paid to the surviving spouse/civil union 
partner/domestic partner.  

Dependent Child Education Benefit 

What is the dependent child education benefit? 

We will pay an education benefit on behalf of the insured 
employee’s dependent children if an insured employee 
dies as a result of a covered accident and is survived by 
one or more dependent children, provided that: 

(1) at the time of the insured employee’s death, the 
dependent child is enrolled as a full-time student 
at an accredited post-secondary educational 
institution (however, no benefit will be payable for 
the current school year); or 

(2) the dependent child enrolls on a full-time basis in 
an accredited post-secondary educational 
institution within one year of the employee’s 
death. 

The benefit payable per child will be the lesser of: 

(1) $5,000 per year; or 
(2) the actual tuition charged, exclusive of room and 

board; or 
(3) the cumulative total of $20,000 or 25% of the 

insured employee’s amount of accidental death 
insurance, whichever is less. 

The benefit will be payable at the beginning of each 
school year for a maximum of four consecutive years.  
The benefit will be paid to the dependent child annually if 
he or she is of legal age.  If the dependent child is not of 
legal age the benefit will be paid annually to the person 
who provides proof they have paid or will pay the tuition 
bill for that school year.  Proof of enrollment and tuition 
costs are required for each school year. 

Seatbelt Benefit 

What is the seatbelt benefit? 

If an insured dies as a result of a covered accident which 
occurs while he or she is driving or riding in a private 
passenger car, we will pay an additional AD&D benefit 
equal to the lesser of: 

(1) $10,000; or 
(2) 100% of the insured’s amount of AD&D insurance. 

In order to be eligible for this benefit, the following must 
apply: 

(1) the private passenger car was equipped with 
seatbelts; and 

(2) a seatbelt was in proper use by the insured at the 
time of the accident as certified in the official 
accident report or by the investigating officer; and 

(3) at the time of the accident, the driver of the private 
passenger car was a licensed driver and was not 
intoxicated, impaired, or under the influence of 
alcohol or drugs.   

Seatbelt means a properly installed seatbelt (or child 
restraint if the insured is a child), lap and shoulder restraint, 
or other restraint approved by the National Highway Traffic 
Safety Administration or any successor governmental 
agency.  A private passenger car means a validly 
registered four-wheeled private passenger car or 
policyholder-owned car, jeep, pickup truck or van, including 
a sport utility vehicle (SUV), that is not licensed 
commercially or being used for racing, or acrobatic or stunt 
driving. 

Termination 

When does an insured’s coverage under this rider 
terminate? 

An insured’s coverage ends on the earliest of: 

(1) the date the certificate holder is no longer covered 
for life insurance under the group policy; or 

(2) for an insured dependent, the end of the month in 
which the dependent no longer meets the eligibility 
requirements; or  

(3) for an insured dependent, the date the dependent 
is no longer covered for life insurance under the 
group policy; or  

(4) 45 days (the grace period) after the due date of 
any premium contribution which is not paid. 

The certificate holder must notify us or the employer when 
he or she no longer has any dependents eligible for 
coverage under this benefit so that premiums may be 
discontinued.  All premiums paid for dependents who are 
no longer eligible for coverage under this benefit will be 
refunded without any payment of claim.  

When does this rider terminate? 

This rider will terminate on the earlier of: 

(1) the date we receive a written request from the 
policyholder to cancel this rider; or 

(2) the date the group policy is terminated. 
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Additional Information 

Do we have the right to obtain independent medical 
verification? 

Yes.  We retain the right to have an insured medically 
examined at our expense when and so often as we may 
reasonably require whenever a claim is pending and, 
where not forbidden by law, we reserve the right to have 
an autopsy performed in case of death. 

Can insurance under this rider be converted to a policy 
of individual insurance upon termination?  

No.  Coverage under this rider will not be included in any 
insurance issued under the conversion right section of the 
group policy. 

Secretary President 
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Dependents Term Life Insurance 
Policy Rider 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company 
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098 

General Information 

This rider is issued in consideration of the required 
premium and amends the group policy to which it is 
attached.  The rider is subject to every term, condition, 
exclusion, limitation, and provision of the group policy 
unless otherwise expressly provided for herein.  

What does this rider provide? 

This rider provides insurance on the lives of the insured 
employee’s eligible dependents. 

What members of the insured employee’s family are 
eligible for insurance under this rider? 

The following members of the insured employee’s family 
are eligible for insurance under this rider: 

The members of an insured employee’s family are 
considered his or her eligible dependents.  Eligible 
dependents are specified in statutes, primarily § 24-50-
603(5) and (6.5), C.R.S., as modified or further defined 
by other state statutes (e.g., Title 10) or federal 
regulations (e.g., Affordable Care Act [ACA], IRC on 
taxable income).   

A. Current spouse, including common law spouse.  

1. Spouse means a spouse as recognized
under federal tax laws.

2. Common law spouse means an adult, at
least 18 years of age:
a. with whom the employee cohabitates;

and
b. who represent themselves to the

community as married to each other;
and

c. there is no legal impediment to the
marriage.

B. Current civil union partner who is an adult: 

1. eighteen years of age or older who is not
under guardianship, unless the party under
guardianship has the written consent of his
or her guardian to enter into a civil union as
created by Article 15 of Title 14, C.R.S.; and

2. who has entered into a civil union in
accordance with the requirements of Article
15 of Title 14, C.R.S. or who has
established a relationship legally entered
into in other jurisdictions that are similar to
civil unions created by Article 15 of Title 14,

C.R.S. and that are not otherwise 
recognized pursuant to Colorado law; and 

3. who is of the opposite gender or same
gender as the employee; and

4. who is not a party to another civil union; and
5. who is not a party to a domestic

partnership; and
6. who is not married; and
7. who is not a relative to the employee.

Article 15 of Title 14, C.R.S. prohibits a
person from entering into a civil union with
an ancestor, descendant, brother, sister,
uncle, aunt, niece or nephew, whether the
relationship is by the half or the whole
blood.

C. Current domestic partner who is an adult, at 
least 18 years of age:  
1. who is of the same gender as the

employee; and
2. with whom the employee has shared an

exclusive, committed relationship with that
same person for at least one year prior to
enrollment with the intent for the
relationship to last indefinitely; and

3. who is not related to the employee by blood
to a degree that would prohibit marriage;
and

4. who is not married; and
5. who is not in another domestic partnership;

and
6. who is not in a civil union partnership.

D. A child from live birth (stillborn and unborn 
children are not eligible) until the end of the 
month he or she turns age 26.  The legal 
definition of child must be applied (e.g., first 
generation, parent-child relationship).  As of 
July 1, 2011, marital status, student status, 
financial support, and residency are no longer 
factors under the ACA. 

1. Biological or natural child.
2. Legally adopted.
3. Legally placed for adoption or foster care.
4. Step child as long as the employee and

parent are married.
5. Child of a civil union partner.
6. Child of a domestic partner as long the

employee and partner are in the committed
relationship.
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7. Child for whom the employee has a court
order that specifies responsibility for health
insurance coverage (legal custody or
allocation of parental responsibility).  Note:
a court has determined there is a parent-
child relationship for purposes of coverage.

E. A disabled child must be: 

1. unmarried,
2. medically certificated as disabled prior to

the age of 26; and
3. dependent upon employee or

spouse/domestic partner/civil union partner
for financial support; and

4. proof of disability and dependency must be
provided before becoming covered under
the State’s life plan and annually, if
requested; and

5. newly hired employees will need to provide
proof that the child’s disability began prior to
the child reaching age 26.  If a child of a
newly hired employee or current employee
becomes disabled after the child reaches
age 26, the child is ineligible for coverage
under the State's life plan.

Exclusions 
Ex-spouses and their children, civil union ex-
partners and their children, same-gender domestic 
ex-partners and their children, opposite-gender 
domestic partners and their children, parents, 
grandparents and grandchildren, siblings, aunts 
and uncles, nieces and nephews, cousins, and any 
other relatives or non-relatives in the household.  
The only exception is when a court determines a 
qualified dependent relationship exists and issues 
an order specifying responsibility for coverage.   

If any spouse/civil union partner/domestic partner is 
insured as an eligible employee under the group policy for 
employee supplemental term life, he or she is not also 
eligible to be insured with dependent spouse/civil union 
partner/domestic partner supplemental term life coverage.  
If any employee is insured as an eligible spouse/civil union 
partner/domestic partner under the group policy for 
spouse/civil union partner/domestic partner supplemental 
term life coverage, he or she is not also eligible to be 
insured as an employee for supplemental term life 
coverage. 

If both parents of a child qualify as eligible employees and 
they are legally married or have established a civil union 
partnership or have declared a domestic partnership while 
covered under the group policy, the child shall be 
considered a dependent of only one parent for purposes 
of this supplement.  However, if both parents of a child 
qualify as eligible employees and have divorced, have 
been legally separated, have terminated their civil union 
partnership or have terminated their domestic partnership, 
while covered under the group policy, the child shall be 

considered a dependent of both parents for purposes of 
this supplement.  If any child qualifies as an eligible 
employee under the group policy and has supplemental 
employee life coverage, he or she is not eligible to be 
insured as a dependent child. 

Any dependent child who, subsequent to the effective date 
of the insured employee’s child life insurance, meets the 
requirements of this provision will become insured on the 
date he or she so qualifies. 

When will we require evidence of insurability? 

Evidence of insurability will be required if: 

(1) the specifications page attached to the group policy 
states that evidence of insurability is required; or 

(2) the insurance is contributory and the employee does 
not enroll for coverage under this rider within the 
enrollment period shown on the specifications page 
attached to the group policy; or 

(3) dependents insurance for which the employee 
previously enrolled did not go into effect or was 
terminated because the employee failed to make a 
required premium contribution; or 

(4) during a previous period of eligibility, the employee 
failed to submit evidence of insurability that was 
required for a dependent or that which was submitted 
was not satisfactory to us; or 

(5) the dependent is insured by an individual policy 
issued under the terms of the conversion right of this 
rider. 

When does insurance on a dependent become 
effective? 

Insurance on a dependent becomes effective on the date 
when all of the following conditions have been met: 

(1) the dependent meets all eligibility requirements; and 
(2) if required, the insured employee applies for 

dependents coverage on forms which are approved 
by us; and 

(3) we are satisfied with the dependent’s evidence of 
insurability, if we require evidence; and 

(4) we receive the required premium. 

Death Benefit 

What is the amount of life insurance on each insured 
dependent? 

The amount of life insurance on each insured dependent 
is shown on the specifications page attached to the group 
policy. 

To whom will we pay the death benefit? 

The death benefit payable under this rider will be paid to 
the insured employee if living.  If the insured employee is 
not living, the death benefit payable under this rider will be 
paid in equal shares to the first surviving class of the 
classes below: 
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(1) the children of the dependent, if living, otherwise; 
(2) the parents of the dependent, if living, otherwise; 
(3) the brothers and sisters of the dependent, if living, 

otherwise; 
(4) the insured employee’s estate. 

Termination 

When does an insured dependent’s coverage under 
this rider terminate? 

An insured dependent’s coverage ends on the earliest of 
the following: 

(1) the end of the month in which the dependent no 
longer meets the eligibility requirements; or 

(2) 45 days (the grace period) after the due date of any 
premium contribution which is not paid; or 

(3) the last day for which premium contributions have 
been made following an employee’s written request 
that insurance on his or her eligible dependents be 
terminated; or 

(4) the date the employee is no longer covered under the 
group policy. 

The employee must notify us or the employer when a 
dependent is no longer eligible for coverage under this 
rider so that premiums may be discontinued.  All 
premiums paid for dependents who are no longer eligible 
for coverage under this rider will be refunded without any 
payment of claim. 

When does this rider terminate? 

This rider will terminate on the earlier of: 

(1) the date we receive a written request to cancel this 
rider; or 

(2) the date the group policy is terminated. 

Additional Information 

What is the conversion right under this rider? 

If an insured dependent’s coverage under this rider 
terminates because he or she is no longer eligible, or 
because of the death of the insured employee, or because 
of termination or amendment of this rider, the insurance 
may be converted to a policy of individual insurance with 
Minnesota Life. 

Conversion may be requested by the insured employee, 
an insured dependent of legal capacity, or the insured 
dependent’s guardian, if applicable.  All other conditions 
and provisions of the conversion right section of the group 
policy to which this rider is attached will apply. 

Does any Waiver of Premium rider to the group policy 
apply to insured dependents? 

Yes.  If, due to the insured employee’s disability, his or her 
insurance is continued in force without further payment of 
premiums due to any Waiver of Premium rider to the 
group policy, any dependents insurance provided by this 
rider shall also continue in force without further payment of 
premiums until the dependent’s eligibility terminates or 
until the insured employee’s insurance is no longer 
continued in force due to any such rider to the group 
policy. 

This provision is not applicable if the dependent’s 
insurance has been converted under the conversion right 
section of this rider, unless the converted policy is 
surrendered without claim except for refund of premiums. 

Secretary President 
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Term Life Insurance Portability 
Policy Rider 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company 
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098 

General Information 

This rider is issued in consideration of the required 
premium and amends the group policy to which it is 
attached.  This rider is subject to every term, condition, 
exclusion, limitation and provision of the group policy 
unless otherwise expressly provided for herein. 

What does this rider provide? 

This rider provides for continuation of group life insurance 
for insureds who no longer meet the eligibility 
requirements of the group policy except as provided for 
herein. 

To continue coverage under the provisions of this rider, an 
eligible insured must make a written request and make the 
first premium contribution within 31 days after insurance 
provided by the group policy would otherwise terminate.  
Evidence of insurability will not be required.  Coverage 
provided by this rider will then be deemed effective 
retroactive to the beginning of the 31-day period.  This 
date is considered to be the insured’s portability date and 
the insured is then considered to have portability status. 

Who is eligible to continue insurance under this rider? 

A certificate holder is eligible to continue insurance under 
this rider if he or she, except as provided by this rider, no 
longer meets the eligibility requirements of the group 
policy due to any of the following: 

(1) the employee terminates employment, including 
retirement; or 

(2) the employee is no longer in a class eligible for 
insurance or is on a leave or layoff; or 

(3) a class or group of employees insured under the 
policy is no longer considered eligible and there is 
no successor plan for that class or group.  
Successor plan means an insurance policy or 
policies provided by us or another insurer that 
replaces insurance provided under this policy. 

The certificate holder will not be eligible to request 
coverage under this rider if he or she: 

(1) has attained the age of 70; or 
(2) has converted his or her insurance to an individual 

life policy under the terms of the group policy’s 
conversion right section; or 

(3) was not actively at work due to sickness or injury 
on the day immediately preceding his or her 
portability date; or 

(4) loses eligibility due to termination of the group 
policy. 

What insurance can be continued under this rider? 

Both non-contributory and contributory insurance may be 
continued under this rider.  If the certificate holder elects 
to continue his or her own coverage according to the 
provisions of this rider, he or she may also elect to 
continue contributory insurance for any other individual 
insured under his or her certificate.  The certificate holder 
may also continue coverage under all supplements to 
such certificate which apply to both non-contributory and 
contributory insurance and by which he or she was 
insured immediately preceding his or her portability date, 
except for the Term Life Waiver of premium Certificate 
Supplement, which shall terminate on the portability date. 

What is the minimum amount of insurance that can be 
continued under this rider? 

The minimum amount of insurance that can be continued 
on the life of a certificate holder under this rider is 
$10,000.  The minimum does not apply to any other 
insureds covered under this rider. 

What is the maximum amount of insurance that can 
be continued under this rider? 

The maximum amount of insurance that can be continued 
under this rider for an insured under age 65 is the amount 
of insurance that was in force on the insured’s portability 
date.  For an insured who is age 65 or older on his or her 
portability date, the amount will not be more than 65% of 
the amount of insurance in force on the insured’s 
portability date. 

Will the amount of insurance continued under this 
rider change? 

Yes.  When an insured attains age 65, the amount of 
insurance on his or her life continued under this rider will 
reduce to 65% of the amount of insurance in force on the 
day prior to his or her attainment of age 65.  Insurance 
terminates when the employee attains at age 70. 

Can a certificate holder request a change in his or her 
amount of insurance continued under this rider? 

Yes.  The certificate holder may elect to reduce the 
amount of insurance provided under his or her certificate.  
The remaining amount of insurance on the life of a 
certificate holder must be at least $10,000. 

The amount of insurance continued under this rider will 
never increase. 
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How will premium contributions be paid? 

Premium contributions will be paid directly to us on a 
monthly, quarterly, semi-annual, or annual basis and will 
be subject to an administrative charge per billing period.  
We may adjust the amount of the charge, but not more 
often than once per year. 

Can the premium rate change? 

Yes.  The premium rate may increase on the portability 
date.  The premium rate may also increase in the future 
but will not change more often than once per year. 

Can insurance continued under this rider be 
converted to a policy of individual insurance? 

Yes.  At any time after insurance has been continued 
under the provisions of this rider, it may be converted to a 
policy of individual insurance with Minnesota Life.  All 
other conditions and provisions of the conversion right 
section of the group policy to which this rider is attached 
will apply. 

What happens if a certificate holder again becomes 
eligible under the group policy? 

If a certificate holder who is continuing coverage under the 
provisions of this rider again meets the eligibility 
requirements of the group policy, not including the terms 
of this rider, he or she shall no longer be considered to 
have portability status.  Insurance for that certificate holder 
may be provided only under the terms of the group policy, 
not including this rider, unless and until he or she no 
longer meets the eligibility requirements of the group 
policy and again returns to portability status as provided 
for herein. 

What happens to insurance provided under this rider 
when the group policy terminates? 

Anything in the group policy notwithstanding, termination 
of the group policy by the policyholder or us will not 
terminate life insurance then in force for any person under 
the terms of this rider.  The group policy will be deemed to 
remain in force solely for the purpose of continuing such 
insurance, but without further obligation of the 
policyholder. 

Any insurance continued under the terms of this rider will 
remain in force until terminated by the provisions of the 
section entitled “When will insurance continued under this 
rider terminate?”. 

No individual may elect coverage under this rider on or 
after the date of termination of the group policy. 

When will insurance continued under this rider 
terminate? 

Insurance continued under this rider will terminate on the 
earliest of the following: 

(1) the certificate holder’s 70th birthday; or 
(2) the date the certificate holder again meets the 

eligibility requirements of the group policy, not 
including the terms of this rider; or 

(3) in the case of a dependent child or a spouse/civil 
union partner/domestic partner who is insured by 
a rider to the certificate holder’s coverage, the 
date the certificate holder’s coverage is no longer 
being continued under this rider, or the date the 
certificate holder’s spouse/civil union 
partner/domestic partner or child ceases to be 
eligible as defined under the terms of the group 
policy; or 

(4) 45 days after the due date of any premium 
contribution which is not made. 

Secretary President 
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Does not apply to a person with portability status. 
Term Life Waiver of Premium 
Policy Rider 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company 
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098 

General Information 

This rider is issued in consideration of the required 
premium and amends the group policy to which it is 
attached. The specifications page attached to the group 
policy indicates whether this rider applies to contributory 
insurance or noncontributory insurance.  This rider is 
subject to every term, condition, exclusion, limitation, and 
provision of the group policy unless otherwise expressly 
provided for herein. Coverage under this rider will not be 
included in any insurance issued under the conversion 
right section of the group policy. 

What does this rider provide? 

This rider provides for waiver of premium for certificate 
holders who become totally and permanently disabled, as 
defined herein, while under age 60.  Upon approval of 
proof of such disability, a certificate holder’s insurance, 
including all riders applicable to such certificate holder, 
which are in force on the date of the onset of the 
certificate holder’s disability will be continued in force 
without payment of premiums during the uninterrupted 
continuance of the total and permanent disability.   

What is total disability? 

Total disability is a disability which occurs while a 
certificate holder’s insurance is in force and which results 
from an accidental injury or an illness that continuously 
prevents the certificate holder from engaging in any 
occupation for which he or she is reasonably suited by 
education, training, or experience.  The certificate holder 
must be under the care of a licensed physician.  The 
licensed physician cannot be the certificate holder or a 
member of the certificate holder’s immediate family.  For 
purposes of this rider, the certificate holder’s immediate 
family consists of his or her spouse/civil union 
partner/domestic partner, children, parents, grandparents, 
grandchildren, brothers and sisters and their spouses. 

What is permanent disability? 

Permanent disability is a total disability which has existed 
continuously for at least 180 days. 

Do premiums have to be paid for a certificate holder 
after he or she becomes disabled? 

Yes.  Premiums have to be paid after a certificate holder 
becomes disabled, but only until we approve his or her 
total and permanent disability claim.  Continued payment 
prevents the possible loss of the certificate holder’s 
coverage and eligibility if the claim is not approved.  If a 
certificate holder’s claim for benefits under this rider is 
approved, up to 12 months of life and accidental death 
and dismemberment premiums paid after the disability 
began will be refunded. 

What if a certificate holder converts his or her group 
life insurance to a policy of individual insurance prior 
to the approval of his or her disability claim? 

If a certificate holder’s coverage has been converted in 
accordance with the conversion right section of the group 
policy, benefits under this rider will apply only if the 
converted policy is surrendered without claim, except for 
refund of premiums. 

What will be considered due proof of total and 
permanent disability? 

A certificate holder must furnish evidence satisfactory to 
us that his or her disability: 

(1) commenced while his or her insurance under the 
group policy was in force; and 

(2) meets the definition of total disability; and 
(3) commenced before his or her 60th birthday; and 
(4) was continuous for 180 days or more. 

We will, from time to time, also require additional proof 
satisfactory to us that the certificate holder continues to be 
totally and permanently disabled.  We may also require 
that the certificate holder submit to one or more medical 
examinations at our expense. 

If a certificate holder dies within one year of the date of 
onset of his or her disability, the certificate holder’s 
beneficiary may claim benefits under this rider even if the 
certificate holder’s premium payments were discontinued 
and he or she had not submitted due proof satisfactory to 
us of his or her total disability or was continuously 
disabled for less than 180 days.  The certificate holder’s 
beneficiary must submit due proof satisfactory to us that 
the certificate holder’s total disability, which began before 
the certificate holder’s premium payments were 
discontinued and before his or her 60th birthday, 
continued without interruption until his or her death. 

When must we be notified of a certificate holder’s 
disability or death? 

We must receive written notice at our home office of a 
certificate holder’s total disability within one year of the 
date of onset of such disability.  However, failure to give 
notice within the time provided will not invalidate the claim 
if it is shown that notice was given as soon as reasonably 
possible. 

We must receive written notice at our home office within 
one year of death that a certificate holder died during a 
period of continuance provided by this rider.  Proof must 
be furnished that he or she continued to be totally disabled 
during the entire period of continuance until death.  If such 
notice and proof are not provided within the required time 
frame, there shall be no liability for any payment under this 
rider. 
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What is the amount of insurance to be continued 
without payment of premium under this rider? 

The amount of insurance continued without payment of 
premium shall be the amount of insurance that was in 
force on the date of onset of total disability. 

How long will insurance be continued without 
payment of premium? 

If a certificate holder becomes totally and permanently 
disabled, insurance will be continued, without payment of 
premium, until the earliest of: 

(1) the certificate holder’s 65th birthday; or 
(2) the date the certificate holder recovers so that he 

or she is no longer totally and permanently 
disabled; or 

(3) the date the certificate holder fails to furnish proof 
of continued disability when requested or refuses 
to submit to a required medical examination. 

What happens to a certificate holder’s insurance when 
the waiver of premium benefit ends? 

When the benefits under this rider end according to the 
provisions of the section entitled “How long will insurance 
be continued without payment of premium?,” the following 
will apply: 

(1) If the certificate holder is then eligible for coverage 
under the group policy, his or her insurance may 
be continued under the group policy provided that 
premiums are paid.  The first such premium 
payment must be made within 31 days of the date 
the waiver of premium benefit ends. 

(2) If the certificate holder is no longer eligible for 
coverage under the group policy, he or she may 
convert coverage to an individual policy, as 
provided for under the conversion right section of 
the group policy. 

Insurance will end for a certificate holder unless, within 31 
days of the date benefits under this rider end, premium 
payment is resumed or the insured applies to convert his 
or her coverage. 

When does this rider terminate? 

This rider will terminate on the earlier of: 

(1) the date we receive a written request to terminate 
this rider; or 

(2) the date the group policy is terminated. 

Insurance being continued without further payment of 
premiums in accordance with the provisions of this rider 
will not end due solely to the termination of this rider or of 
the group policy. 
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Accelerated Benefits 
Policy Rider 

Minnesota Life Insurance Company - A Securian Company 
400 Robert Street North  •  St. Paul, Minnesota  55101-2098 

Benefits received under this Accelerated Benefits Policy 
Rider may be taxable.  Certificate holders should seek 
assistance from a personal tax advisor prior to requesting 
an accelerated payment of death benefits. 

General Information 

This rider amends the group policy to which it is attached 
and is subject to every term, condition, exclusion, 
limitation, and provision of the group policy unless 
otherwise expressly provided for herein. 

What does this rider provide? 

This rider provides for the accelerated payment of either 
the full or a partial amount of an insured’s death benefit 
provided under the group policy.  If the insured has a 
terminal condition as defined in this rider, an accelerated 
payment of the death benefit may be requested.  

Definitions 

accelerated benefit 

The amount of the death benefit we will pay if the insured 
is eligible under this rider. 

death benefit 

The amount of the insured’s life insurance as shown on 
the specifications page attached to the certificate holder’s 
certificate. 

immediate family 

The certificate holder’s spouse/civil union 
partner/domestic partner, children, parents, grandparents, 
grandchildren, brothers and sisters, and their spouses. 

insured 

For purposes of this rider, an insured employee, an 
insured spouse/civil union partner/domestic partner, or an 
insured dependent child. 

physician 

An individual who is licensed to practice medicine or treat 
illness in the state in which treatment is received.  This 
does not include the certificate holder, or a member of the 
certificate holder’s immediate family. 

Terminal Condition 

What is a terminal condition? 

A terminal condition is a condition caused by sickness or 
accident which directly results in a life expectancy of 
twelve months or less. 

What evidence do we require of the insured’s terminal 
condition? 

We must be given evidence that satisfies us that the 
insured’s life expectancy, because of sickness or accident, 
is twelve months or less.  That evidence must include 
certification by a physician. 

Do we have the right to obtain independent medical 
verification? 

Yes.  We retain the right to have the insured medically 
examined at our own expense to verify the insured’s 
medical condition.  We may do this as often as reasonably 
required while accelerated benefits are being considered 
or paid. 

Accelerated Benefit 

What is the accelerated benefit? 

The accelerated benefit is the amount of the death benefit 
payable under this rider.  It is the death benefit that is 
being accelerated, up to 100% of the insured’s amount of 
insurance, subject to the minimums and maximums stated 
below.   

What are the conditions for the payment of an 
accelerated benefit? 

We will consider the payment of an accelerated benefit, 
subject to all of the following conditions: 

(1) coverage must be in force and all premiums due 
must be fully paid; and 

(2) application must be made in writing and in a form 
which is satisfactory to us.  We will tell a certificate 
holder what form is required; and 

(3) the certificate holder must be the sole owner of 
the certificate; and 

(4) the insured’s insurance must not have an 
irrevocable beneficiary. 
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Who may request an accelerated payment of the death 
benefit? 

A certificate holder may request an accelerated payment 
of the insurance on his or her life or on the life of a 
spouse/civil union partner/domestic partner or dependent 
child insured under his or her certificate. 

Is the request for an accelerated benefit voluntary? 

Yes.  An accelerated benefit will be made available on a 
voluntary basis only.  An accelerated benefit under this 
rider is not intended to cause an involuntary reduction of 
the death benefit ultimately payable to the named 
beneficiary.  Therefore, payment of the death benefit 
cannot be accelerated under this rider if the insured: 

(1) is required by law to use this option to meet the 
claims of creditors, whether in bankruptcy or 
otherwise; or 

(2) is required by a government agency to use this 
option in order to apply for, obtain, or keep a 
government benefit or entitlement. 

Is there a minimum or maximum death benefit eligible 
for an accelerated benefit? 

Yes.  The minimum death benefit to be eligible for an 
accelerated benefit under this rider is $10,000.  The 
maximum death benefit to be eligible for an accelerated 
benefit is $1,000,000. 

Does a certificate holder have to take the entire 
accelerated benefit? 

No.  The certificate holder may choose to receive a partial 
accelerated benefit.  If he or she does so, the insured’s 
remaining coverage will stay in force. 

If a certificate holder elects to receive only a partial 
accelerated benefit amount available under this rider, the  
remaining death benefit under the certificate must be at 
least $25,000. 

The certificate holder may reapply for the payment of the 
remaining amount of insurance at any time.  However, we 
may ask for further satisfactory evidence that the insured 
meets all requirements for the accelerated benefit.   

What is the effect on an insured’s coverage of the 
receipt of an accelerated benefit? 

If a certificate holder elects to accelerate the full amount of 
an insured’s death benefit, the insured’s coverage and all 
other benefits under the certificate and any certificate 
supplements which apply to that insured will end.  If the 
insured is a certificate holder, any other individual insured 
under his or her certificate will be allowed to convert any 
such insurance to a policy of individual life insurance 
according to the conversion right section of the group 
policy to which this rider is attached. 

If a partial accelerated benefit is chosen, coverage will 
remain in force and premiums will be reduced accordingly.  
The remaining amount of insurance under the certificate 
will be the full amount of insurance minus the amount of 
insurance that was accelerated. 

How will we pay the accelerated benefit? 

We will pay the accelerated benefit in one lump sum or in 
any other mutually agreeable manner. 

To whom will we pay accelerated benefits? 

All accelerated benefits will be paid to the certificate 
holder who requested the accelerated payment unless the 
certificate holder validly assigns them otherwise.  If such 
certificate holder dies before all payments have been 
made, we will pay the remainder to the insured’s 
beneficiary named under the certificate.  Payment will be 
made in one lump sum which will be the present value of 
the payments that remain, using the interest rate we use 
to determine the payments. 

Termination 

When does an insured’s coverage under this rider 
terminate? 

An insured’s coverage ends on the date the insured is no 
longer covered for life insurance under the group policy. 

When does this rider terminate? 

This rider will terminate on the earlier of: 

(1) the date we receive a written request to cancel 
this rider; or 

(2) the date the group policy is terminated. 
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